Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here. If you're not finding answers, please Ask Fish & Game

Displaying 1 - 100 of 101 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: You don't need a license, and the only restrictions are on access and travel on the land. Horn hunters, like other outdoor recreationists, must secure permission to cross or look for antlers on private land, and they must abide by transportation restrictions on federal and state public lands. Horn ...
2/27/11
A: The second controlled hunt application period for 12 leftover moose hunt permits runs from June 15 through June 25 - one bull in Hunt 3044, Unit 12-3; three bulls in Hunt 3053, Unit 16A; four bulls in Hunt 3054, Unit 17; and four bulls in Hunt 3056, Unit 20. There are no leftover sheep or goat ...
6/5/11
A: Yes, IDAPA requires the presentation of antlers from antlered moose to be presented to a conservation officer or regional office so department personnel can collect biological data.  Since it is not required to present any parts of cow moose the information can simply be phoned in.
2/10/12
A: Both static PDF maps suitable for printing and interactive online maps of hunt area boundaries are available on the Hunt Area Map Index.  Sportsmen can also use the MapCenter to view Game Management Units, Elk Zones and current Controlled Hunts.  For offline viewing in Google Earth and GIS ...
2/15/12
A: Generally the answer is no, however there are exceptions. These exceptions are explained in the 2011 Big Game Regulations: A person who has applied for a bighorn sheep, mountain goat or moose controlled hunt may not apply for any other controlled hunt in the same year, except unlimited controlled ...
2/16/12
A: Notifying Fish and Game within 24 hours and obtaining a salvage permit within 72 hours is a legal requirement to lawfully possess salvaged wildlife.    Within 24 hours, you must report a wildlife salvage by going online to http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/roadkill, which will direct you to a self- ...
4/3/12
A: Local animal control, animal rescue, or law enforcement in emergencies and USDA Wildlife Services are good sources for help, information and advice.Idaho law allows people to trap or remove any wildlife to protect private property and personal safety, but just like the plumbing, sometimes it is ...
4/6/12
A: Applicants will receive either a tag or a refund check by mail no later than June 10 unless their purchases were made with a credit card.  They will not receive a refund check, but a credit to their account by July 1.   If you do not receive one of these by July 1, please call Fish and Game at 208 ...
5/11/12
A: This question was posted by a person near American Falls that observed Fish and Game employees examining a road-killed moose.  The employees determined that the moose was salvageable and quickly field dressed, skinned, and transported the carcass to cold storage facilities, leaving the entrails ...
5/14/12
A: Moose seasons for the fall 2011 and fall 2012 hunting seasons were set by the Idaho Fish and Game Commission in January 2011. There is no moose hunting season in Unit 63. Moose seasons proposals for  2013 and 2014 will be considered this fall/winter and will be set by the Fish and Game Commission ...
5/20/12
A: A person who has applied for a bighorn sheep, mountain goat, or moose controlled hunt may not apply for any other controlled hunt in the same year, except unlimited controlled hunts, a controlled black bear hunt, controlled turkey hunt, extra deer, extra elk, or extra pronghorn controlled hunts, ...
5/23/12
A: There are 11 leftovers for moose (2012 hunts)   Hunt Number Unit Permits Leftover 3031 10-1 1 3034 10-4 1 3036 10-6 1 3044 12-3 1 3045 12-4 1 3047 12-6 1 3053 16A 2 3056 20 2 3057 27 1  
5/30/12
A: You should receive your moose, sheep or goat refund check by June 10.  If you don't, please contact Fish and Game at 208-334-3700.
6/7/12
A: Yes.  Game animals, predatory wildlife and unprotect species (see list) may be salvaged. Notifying Fish and Game within 24 hours and obtaining a salvage permit within 72 hours is a legal requirement to lawfully possess salvaged wildlife.    You must report a wildlife salvage by going online to ...
9/6/12
A: IDFG information on Big Game Winter Feeding  http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/?getPage=57   The only legal restriction on feeding Big Game is in eastern Idaho. The Idaho State Department of Agriculture has rules which prohibit the feeding of Big Game in certain counties in Eastern ...
9/15/12
A: During a general any weapon season while using a muzzleloader You cannot use a muzzleloading rifle or musket which is less than forty-five (.45) caliber for deer, pronghorn, mountain lion, or gray wolf, or which is less than fifty (.50) caliber for elk, moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, or ...
9/21/12
A: Mandatory Check and Report Requirements for Moose   Antlers must be presented at Idaho Fish and Game regional offices or official check point or to a conservation officer within 10 days of the date of the kill. Fish and Game headquarters office is not equipped to check in moose. In the Boise area ...
9/30/12
A: The short answer is NO. Short range weapon seasons for big game are limited to: Shotgun using a slug or #00 or larger buckshot Muzzleloader that are .45 caliber for deer, pronghorn, mountain lion or wolf and at least .50 caliber for elk, moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat or black bear With any ...
10/8/12
A: You need to report the salvage this form https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ifwis/observations/salvage/report/ or call a Fish and Game office. This will generate a receipt to keep with the animal.
10/13/12
A: The requirements for muzzleloader-only season weapons are: Muzzleloader Caliber Requirements In any hunt, including general any-weapon seasons and short-range hunts, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals: • With any muzzleloading rifle or musket that is less than .45 caliber for deer, ...
11/8/12
A: Lifetime license holders are counted in the resident pool for controlled hunts, even if they have moved out of state.
11/21/12
A: You can harvest one male and one female moose in Idaho under the current rules.
11/27/12
A: Any person who has harvested an antlered moose in Idaho may not apply for any moose tag  except an anterless tag. Any person who has harvested an antlerless moose in Idaho may not apply for any moose tag except an antlered moose tag.  A resident cannot apply for a nonresident moose hunt.    
12/4/12
A: There isn't a magazine size restriction for hunting big game.  The restrictions we do have are listed below:   IDAHO WEAPON RESTRICTIONS   Rifle and Shotgun   In any hunt, including any-weapon seasons, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals:   • By any means other than approved firearms ...
12/6/12
A: Up to 10% of the tags alloted to every controlled hunt can go to nonresident hunters--we don't guarantee that 10% will, but up to 10% can. If a controlled hunt has less than 10 permits, only 1 can go to a nonresident. Each application is given a unique application number. Before the drawing takes ...
12/8/12
A: Up to 10% of the tags alloted to every controlled hunt can go to nonresident hunters--we don't guarantee that 10% will, but up to 10% can.  If a controlled hunt has less than 10 permits, only 1 can go to a nonresident.  Each application is given a unique application number.  Before the drawing ...
12/9/12
A: When a hunter puts in for a moose tag or another trophy species ( Mountain Goat or Bighorn Sheep), it does not prevent them from then getting a general elk or deer tag. All the general tags are still available for you to purchase, even after you've applied for a trophy species. The only limitation ...
12/18/12
A: The superhunt is a drawing for 34 tags that helps to fund Access Yes! -- the proceeds go toward compensating willing landowners for hunter and angler access to or across private land. Participants purchase chances at drawing a superhunt tag for deer, elk, moose or pronghorn tags.  These tags can ...
12/18/12
A: Moose were first hunted through a general hunt format from 1893 to 1897.  Hunting was closed from 1898 until 1946 when a controlled hunt was established in eastern Idaho.  Additional controlled hunts were implemented in north central and northern Idaho in 1954 and 1957, respectively.
12/23/12
A: List of Species that Can be Salvaged Big Game Animals Black Bear (Ursus americanus) California Bighorn Sheep (Ovis canadensis californiana) Elk (Cervus canadensis) Gray Wolf (Canis lupus) Moose (Alces americanus) Mountain Goat (Oreamnos americanus) Mountain Lion (Felis concolor) Mule Deer ( ...
12/26/12
A: Idaho requires that all hunters have an Idaho hunting license to hunt.  If you are hunting turkey or big game (deer, elk, pronghorn, moose, sheep, goat, mountain lion, bear) you must have a tag for the animal in addition to the Idaho hunting license.
1/26/13
A: You may fill out the roadkill salvage form at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/roadkill Once the form is submitted you will receive a printable receipt to keep with the salvaged meat.
1/27/13
A: I would recommend a jet boat for most of the Upper Snake River.
3/16/13
A:  Any person applying for any moose, bighorn sheep, or mountain goat hunt is prohibited from applying for any other big game controlled hunt in the same year. Except: They may apply for a controlled depredation hunt for deer, elk, or pronghorn, a controlled black bear hunt, or leftover deer, elk ...
3/17/13
A: You don't need a license, and the only restrictions are on access and travel on the land. Horn hunters, like other outdoor recreationists, must secure permission to cross or look for antlers on private land, and they must abide by transportation restrictions on federal and state public lands. Horn ...
3/27/13
A: Each applicant must choose a specific controlled hunt to apply for.  The hunts are all listed in the Moose, Sheep and Goat Rules Book.  You must purchase an Idaho hunting license and submit the application and tag fee with your application (residents $173.00; nonresidents $2116.50).  The tag fee ...
4/2/13
A: It depends...Any person applying for any moose, bighorn sheep, or mountain goat hunt is prohibited from applying for any other big game controlled hunt in the same year.  Except: They may apply for a controlled depredation hunt for deer, elk, or pronghorn, a controlled black bear hunt, or ...
4/2/13
A: If 2 people are on the same application do both names go in the drawing? If so, then if 1 name is drawn do both individauls receive the same tags? Or is it that 1 name goes in the drawing and if that name is drawn, both individauls would receive tags? Answer: Each application is given it's own ...
4/12/13
A: Any person applying for any moose, bighorn sheep, or mountain goat hunt is prohibited from applying for any other big game controlled hunt in the same year. Except: They may apply for a controlled depredation hunt for deer, elk, or pronghorn, a controlled black bear hunt, or leftover deer, elk or ...
4/21/13
A: The application period is April 1-30.  The date hunters will be notified by is June 10.  The actual drawing will be done in time for that notification.
4/27/13
A: That is still the case this year.  A parent or grandparent can designate their controlled hunt tag to their minor child or grandchild. The form to do this is on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/huntCHtagPermitDesignation.pdf. Those who draw a trophy species (moose, ...
4/30/13
A: To clarify the purpose of the Idaho Fish and Game Commission’s motorized hunting rule, the Commission amended the rule to clearly define where and when the rule applies. The amended rule also clarifies what classification of wildlife are affected. The rule has a new name which specifically ...
4/30/13
A: The deadline to enter this year's first Super Hunt drawing is May 31. With every entry in Fish and Game's Super Hunt drawings, hunters get a chance at winning the hunt of a lifetime, and their entry fee helps support hunter and angler access to and across private lands. The first drawing in June ...
5/17/13
A: Possession and Sale of Wildlife Found Dead: Big game animal parts, such as hides, horns – except horns from bighorn sheep – bones, antlers and teeth, of deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, mountain goat, black bear, mountain lion and gray wolves that have died of natural causes, including legally ...
5/22/13
A: They will be posted online by June 10.
5/22/13
A: Contact the IDFG Upper Snake Region office at 208-525-7290.
5/30/13
A: Due to Idaho Privacy Laws, we cannot release the names of license holders.  No license is required to purchase a superhunt entry so there isn't any way for entrants to look up their status. Here is information that we released about the first superhunt drawing of 2013: After the first Super Hunt ...
6/4/13
A: Possession and Sale of Wildlife Found Dead:  Big game animal parts, such as hides, horns – except horns from bighorn sheep – bones, antlers and teeth, of deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, mountain goat, black bear, mountain lion and gray wolves that have died of natural causes, including legally ...
6/19/13
A: There were no leftover moose hunts for 2013.
6/19/13
A: There were no leftover moose hunts for 2013.
6/19/13
A:   We have not changed the law--there is no minimum caliber as long as you are NOT using a rimfire weapon.  (See muzzleloading equipment exception below). In any hunt, including any-weapon seasons, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals: • By any means other than approved firearms, ...
7/3/13
A: The name changed to Motorized Hunting Rule to make it clear that this rules applies to hunters using motorized vehicles as an aid to hunting.  The rule is now specific only to hunting of big game animals, including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat, in designated units, and only applies from ...
7/11/13
A: To improve clarity of the rule and help both hunters and other motorized recreationalists understand where and when the rule applies.  Previously, the rule could have applied to hunting big game, upland game animals and upland game birds in specific hunts within designated units.  Now, the new ...
7/11/13
A: No.  The rule now applies only to hunting of big game animals, including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat, in designated units from August 30 through December 31.  The rule does not apply to upland game animals or birds in hunts within designated units.
7/11/13
A: Unit 4 has hunting seasons for mule deer, elk, bear, moose and wolf.  Please contact the Panhandle Region office for information about animals at 4,000 feet and the prescense of other animals.  Their number is 208-769-1414.
7/21/13
A: You can apply for a hunt during the second chance application period--August 5-15. We didn't have any leftover moose hunts in 2013.
7/28/13
A: These systems have early-run kokanee.  They begin their spawning migration in mid-August and usually peak in early Septemeber. Late running kokanee are found in north Idaho in the big lakes.  Up there, kokanee will spawn in November and December.   F08
9/20/13
A: If you are lucky enough to be chosen for the moose super hunt tag it would allow you to get a moose in addition to one you have already harvested. 
10/19/13
A: A person may apply for only one species.  Any person applying for a moose, bighorn sheep, or mountain goat hunt is prohibited from applying for any other big game controlled hunt in the same year.  Except: they may apply for a controlled depredation hunt for deer, elk, or pronghorn, a controlled ...
10/31/13
A: Yes. The requirement for open sites is restricted to muzzle loader only hunts. In short range and any general weapon hunt, the restrictions for muzzle loader are limited to a minimum of.45 caliber for deer, pronghorn, lion, and wolves, and a minimum of .50 caliber for elk, moose, big horn sheep, ...
11/11/13
A: In general, tapeworm cysts that are found in the muscles of deer, elk and moose in Idaho are Taenia krabbei.  This tapeworm has a life cycle in which the adults occur in the intestine of coyotes and wolves, eggs pass in the feces of the carnivore, which are eaten by grazing animals, especially ...
12/1/13
A: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/question/do-i-have-take-entire-carcass-elk supports it.   There is no stipulation that you salvage the entire carcass.  You can salvage any part that you choose and leave the rest.    
12/6/13
A: A spotlight permit is available through your IDFG regional office. It is titled "Permit to Hunt With Artificial Light", and the cost is $1.75. Typically these permits are issued by the Regional Conservation Officer or regional Supervisor for the area. These permits are not readily given out ...
12/7/13
A: You can submit one (1) application for a trophy species during the April application period. When submitting a controlled hunt application, you are allowed to enter two hunt choices. The hunt choices can both be for antlered or antlerless hunts or can be a mix of antlered and antlerless. For ...
12/14/13
A: Big game season and bag limit changes will be reviewed by the public typically in February and reviewed by the commission during their March meeting.  All proposals will be posted on our website during the public comment period.  However, there is currently no proposal to change the Controlled ...
12/19/13
A: All 2014 tags were available on December 1, 2013 except for: Resident deer and elk tags (and pronghorn tags which are only available through controlled hunt drawings). Moose, sheep and goat (because they are issued by controlled hunt drawing only)  
1/23/14
A: Coyote, wolf, bobcat teeth possession and sale?  Animals are classified differently and there are different rules regarding possession and sale depending on the classification. This answer is specific to the species you describe. Coyotes are predators and can be possessed and sold at any time. ...
2/9/14
A: Each year antlers from deer, elk, moose, and the horns of pronghorn fall off, or are shed; new antlers and horns begin to grow back and are fully grown again each fall. Animal parts such as antlers,  horns, hides, bones, and teeth of deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, wolf and mountain goat from animals ...
2/16/14
A: Yes, moose superhunts are "over and above" the usual once-in-a-lifetime moose harvest rule.  
3/20/14
A: Well, the open hunts in this case are actually ALL hunts as put together by Fish and Game...general season hunts and controlled hunts.  For example, if you are drawn for the superhunt elk tag, you can hunt in any general season elk hunt and any controlled elk hunt.  You must abide by the rules we ...
4/2/14
A: You can still apply for more than one species during the May 1-June 5 application period so yes, you can apply for deer and elk and pronghorn in the same year if you want to. Going by previous year's sales, it is most likely that there will be some nonresident deer and elk tags available for sale ...
4/2/14
A: For   Spring Bear January 15-February 15 Spring Turkey February 1-March 1 Moose,Bighorn Sheep, Mountain Goat April 1-30 Deer,Elk,Pronghorn,Fall Bear, Fall Turkey May 1-June 5 Moose leftover tags (second app. period) June 15-25 Deer,Elk,Pronghorn,Fall Bear leftover tags (second app period) August 5 ...
4/17/14
A: No.  The $6.00 and $4.00 that you pay to enter the superhunt drawings are  application fees and application fees are not refundable.  The application fee for the moose controlled hunt is not refunded, either.
4/24/14
A: Yes, it would theoretically be possible to draw more than one super hunt tag.  One thing to remember is that applications from the first yearly drawing do not carry over to the second drawing.
4/25/14
A: The motorized hunting rules do not apply to upland birds. The Idaho Fish and Game's motorized hunting rules apply to big game animals, including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goats, in designated units from August 30 through December 31.Motorized hunting use restrictions apply to units 29, 30 ...
5/3/14
A: We will have the trophy controlled hunt results available online by the end of May. 
5/5/14
A: The short answer is yes. During this first application period for deer, elk, pronghorn, fall bear and fall turkey all hunters can submit applications except those who have submitted an application for a moose, big horn sheep or mountain goat. Hunters need to read the rules of application found on ...
5/20/14
A: To provide our customers with the best service and as much opportunity as possible to submit an application for a controlled hunt, we allow individuals to submit applications that are post marked no later than the last application date. For Moose, Sheep and Goat this would be April 30. Fish and ...
5/27/14
A: The basis of active wildlife management is to monitor various populations for reproductive and mortality rates in order to determine how many animals can be taken (harvested) while still maintaining a healthy overall population.  Control actions are sometimes needed when wildlife populations grow ...
5/31/14
A: In 2010, the Idaho Fish and Game Commission considered adopting a Bonus Points system, but ultimately decided against the proposal.  The Commission cited several reasons, including a lack of consensus among sportsmen.  Here's a link to more information about the history of Bonus Points proposals ...
7/13/14
A: Yes. Super Hunts represent an additional chance to harvest an animal. If you draw a Super Hunt tag, you can also participate in a general season hunt (or a controlled hunt that you have drawn) as well as the Super Hunt or Super Hunt Combo. This applies to moose hunts as well. For more information ...
7/22/14
A: We'd love to hear from you.  The Department will be taking public comments on proposed changes to the 2015 & 2016 Moose, Bighorn Sheep and Mountain Goat seasons the end of December-early January at public meetings throughout the state and online through our website. Please check our website or ...
7/28/14
A: It must remain attached to the largeste portion of edible meat.   TAG VALIDATION AND ATTACHMENT AND PROXY STATEMENT.Immediately after any deer, elk, pronghorn, moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, mountain lion, black bear, or gray wolf is killed, the appropriate big game animal tag must be ...
8/13/14
A: Her application will be included in next years first drawing which is held in early June of 2015.
8/13/14
A: All of the winners in the second super hunt drawing have been notified. Results of the drawing have been provided to our web group and should be posted soon.
8/25/14
A: The Motorized Hunting Rule applies only to those units displayed in orange on the map on page 105. In these designated units, between August 30-December 31, big game hunters (including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat hunters) may use motorized vehicles only on established roadways that are ...
10/2/14
A: The Commission will have a briefing on Moose, mountain Goats, and bighorn sheep at their November 13 meeting in Post Falls. The Department will be developing proposals on changes to seasons and tag numbers of the next couple of months and will soliciting input in December and January. The Fish and ...
10/8/14
A: Major oversite on our part. The information is now posted on the website.  http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=291. Idaho Fish and Game is unable to release names of the Super Hunt winners.  Here's a synopsis of the results. 2 Pronghorn tags drawn for Idaho and Washington hunters. 2 ...
10/13/14
A:   Once you have killed  any species of willdife that requires a tag to hunt (all big game species and turkey) the hunter must immediatley validate  their tag and attach it either to the carcass for most big game species or to the animal's hide for bear, lion and wolf.   The term immediatley  is ...
10/25/14
A: Anyone can buy tickets for Idaho's Super Hunts. Most of the people who enter are from the US, but every year a handful of entries come from another country.  A hunter from Australia won a moose tag in the 2009 Super Hunt drawing.  Also, since you don't need an Idaho hunting license to enter the ...
11/8/14
A: Thanks for your question on moose tags. Right now we are in the process of making recommendations on moose hunting seasons.  We are recommending an increase in the number of moose tags that will be offered in Unit 5.  We'll continue to look at tag numbers in there and continue to increase tags if ...
11/12/14
A: Idaho Code 36-1107 talks about when wild animals can be destroyed and it does not cover destroying a moose because it attacks your dog.
12/1/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game strives to provide hunting seasons that meet a wide variety of hunter’s desires, whether it be for food, trophy animals, or recreational opportunity with friends and family.  Each year, staff review population information and solicit public input (e.g. public meetings, web site ...
12/3/14
A: All of Idaho Fish and Game’s wildlife harvest statistics are estimated from surveys of hunters. We get the most questions about deer or elk. I think this is what you are asking about. For deer, elk, and pronghorn, each hunter is required to fill out a Hunter Report form, either online or by phone ...
1/13/15
A: If your son has completed all the necessary requirements and is certified in hunter education, but he has never purchased a hunting license in any state before, Idaho's Hunting Passport is a great option.  If he has purchased a license before in any state, he is ineligible to purchase a Hunting ...
2/27/15
A: The answers to both of your questions are yes.  Please review a copy of our Big Game or Moose, Bighorn Sheep and Mountain Goat Seasons and Rules booklets for more information.  A quick call to one of our 9 offices could also help you with your questions.       While any person applying for any ...
3/2/15
A: The rule that requires hunters to either pick applying for a trophy species (moose, mountain goat, or bighorn sheep) or deer, elk, and pronghorn was implemented to improve drawing odds for moose, mountain goat, and bighorn sheep.  By reducing the number of people that apply for any one species, ...
3/2/15
A: No. If a hunter draws a super hunt tag, IDFG will issue the tag and mail it to the hunter. The hunter is responsible for purchasing the appropriate hunting or combination hunting and fishing license prior to IDFG issuing the appropriate super hunt tag.
7/29/15
A: Those who apply for a trophy hunt (moose, sheep or goat) can submit an application for deer, elk or pronghorn in the second application period. That person may also participate in the leftover first-come, first-served tag sales as long as they meet all of the other requirements and criteria.
8/11/15
A: Good question and good catch! The langauge in the big game regulations and seasons booklet and the moose, bighorn sheep, and mountain goat booklet dont' match--and they should.   The Idaho Administrative Procedures Act contains regulations (e.g., IDAPA 13.01.08.410.5.b ) that prohibit the use of ...
8/11/15