Instructor–led Course: A classroom course recommended for students ages 9 to 14 years of age or anyone new to hunting. Learn more.
Internet Course: A self-paced online course for students ages 10 and older; requires signing up for a field day following the course. Learn more.
Workbook Course: A self-paced workbook course that does not require a computer. For self-motivated and those with excellent reading comprehension. Requires signing up for a field day following the course. Learn more.
Bowhunter Education Certification Courses
Bowhunter Instructor-led course: A classroom course recommended for students ages 9 to 14 or anyone new to bowhunting. Learn more.
Bowhunter Internet Course: A self-paced online course for students ages 10 and older. Students certify without attending a field day. Learn more.
Who is required to have Bowhunter Education? To buy an archery permit, all bowhunters must possess a valid hunting license and show proof they have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state, or complete an affidavit to that effect.
Hunter & Bowhunter Instructor-led Course: A classroom course for students ages 9 and older. Students certify in both hunter and bowhunter education.
Trapper Education Instructor-led Course: A classroom course that covers trapping laws, ethical trapping, avoiding non-target catch, safety and basic trapping methods.
Wolf Trapper Instructor-led Course: A classroom course that covers wolf trapping regulations, ethics and trapping methods. Learn more.
Individuals with disabilities may request reasonable accommodations by contacting the Idaho Department of Fish and Game hunter education coordinators at regional offices or the State Hunter Education Coordinators office at 208-334-3746. Please allow a minimum of 30 days advanced notice for the Department to arrange a course and requested accommodations. Individuals can connect with the Idaho Relay Service or TDD at 1-800-368-6185.