Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 501 - 600 of 648 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: For those species that can be hunted such as bobcat, fox, coyote, wolf, and lion, a trapping license is not required.  We do not have a furbearer license, only a trapping license that is required for trapping furbearers.  Please be sure to check the rules on fox as some counties in the state, i.e ...
11/9/14
A: Thanks for your question on moose tags. Right now we are in the process of making recommendations on moose hunting seasons.  We are recommending an increase in the number of moose tags that will be offered in Unit 5.  We'll continue to look at tag numbers in there and continue to increase tags if ...
11/12/14
A: Yes. Deer and elk tags are available over-the-counter in Idaho. However, there are a limited amount. As of this answer, there are fewer than 2,000 of a total of 12,500 deer tags available to nonresidents for 2014. You can find the total remaining tags available online. You'll need your nonresident ...
11/18/14
A: Hello, I am the Chief of Enforcement for Idaho Department of Fish and Game.  Please contact us so we can send you a packet of information regarding your question.  208-334-3736 For your reference please review Chapter 6, Title 36, Idaho Code.  http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title36/T36. ...
11/22/14
A: You are correct, in Idaho 7 year olds cannot purchase a hunting license.  But when she turns 8....you can purchase her a Hunter's Passport for $ 1.75 to hunt small game, sold at any vendor.  The carrier of a passport must be with a licensed adult hunter at all times during the hunt....the passport ...
11/22/14
A: This is a very good question! If a wounded animal is located while hunting and it is still alive nothing would prohibit you from taking the animal and tagging it as your own, as long as you have a valid license, tag and or permit for the same animal and area where you are hunting. The hunter who ...
11/25/14
A: The answer to that question depends on the problems they are causing. If they are damaging your property in a monetary way, you have the right to defend your property. If they are simply an annoyance, we can rent you a trap to remove them. Skunks are classified in Idaho as predators. As such, they ...
11/28/14
A: The nonresident nongame license is valid for hunting unprotected birds and animals and predatory wildlife of this state.  This license is a good option if you are only interested in hunting coyotes, which are classified as a predator.   You may hunt with another person even if they have a ...
11/30/14
A: Elk populations in northern Idaho are mixed - too few in some areas and too many in others.  Perhaps the most important factor in managing an elk herd is management of cow and calf (antlerless) elk. Where elk herds have declined, Idaho Fish and Game has eliminated anterless elk hunting completely ...
12/4/14
A: On pages 101 and 102 of the 2014 Big game regulations you will find detailed information as to how to properly validate and attach your tag to the Big game animal in your possession.   In short, your tag should be validated by “complete removal of the triangles denoting the month and day” of kill ...
12/6/14
A: If a a private individual were to kill a dog at large it could carry criminal or civil liability.  The Fish and Game director or any peace officer, or persons authorized to enforce fish and game laws are authorized to destroy the dog at large when chasing big game.  Here is the section from Idaho ...
12/7/14
A: You can harvest crayfish with just a valid fishing license.  In Idaho, they are considered game fish, so they can be caught whenever a season is open for fishing on that water (even a catch-and-release season).  If you want to use a trap, you can set 5 per licensed angler.  Check the rules for ...
12/9/14
A: At this time (December 2014), trapper certification is not required for a general trapping license.  However, the Fish and Game Commission may consider a mandatory trapper education course in the near future.  If you are interested in trapping wolves, then wolf trapper certification is required.
12/15/14
A: To purchase an Idaho hunting license you must show a previously purchased hunting license OR proof of your Hunter Education certification (card) ONLY IF you were born on or after January 1, 1975. If you were born prior to this date you can purchase a license without showing proof of a license or ...
12/20/14
A: In this instance you can take the copy you have to your local Fish and Game office and they can print a duplicate at no additional cost to you.
12/26/14
A: You can purchase the license at any time during the year. We began selling our 2015 licenses on December 1, 2014. The three year license expires on December 31 of the third year. For example if you were to purchase the three year license on January 9, 2015, the license would be valid in January 9 ...
12/28/14
A: Residents of Idaho are eligible to purchase the sportsman's package license. The price of the sportsman's package license is set in Idaho Law and is $124.25 for all residents. To hunt with a crossbow in archery only hunts an individual must have a current year's archery permit (which is included ...
12/31/14
A: Game needs to be tagged, evidence of sex left naturally attached to the animal, and if transporting it for another it needs to be accompanied with a proxy statement that includes takers, name, license number, tag number, address,unit of harvest, date of harvest, species type and sex, and phone ...
1/4/15
A: It can be a tricky situation while packing out an untagged portion of an animal and we appreciate your responsibility in asking for clarification. Here's a quote from a similar question on legally moving a tagged animal: "If you are contacted by an Officer while packing meat off the mountain you ...
1/4/15
A: As a nonresident you have a choice of several license types depending on how many days and times you will be hunting in Idaho. Here is breakdown of three different options you can choose to purchase to hunt waterfowl in Idaho. Nonresident 3 day small game license. Valid for 3 consecutive days ...
1/9/15
A: Nonresident Tag quotas can be found on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/license/nonresidentTagAvailability. At this time of year these counts are updated every Friday.
1/9/15
A: The three-year license would count as maintaining your license for three years. It is proposed to be a "lock-in" license.
1/9/15
A: For this response we will assume you are talking about a picture of your spouses drivers license. We do allow a spouse to purchase a  resident license for their spouse as long as they have met the residency requirements stated in Idaho Code.
1/9/15
A: There are a couple of scenarios: Youth hunters age 8 or 9 can purchase a hunting passport to participate in hunting waterfowl, upland game and furbearers but must hunt with a licensed adult. A person can only puchase a hunting passport once in their lifetime. Youth who have successfully completed ...
1/10/15
A: To upgrade to a sportsman's package, you will need to take your license and any other permits and tags to the nearest regional office. There are a couple of rules to upgrading such as if a person has a tag and has harvested an animal with the tag, they cannot upgrade to a sportsman's package. Once ...
1/10/15
A: Thank you for your interest in hunting in Idaho. It sounds like you've found several opportunities and that you have a good understanding of the restrictions.   Here are some things to consider for second tags: There are no guarantees for a second tag (as you mentioned) Second tags are made ...
1/11/15
A: The two-pole permit is only available for a calendar year.  While your three-year combination fishing and hunting license is good for three calendar years, the two-pole permit would need renewed each year.  
1/11/15
A: Idaho's license fees are set by legislation. The two licenses (3 Day Salmon/Steelhead and the Daily Fishing) are different types of licenses and have different fees as per the Idaho Code 36-416. Therefore, the daily fishing license purchased for two days (no steelhead permit) would be the $12.75 ...
1/15/15
A: Thank you for your suggestion. We will take it under consideration for potential license structure changes.
1/15/15
A: That depends.  If you're a nonresident and already have a fishing license, the two-pole permit is an additional $15.50. If you're a licensed resident, the two-pole is $13.75. These prices are as of January, 2015 and are subject to change.
1/16/15
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have an upland game permit at this time. To hunt turkeys you will need the appropriate hunting license and the appropriate turkey tag and if drawn in a controlled hunt the controlled turkey permit.
1/18/15
A: The upland area you refer to is the Roswell Marsh Habitat Area, the small orange signs are to help show the Fish and Game property boundaries .  Hunting blinds can be constructed of native materials, but digging pits or cutting of vegetation is prohibited as well as using artificial fasteners like ...
1/18/15
A: The current posted Idaho Falls Trapper Education class consists of 2 class periods that are 4 hours in length. Both of these classes are on a Saturday, 1 week apart beginning on the 21st and ending the 28th of February. In general a trapper education class will consist of 8-12 hours of class and ...
1/19/15
A: Nonresidents may purchase a short term small game license (3 consecutive days $35.50 ea), a nongame hunting license ($35.50), a season small game license ($97.75)  or a big game hunting($154.75) license to hunt jack rabbits. For information about where to hunt you can contact our regional offices ...
1/22/15
A: No, a hunting license is not required to target shoot on public lands.  However, a hunting license is required when in the act of hunting, which is defined as the following: chasing, hunting, driving, flushing, attracting, pursuing, worrying, following after or on the trail of, shooting at, ...
2/17/15
A: Idaho is considered a progressive and influential state when it comes to fish and wildlife management but unfortunately, we only have authority to authorize and manage fishing and hunting privileges within the boundaries of Idaho.  Owyhee Reservoir is well inside the State of Oregon and they ...
2/18/15
A: Great Question and sometimes difficult to understand when the answer might vary depending on what state you are hunting in.  In Idaho the answer is provided by statute found in Idaho Code 36-401 which states “No person shall hunt trap or fish for or take any wild animal, bird, or fish of this ...
2/20/15
A: The SW Region is unaware of "a lot" of feral pigs being in SW Idaho by a border.  Some time back (`3-5 years) someone had released feral pigs in the CJ Strike area and efforts were made to remove these feral pigs.  The Department continues to be interested in removing any feral pigs released onto ...
2/21/15
A: If your son has completed all the necessary requirements and is certified in hunter education, but he has never purchased a hunting license in any state before, Idaho's Hunting Passport is a great option.  If he has purchased a license before in any state, he is ineligible to purchase a Hunting ...
2/27/15
A: A field day is required after completing the Hunter Education course. The field day includes a minimum of 2 hours of classroom instruction on Idaho laws followed by a written examination and field exercise to demonstrate safe firearm handling. Sign up for a field day on our hunter education web ...
2/27/15
A: I'm glad you mention LEGAL ground squirrels and rock chucks.  Idaho does have ground squirrels that cannot be hunted, see page 48 of our 2014 and 2015 Upland Bame, Furbearer & Turkey Seasons and Rules.  You need a hunting license to hunt any of the wildlife in the Idaho.  If you are a ...
2/28/15
A: Yes.  Depending on your method of hunting, an appropriate hunting license, tags with appropriate validations (archery or muzzleloader) are  required to hunt deer and elk.  For more information, review the "Licenses, Tags and Permits" section of any of our Seasons and Rules booklets.  A quick call ...
3/2/15
A: We do allow a spouse to purchase a license for a spouse. Please obtain a photocopy of his valid Idaho driver's license and bring that in when you come to purchase his license.
3/3/15
A:   Provided you are on the water and your boat isn't tied to the Oregon shore while you are fishing - all you need is an Idaho fishing license.  Idaho has a reciprocical agreement with Oregon stating we recognize these reservoirs as being jointly managed and for the benefit of Idaho and Oregon's ...
3/4/15
A: Yes, you are required to have valid Idaho hunting license to hunt coyotes.  You can use a 3-day small game hunting license or a a nongame hunting license, each cost $35.50. As for nonresident military, the only discount we have would be for disabled vets with 40% or higher disability rating.
3/5/15
A: At a minimum you will need to purchase an Idaho non-game hunting license to hunt coyotes in Idaho. If you plan to hunt other small game such as upland game birds or waterfowl in the fall you can purchase the small game hunting license which also allows you to hunt coyotes. Please contact our ...
3/8/15
A: To purchase an archery permit, all bowhunters must possess a valid hunting license and show proof they have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state, or complete an affidavit to that effect. To buy ...
3/10/15
A: The answer to your question depends largely on what type of doves you have on your place. Mourning Doves enjoy protection as a migratory bird, and take of them is regulated by the US Fish and Wildlife Service under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act. If these are the birds causing your issues, the ...
4/25/15
A: Even though crawfish are a "game fish" in Idaho, the Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game does not track population numbers or trends for crawfish.  With that said, we are unaware of any populations of crawfish being over-exploited in Idaho. There are many areas where you can set traps for crayfish in the ...
4/26/15
A: Raccoons have become common in towns and cities around Treasure Valley.  Part of the draw for raccoons to use these urban areas is that, other than cars and the occasional aggressive dog, there is very little threat to raccoons.  Further, the raccoons find ample food in yards where people feed ...
4/26/15
A: Most of the ground squirrels north of the Payette River are protected ground Squirrels which can not be hunted.  Idaho has two species of ground squirrel that are only found in Southwest Idaho.  The Northern Idaho Ground Squirrel lives in Washington and Adams counties, they are a federally ...
4/29/15
A: If you access our license purchase page found at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/ and complete a search for your information, the system will display the items you have purchased in the current license year at the bottom of the license, tag and permit selection page.The system will display ...
5/8/15
A: Yes, you need a fishing license to harass, bait, attempt to take, etc. any fish in public waters in Idaho.
5/25/15
A: No.  Fishing for or targeting salmon/steelhead is prohibited unless a steelhead season is specifically opened for that water.    In other words, no salmon/steelhead fishing (including catch/release) is allowed unless there is an open season for that river location.   Steelhead rules can be found ...
6/19/15
A: It is legal to photograph wildlife.  The term 'hunt' in Idaho does not include stalking, attracting, searching for, or lying in wait for, any wildlife by an unarmed person solely for the purpose of watching wildlife or taking pictures thereof.
7/20/15
A: Big game tags and permits that must be notched, validated or attached to a carcass cannot be printed if purchased via the Internet. Those items will be printed and mailed to customers.
7/27/15
A: In Idaho, you can participate in trapping by purchasing a trapping license and following all rules and regulations.
7/27/15
A: No it is not required to hunt. however it is a good idea to carry photo identification with you to help indentfy yourself.
7/28/15
A: If a person draws a super hunt tag, IDFG will issue the tag and mail it to the hunter. The hunter is responsible for purchasing the appropriate hunting or combination hunting and fishing license before we can issue the appropriate tag.
7/28/15
A: No. If a hunter draws a super hunt tag, IDFG will issue the tag and mail it to the hunter. The hunter is responsible for purchasing the appropriate hunting or combination hunting and fishing license prior to IDFG issuing the appropriate super hunt tag.
7/29/15
A:     To buy an archery permit in Idaho, all bowhunters must possess a valid hunting license and show proof they have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state, or complete an affidavit to that effect ...
8/3/15
A: You can hunt forest grouse with an air rifle with a valid hunting license and when they are in season. You can shoot preditory animals such as starlings, ferral pigeons, english sparrows, and Eurasian Collared doves. There are no other species or seasons for air rifles.
8/9/15
A: Yes. You can use a bow in a general hunt without the archery validation.  However, any archery-only hunt requires the validation.
8/9/15
A: We do recommend that trappers take a trapping course to learn important skills such as avoiding non-target catch, best management practices, ethics and responsibilities. Our trapping course includes both classroom time taught by a trapper and outdoor trap setting skills. A trapping course is not ...
8/10/15
A: Field days are offered throughout the calendar year at various times, depending on where you live. More than 14,000 students continually take and pass hunter education in Idaho each year. Classes and field days change often and new opportunities are added constantly, so keep checking the website. ...
8/18/15
A: You will need to provide a statement from the social security administration on their letterhead explaining the individual(s) do not have a social security number. This documentation will need to be provided to an IDFG regional or headquarters office. We can then set up the individual(s) profile ...
8/24/15
A: Browse here for the prices for our nonresident licenses and tags. Through the month of August this 2015 year, we have a discount for a second nonresident elk or deer tag, as well. A license is required for the purchase of an elk tag.
8/27/15
A: “It is illegal to fish in any waters of Idaho with more than one handline or pole with a line attached; …..or by archery, spearfishing, snagging, hands and netting except as permitted. “ If you observe a violation I would encourage you to report it to your local Conservation Officer, Sherriff’s ...
9/2/15
A: Our resident tag count can be found here: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/license/residenttagavailability Our nonresident tag count can be found here: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/license/nonresidentTagAvailability
9/3/15
A: The cost of a senior (65+) combination hunting and fishing license for residents is $11.75  A resident for the purposes of this senior discount was changed in 2015 to residing in Idaho for 6-months rather than 5-years.
9/4/15
A: Thank you for your question.  Idaho is a member state of the Wildlife Violator Compact (WVC) as are many other states including Utah.  If an individual’s hunting privileges are suspended in any of the member states, every state belonging to the WVC honors that suspension.  If your hunting ...
9/4/15
A: Yes, you must have your license and tags on your person while in the field. Sage Grouse and Sharptail validations print on your license. Tags cannot be printed via the internet, and must be mailed, or picked up in person at a vendor. If you have lost your license or tag, you may purchase a ...
9/5/15
A: No as long as you are not hunting any live animal, you do not need a hunting license.
9/7/15
A: Your question may be better answered by the Kootenai County Sheriff's Office.  Their general phone number is 208 446-1300.  Fish and game laws in Idaho are silent on the subject of shooting from the deck of your home.
9/7/15
A: If you can show proof of having a valid hunting license in another state you are eligible to purchase an Idaho hunting license.
9/8/15
A: In Idaho, coyotes can be hunted by anyone possessing a hunting license (age 10 and up) or hunting passport (age 8).
9/11/15
A: To legally catch or take gamefish from a public water in Idaho you need to have a fishing licenese.  They also need to be taken in a legal manner as defined by the Idaho Fish and Game Commission in the 2013 - 2015 Fishing Rules booklet.  This does not include capture by hand or snagging - unless ...
9/12/15
A: You can purchase your elk tag at any Idaho Fish and Game office or license vendor in the state, regardless of location.
9/14/15
A: Both a hunting license and hound hunter permit are required to pursue raccoons.  Page 99 in the Big Game Rules covers Black Bear and Mountain Lions.  Page 47 in the Upland Game and Furbearer rules states, the following persons must have a valid hound hunter permit in possession when dogs are being ...
9/16/15
A: I want to thank you for taking the time to write about the tag and permit fees paid by those holding senior licenses.  The Department of Fish and Game does not receive any financial support from the state’s general fund. Therefore, the funding for Idaho’s fish and wildlife programs comes solely ...
9/16/15
A: Hi there Vaugh, The Yankee Fork is home to several species of fish, including Chinook Salmon, Steelead, Bull Trout, Westslope Cutthroat Trout and Mountain Whitefish. At this time, the populations of salmon and steelhead are very low and no fishing is allowed for those species. Bull Trout and ...
9/18/15
A: The Portneuf Wellness Complex is a multi-use 80-acre facility located near the former North Bannock County Fairgrounds. The complex was generously donated to Bannock County by the Portneuf Health Trust to help promote both physical and mental well-being for those who use it. Among the amazing ...
9/20/15
A: You must have a trapping license to trap coyotes in Idaho.  This species can be trapped all year long and there is not a limit on the harvest amount.
9/20/15
A: Adult residents age 18 and over have to purchase their own license because they need to show proof of residency. An adult may buy a license or tag for their minor child. Please check the current seasons and rules section for more details.
9/22/15
A: All hunters must have a valid Idaho hunting license and the appropriate tags or permits in their possession while hunting. See our seasons and rules section for more information and rules regarding hunter education.
9/25/15
A: The Idaho bowhunter online coursehas been updated and no longer requires a field day to obtain certification. This was changed January 1, 2015. If you completed the online course in 2014, you can log back into the course at  https://www.bowhunter-ed.com/idaho  to print your certification card. If ...
9/25/15
A: Please review the Disabled Hunter Companion Rules at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/?getPage=356 and then give us a call at 208-334-3700 if you need further assistance. Thank you.
9/26/15
A: Sorry, we don't have a fishing passport - but it's a really good idea.  The hunting passport is a way to expose people to hunting prior to taking hunter education and making a large time and financial commitment to the sport.  Fishing is different in the fact we don't require any pre-sport ...
9/28/15
A: To purchase the Jr. Mentored/DAV tags, a person must possess a Jr. Mentored hunting license, a Jr. Hunting Passport or a Disabled American Veteran hunting license. If you do not have one of these license types, the system will only offer the full priced tags.
9/30/15
A: A felony conviction that has made an individual a "prevented possessor” has no bearing on their ability to purchase a hunting license in Idaho. If the board of Pardons and Parole has revoked your right to possess a firearm in Idaho, you will not be allowed to possess a black powder or muzzle- ...
10/3/15
A: To certify in hunter education you must take our instructor-led in class course OR the online course and the in class field day. The field day is mandatory for everyone. The field day includes a written examination and field exercise examination. Students must show and demonstrate their knowledge ...
10/6/15
A: For this year, we recommend you keep your current license and elk tag. Those who have met the residency requirements after purchasing a nonresident license may purchase resident tags for the species they have not purchased. This type of a purchase can only be made at IDFG offices. For example, if ...
10/6/15
A: We're assuming you mean getting a tag replaced because it may be lost. If that's the case: Any local vendor or Fish and Game office can issue a duplicate license. However, lost tags, including deer and elk tags, can be replaced only at a Fish and Game office. Each duplicate item costs $7.25 for ...
10/7/15
A: You cannot fish for salmon or steelhead with a confirmation.   You are required to have the permit in hand as it must be notched if you harvest a fish.
10/15/15
A: Yes
10/17/15
A: Thank you for your question. The muzzleloader permit fee is $18.25 for residents and $20.00 for nonresidents.  They can be purchased at any Idaho Fish & Game Regional office or Headquarters, or any Idaho Fish & Game license vendor.  They can also be purchased online at http://fishandgame. ...
10/26/15
A: The situation you describe, as two juveniles age 16-18 desiring to go hunting alone, does not require you to be with an adult in order to go hunting as long as you are residents of the state of Idaho and you hold the correct license and or tag.  You may be thinking of restrictions placed on " ...
10/26/15
A: There is not a handicapped rate for lifetime licenses.  These fees are set by law as a formula using the resident adult license rates (IDAPA 36-413).
10/26/15
A: Yes, a resident may purchase a fishing license and steelhead permit for a nonresident.
10/27/15
A: The 2015 season for the general deer tag in unit 11A runs October 10 through November 3. To hunt white-tailed deer in unit 11A through December 1, you would need the White-tail deer tag. Tag exchanges from one type to another had to be done prior to the season opening for the tag you currently ...
11/2/15