Printer Friendly Page Email Page
 Search     
Idaho Fish & Game
Explore our Regions
IDFG

Chinook Salmon

Sunday, May 3, 2015 

 
Licenses and Salmon Permits
Fishing for salmon in Idaho requires a fishing license and a permit. Licenses can be purchased at Fish and Game offices, license vendors and online.

Resident
  • Fishing License - $25.75
  • Junior License (14-17 years) - $13.75
  • Salmon Permit - $12.75

Note to Nonresidents: When you purchase a nonresident hunting license, it includes a 3-day fishing license. Salmon or steelhead permit sold separately.

Nonresident
  • Fishing License - $98.25
  • Junior Fishing License -$21.75
  • Salmon Permit - $25.75
  • 3-day Salmon License and Permit - $37.50
 
 
Many of the techniques used to fish for steelhead can also be used for salmon fishing.

For more how-to videos, click here.

 
 For more salmon and steelhead videos, click here.
 
View all salmon or steelhead fishing articles.

How did the salmon get here?

Questions & Answers 
Wednesday Apr. 1, 2015
Show Answer
Q: What is the forecast and fishing regulations for 2015 when fishing the Clearwater?
Thursday Mar. 12, 2015
Show Answer
Q: Salmon run clearwater river?
Friday Mar. 6, 2015
Show Answer
Q: Will steelhead spawn early this year and are they going to continue to be spawning in Mar/Apr on the Salmon?
Thursday Jan. 22, 2015
Show Answer
Q: Landlocked salmon?
Thursday Jan. 15, 2015
Show Answer
Q: License fees for adding non-resident single-day licenses.?
Monday Jan. 12, 2015
Show Answer
Q: How many fish are stocked in Idaho every year?
Sunday Jan. 11, 2015
Show Answer
Q: Barbless Hooks on the Middle Fork of the Salmon?
Thursday Jan. 8, 2015
Show Answer
Q: Canning trout?
Saturday Nov. 8, 2014
Show Answer
Q: Steelhead caught 2014?
Thursday Oct. 23, 2014
Show Answer
Q: Fishing?
Monday Oct. 6, 2014
Show Answer
Q: Nonresident Fishing License?
Ask IDFG

Have Questions?

Ask your Question about Salmon Fishing, or anything about Idaho Fish and Game or Idaho wildlife.
View all questions about salmon or steelhead.
 
Dani and JP with salmon

Huge driftboat Chinook

 
Patterson and a big Clearwater River fish

Scott's Salmon River Chinook

 
Joe's South Fork salmon

Eric's Salmon River prize

Last Updated: September 16, 2014 
Top of page 
Idaho Idaho at 150