Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 401 - 500 of 649 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: In Idaho, wildlife is considered property that the state manages on behalf of its citizens. There is a public interest in ensuring people are complying with state laws related to hunting, fishing, and trapping on both public and private land, so that Idahoans can enjoy hunting and other wildlife- ...
5/13/14
A: You need to have resided in Idaho for 6 months, so on June 15th you will qualify for a resident license.  There are several ways you can prove that you moved to Idaho on January 15th.  Show us rent statements that demonstrate the date you move to your residence, a letter from your employer stating ...
5/14/14
A: There are a couple of important points to address in your questions. A desired outcome of managing the salmon fisheries is for all areas open to fishing have successful and meaningful fisheries. The one-fish bag limit is one tool that can be used to achieve that. More importantly, the one-fish bag ...
5/17/14
A: IDFG has been approached by many customers over several years asking why we don't allow licenses to be printed at home when being purchased via the Internet. Based on those many comments and suggestions, the IDFG made the change in April of 2013 to allow customers to print their licenses purchased ...
5/19/14
A: The short answer is yes. During this first application period for deer, elk, pronghorn, fall bear and fall turkey all hunters can submit applications except those who have submitted an application for a moose, big horn sheep or mountain goat. Hunters need to read the rules of application found on ...
5/20/14
A: The convenience fee is collected by the contractor who provides the online license system. The fees they collect go to pay for the software code, system enhancements to keep the site current, the hardware to host the site, all system licenses, system maintenence and printing and mailing items to ...
5/27/14
A: Yes. General season and controlled hunt tags are currently the same price. The only difference is the application fee required to apply for a controlled hunt.
5/29/14
A: Yes, your fishing license is valid for the dates listed on the license, even if you move out of Idaho.  However, if you return to Idaho after you have established residency in another state you must purchase any additional tags and permits at nonresident prices.
5/30/14
A: Yes you will need a hunting license to purchase a wolf tag. Licenses can be purchased via the Internet at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/. over the telephone at 800-554-8685, any license vendor http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/lookupVendors.cfm, or through the mail to any Idaho ...
6/3/14
A: The red fox is classified as a furbearer in Idaho.  In Jefferson County however, there is a year-long hunting and trapping season on them which requires a hunting or trapping license.  Also, if caught in the act of harassing or killing your pets or farm animals, they can also be killed without a ...
6/5/14
A: Yes, you can purchase consecutive 3-day salmon steelhead licenses.  To make this work at a vendor, have them issue the first 3-day license, close the transaction, and then start a new transaction to issue the second licese with the new dates.
6/5/14
A: No license or permit is required to fish for salmon on free fishing day.  All other rules apply such as following the daily bag limit, using a barbless hook and observing the salmon fishing hours.
6/5/14
A: Idaho Parks and Recreation enforces boating rules in Idaho.  What you need are:  a fire extinguisher, properly rated life jackets for all people in your boat, a whistle or horn that can be heard at a distance of 100 feet, and your current boat registration with hull sticker and ID numbers.   If ...
6/6/14
A: Credits to cards used by those who applied via Internet or telesales are being made. Our contractor must manually apply the credit to the card used for the application. This year there are over 2,300 credits to be applied. The contractor who provides our license system will be working through June ...
6/10/14
A: Please send in your small game hunting license with a written request for the refund to: IDFG License SectionP.O. Box 25Boise, ID 83707 Thank you.  
6/12/14
A: The controlled hunt deer, elk, pronghorn, bear, and turkey drawing will be completed and winners notified by July 10th. We're hoping to beat that date, but several things need to fall into place first. Once the results are available, there will be a news release and a note stating the draw results ...
6/12/14
A: The person who hooks (sets the hook) the fish must record it on their permit.
6/13/14
A: Trapping of upland game animals is not a legal method of take.  You can hunt cottontails during the hunting season, but trapping them at any time is unlawful unless they are in your garden or destroying personal property.  You are allowed to control depredations, but you should contact your ...
6/14/14
A: Your friend will need to contact our license section at 334-2592. Thank you.
6/16/14
A: After the super hunt drawing has been completed, our License Section contacts each individual to let them know they have drawn a super hunt tag.
6/17/14
A: Yes, a minor can purchase a license without an adult or guardian being present.  They still need to show a form of identification, but they can buy a license without an adult or guardian.
6/19/14
A: Thanks for your interest in the Buffalo River.  As you note, we have not stocked that reach for over a decade, primarily because angler use of hatchery fish was low there.  The reach is currently supported by natural reproduction of resident trout, and also some fish from the Henrys Fork that ...
6/24/14
A: Only the 3 year licenses are valid for multiple years. All other permits, validations and tags are annual items and expire no later than December 31 of the year they were valid in.
6/25/14
A: Department biologists spend many hours during the months of January, February and early March studying the health of deer and elk populations in the state through aerial surveys, hunter reports and other methods. During this same time frame the biologists also hold public meetings with hunters ...
6/25/14
A: Actually, we've studied going to a 365-day license versus a calendar-year license and we've talked with a number of states that have gone the 365-day route.  There are pros and cons to both. For Idaho, one of the complicating factors is our salmon and steelhead fisheries.  These are seasonal ...
6/25/14
A: Yes, when you go to a license vendor to buy her license, they will ask you "what day(s) would you like the license to be valid?"  They enter the date(s) you provide and it prints on her license. Good luck!  
6/27/14
A: Yes, your Idaho Fishing license is good on all water in Bear Lake except areas closed to both Idaho and Utah anglers.  We actually have a reciprical agreemeent with Utah for this body of water.  Check for signs and additional information.  Also, see page 53 of our Idaho Fishing Rules.
6/30/14
A: Yes they can - but the question is why?  Idaho offers some of the best and most diverse year-around fishing in the western United States and our season licenses are one of the best values in outdoor recreation.  How about trying a season license and keep track of how many different species of fish ...
7/1/14
A: This year the resident general season elk tags went on sale June 25th. We make most of the resident general season tags available when the controlled hunt results are posted to the license system. That means the date can change every year depending on when the controlled hunt drawing is completed ...
7/2/14
A: Please refer to Idaho Waterfowl and Seasons and Rules book.  You may affix the stamp to your license, however, please remember that stamp is good into the new year so remember to keep your old license with stamp attached until the end of the season. Stamps and Validations:• Federal Migratory Bird ...
7/3/14
A: Yes, there are no "free-bees."  You will need to buy and possess in the field a senior license.  If you can prove you've been a resident of Idaho for at least 5 years, it only costs $5.
7/5/14
A: Free Fishing Day only allows a person who can possess a valid license to fish on that day without a license or a salmon permit.  All other rules dealing with daily bag and possession limits, gear restrictions, etc. are still in effect. Even though, you weren't required to record the adult salmon ...
7/6/14
A: Military veterans are required to have Hunter Education to buy a hunting license if they were born on or after January 1, 1975 and they have not held a hunting license from Idaho or another state. The Hunter Education course includes the following subject areas. Firearm handling and safety Hunting ...
7/12/14
A: You will need to complete your lifetime recertification document at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/lifetimeCertificates/ or contact our license section at 208-334-2592. Thank you.
7/13/14
A: Are you looking for a general season mule deer hunt? Tags for those seasons go on sale December 1 for the next license year and can be purchased until the nonresident quota has been filled. (For this year, you can purchase now) If you are looking for a controlled hunt, the first application period ...
7/15/14
A: No, you don't need a Salmon Permit to fish in Lake Coeur d'Alene for Fall Chinook.  The Salmon Permit is only required when fishing for anadromous (ocean-run) salmon.  Land-locked salmon are treated like trout in most waters.
7/16/14
A: Ok, nonresident children (under 14 years of age) can fish for free if they are with a licensed adult (resident or nonresident).  All fish caught and reduced to possession count towards the licensed individual's daily bag limit.  The only exception is, a nonresident youth can buy their own salmon ...
7/16/14
A: We can issue you a Nonresident DAV license in place of your lifetime license so you can receive reduced tag fees.  However, you will need to send us a reminder each year so we know which license to issue to you.  If you have more questions, please contact our licensing section at 208-334-2592.   
7/17/14
A: No.  Nonresident disabled American veterans with a disability rating of 40 percent or more by Veterans Affairs are eligible for nonresident DAV reduced fees for licenses and tags. The nonresident DAV hunting with 3-day fishing license, $31.75, allows the nonresident disabled veteran to purchase ...
7/21/14
A: I was in Pocatello at Edison Fichter pond just yesterday.  Fishing for rainbow trout was very good and several people had their two-trout limit.  Each licensed angler can catch and keep 2 trout.  For resident youth under 14 years of age, they can also catch and keep 2 trout.  Nonresident youth ...
7/23/14
A: When you perform a search on the Internet, your current years purchase history will show up on the license selection page. This information will show you what currently valid items you have purchased.
7/25/14
A: Provided you don't have a provision in any felony conviction that prevents you from owning or possessing a firearm; you've purchase a valid hunting license and tags; and have taken an archery education class or qualify for an archery validation - then you can use your archery equipment ...
7/27/14
A: Thank you for taking the time to ask your question.  Issues involving nuisance wildlife are referred to as depredations.  A landowner with depredations may hire a third party or “agent” to control the wildlife as long as it is in accordance with all federal, state, and local regulations.   For ...
7/27/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game manages all wildlife including game and nongame.  The agency's Wildlife Diversity Program publishes information about Watchable Wildlife, here's a link: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/nongame/?getPage=239 You can find more information about the program on the ...
7/29/14
A: Youth hunts that are not filled in the second drawing can be purchased by those with a senior license or a disabled license through the leftover tag sale starting August 25th at 10 am mountain time. See page 108 in the 2014 big game proclamation booklets.
8/6/14
A: Racoons are classified as preditors in Idaho and can be taken in any amounts and at any time by holders of the appropriate valid Idaho hunting, trapping or combination hunting license, provided such taking is not in violation of state, county, or city laws, ordinances or regulations.  Take care ...
8/7/14
A: Hunters can buy 5 wolf tags per calendar year and 5 trapping tags per calendar year for use in zones with an open trapping season.  A person must attend a wolf trapper education course and have a valid trapping license before trapping wolves.
8/10/14
A: It is your US Constitutional right to keep and bear arms.  Long ago we used to require a hunting license to possess a firearm in the field in Idaho. It was challenged and recinded.  Current Idaho Code restricts the carry of 'concealed' weapons.  If your handgun is not concealed you are in ...
8/13/14
A: Yes as long as the requested transfer meets all of the requirements as described on the transfer form that can be found at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/huntCHtagPermitDesignation.pdf. Please contact our license section at 208-334-2952 if you have additional questions.
8/13/14
A: If you are a resident, you can purchase the tag through the last day of the hunt. If you are a nonresident, you can do the same as long as the nonresident tag quota has not been sold out. For quota information please visit this page for nonresident inforamtion https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content ...
8/13/14
A: Yes, it it legal to possess a taxidermied turtle.  Any paperwork to show legal ownership should be retained if the turtle had license or permit requirements when alive.
8/16/14
A: Who is required to have Hunter Education? To buy a hunting license, all hunters must show proof that they have completed a hunter education course if they were born on or after January 1, 1975, unless they have held a hunting license from Idaho or another state. 
8/18/14
A: Trapping rules and seasons can be found on our website at: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=141 .  Seasons for different species start at different times.  You cannot trap mountain lions legally.  However, you can trap wolves but you must first attend a mandatory wolf trapping ...
8/26/14
A: Yes, you can fish using a rod, reel and lure/bait while under water.  I'm not sure what the advantage would be - but it is legal. We often receive questions about the use of spearguns while diving, to harvest fish.  Only nongame fish can be harvested using archery equipment, spears or mechanisms ...
8/27/14
A: Yes, you can purchase a nonresident hunting/3day fishing license and your bear tag at any vendor location http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/lookupVendors.cfm, on-line at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/ or via telephone at 1-800-554-8685. We also have general season deer and elk tags that ...
8/28/14
A: Not based on the information you have provided. Here is the state law regarding archery permits: Idaho Code 36-411 (b) Archery education. On and after January 1, 1994, no person shall be issued an archery permit unless that person presents to the department a certificate of completion in archery ...
8/28/14
A: Yes, a hunting license is required to purchase any big game tag in Idaho.
8/29/14
A: No, the quality bass rule only applies to the Lake.  The Lowline Canal is a "general rule" limit of 6 bass with a minimum length of 12" Water will be shut-off to the Lowline Canal in just a few weeks.  There will probably be a salvage order that allows unlimited harvest of game fish, providing you ...
8/30/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game has adopted the season recommendation approved by the Pacific Flyway Council and the US Fish and Wildlife Service. These recommendations are the result of a new harvest strategy, which represents a more informative approach to managing harvest of mourning doves as envisioned in ...
9/1/14
A: The statutory definition of fishing from Idaho Code 36-202(k) is: "Fishing - any effort made to take, kill, injure, capture, or catch any fish or bullfrog.”  If what you’re doing falls within this definition, and it sounds like it does, then you need to purchase a license and abide by the rules ...
9/3/14
A: The distribution of fall Chinook salmon in Idaho is very different than that of spring/summer Chinook and steelhead. Fall Chinook are found only in the Snake River downstream of Hells Canyon Dam and the lower portions of the Clearwater River. A few do venture a short distance up the Salmon River ...
9/6/14
A: That might be a limitation of the software or app, as well as the majority of our seasons and rules pages are designed to read horizontally, but some pages are vertical (Elk Zones for example). You can print the rules from your home or hardcopies of the current seasons and rules brochures are ...
9/7/14
A: Exchanging Deer or Elk Tags: Hunters may exchange general season elk tags for use in another zone at any Fish and Game office. Deer hunters may exchange a regular season deer tag for a white-tailed deer tag or a white-tailed deer tag for a regular season deer tag at any Fish and Game office. The ...
9/7/14
A: That is correct.  The Hunting Passport can introduce your child to the hunt as early as age 8 before investing in taking hunter education; but they have to take hunter education to obtain a junior hunting license at age 10.
9/7/14
A: You do not need a hunting license to accompany your friends while video-documenting their hunt.  We hope you enjoy your experience.
9/9/14
A: Yes, you can still hunt chukars during the first five days of the pheasant season.  The code only specifies pheasant.  Here is a copied and pasted section from 36-407: (e)  Nonresident Small Game Hunting License. A license issued only to a person twelve (12) years of age or older, entitling the ...
9/12/14
A: Yes, as long as you personally do not attempt to take an elk.  You do not need a hunting license or tag to accompany and learn from your friend while on their hunt.  For those new to the sport of elk hunting, there's really no better way to learn the safe, ethical and responsible aspects of ...
9/13/14
A: It depends.  If you plan to hunt pheasants on one of the Idaho Department of Fish and Game's Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) where pheasants are stocked, you will need a WMA Upland Game/Pheasant Permit. These are $23.75 for residents and $51.75 for nonresidents.  Each Permit allows the take of ...
9/14/14
A: If you are specifically targeting Eurasion doves you can use a rifle and you must have a hunting license.  Please conduct risk assessments on every shot.  There are huge safety concerns regarding the use of a rifle to take Eurasion doves.  Please ensure there is an appropriate backstop.
9/15/14
A: Our research shows that one reason many nonresidents left the state over the last 5-6 years was due to the down economy. Tourism was down everywhere.  There has not been a resident license fee increase since 2005 though our expenses continue to increase annually. In order to continue to provide ...
9/16/14
A: Yes, your hunting license is also valid for hunting of other game animals and birds, such as coyotes, rabbits, forest grouse, pheasants, etc.  
9/23/14
A: You can only bow hunt for nongame fish (carp, suckers, tench).  All you need is a current Idaho fishing license.  We have no rules on arrow types, weights or tips.  There are also no rules on bows such as let-off or weight.     Some previously posted answers might help here, but don't quite answer ...
9/28/14
A: Yes, your power wheelchair is considered a motorized vehicle. A motorized vehicle is defined as any water, land, or air vehicle propelled by means of steam, petroleum products, electricity, or any other mechanical power as set forth in Section 36-202, Idaho Code. If you possess a disabled hunting ...
9/29/14
A: It would probably be a good idea. You can update your customer information at any vendor while purchasing additional permits or a duplicate license.
10/1/14
A: I remember the college days and trying to make ends-meet.  Everything seemed more expensive back then and I really had to scrutenize all purchases to make sure I was getting the most out of my hard-earned money.  Still, when I look back, my hunting and fishing license allowed me recreational ...
10/5/14
A: Over the counter elk tags are available to both residents and nonresidents. There are a limited amount of elk (and deer) tags available for nonresidents, so get them before they are sold out! We are discounting the second tags for both residents and nonresidents this year and they are selling ...
10/6/14
A: If you possess a big game hunting license, it also covers upland game bird. With the big game hunting license there is not a waiting period on the pheasant season.
10/7/14
A: No you may not use another persons tag. However, the Department does allow the tag to be designated to an immediate family member. Here are some of the requirements for this option. The hunter possessing the tag must have passed away prior to the opening of the controlled hunt. The original tag ...
10/8/14
A: General season tags can be purchased at any time prior to or during the hunting season (they must be purchased prior to hunting) as long as there are tags available in the quota or zone you intend to hunt. The number of tags available to nonresidents can be found at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ ...
10/13/14
A: This is a great question and unfortunately, especially with young hunters, it occasionally happens that they have either lost their license, washed it or just simply cannot find it. Although the license number is on the tag, Idaho Code 36-1201(c) requires that your "License must be .......on his ( ...
10/13/14
A: There are furbuyers in many communities in Idaho and because you did not identify where you lived I cannot be more specific.  You can always google furbuyers in Idaho and find the one closest to you, or you can contact the Idaho Trappers Association info@idahotrappersassociation.com for strategies ...
10/14/14
A: Yes, you can hunt the wounded animal.  However, you will need to comply with all relevant hunting rules such as: open elk season where you are at, correct zone elk tag, lawful hunting hours, don't shoot from or across a public road, and when the animal is harvested, it must be tagged with a ...
10/14/14
A: In Idaho we welcome anyone to attend our Idaho Hunter Education courses. Our course is recognized by all states where hunter education is required. It is important however that you know we teach Idaho game laws. As a hunter you are resonsible for knowing and following the game regulations where ...
10/16/14
A: In past regulation booklets deer youth hunst were restricted to youths age 17 and younger who are eligible to hunt big game by Idaho law. That youth hunt information was missed in the 2014 regulation booklets. It will be put back into the 2015 regulation booklets. For this year the only ...
10/16/14
A: You can fish most public waters with a bow for nongame fish like carp and sucker.  There are however exceptions to protect the public - including within City Limits where they have ordinances prohibiting the discharge of weapons and high use areas where an arrow possess a risk if it skips.  Within ...
10/17/14
A: You didn't mention where your property is but the beaver season begins Oct. 22 or Nov. 1 and runs through March in most of Idaho.  You can get a trapping license and trap beavers on your property or contact a local trapper to do that if beaver trapping is allowed in your area.  You may contact the ...
10/18/14
A: The cost of all hunting and fishing licenses are set by the Idaho legislature.  At the present time, we are not recommending any changes to our license fee structure to the 2015 Idaho legislature.
10/19/14
A: Yes. However, the small game hunting license is not valid for the first five (5) days of the pheasant season. To hunt the first five days of the pheasant season, you would need to purchase the nonresident hunting license.
10/22/14
A: If you've been a resident of Idaho for 6 months - and have proof; you qualify for a resident fishing license.  If you live out-of-state or still claim residency in another state then you need a nonresident fishing license or short-term (1 - 4 day) fishing license.  If you want to fish for salmon ...
10/23/14
A: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife has contracted with a company to mail out the physical Federal Duck stamp. You will need to contact the Amplex corporation at 1-800-889-8871 or duckstamp@amplex.com to provide them with the correct address to send your duck stampe. For Idaho Fish and Game you may contact ...
10/23/14
A: You have a couple of options to choose from. Have your 2015 nonresident lifetime license issued in December or January. After you have meet the six months residency requirements you may purchase resident tags at an IDFG regional office. You can wait to have your 2015 license issued until after you ...
10/24/14
A:   Once you have killed  any species of willdife that requires a tag to hunt (all big game species and turkey) the hunter must immediatley validate  their tag and attach it either to the carcass for most big game species or to the animal's hide for bear, lion and wolf.   The term immediatley  is ...
10/25/14
A: Although very unconventional to use ferrets to flush or take wildlife, it would be legal with a valid hunting license for small game and predators.  
10/25/14
A: As long as you have fulfilled the bow hunter education requirements, you are able to purchase an archery permit at any time during a license year. Based on the hunt information in the 2014 big game regulations, your regular deer tag can be used to participate in an archery only hunt for white- ...
10/26/14
A: Over the years we have received many suggestions from our customers about having the ability to print their license from home. In the spring of 2013 we made a change to our Internet purchase site that now allows hunters and anglers to print their license instead of receiving it in the maile. Per ...
11/3/14
A: You and your son can purchase a hunter's passport at a vendor or through the Idaho Fish and Game Department. The passport exempts you from taking hunter education this year in order to hunt. The passport expires at the end of the calendar year. That means that the next time you come to Idaho to ...
11/4/14
A: You are correct.  There is a moratorium on outfitted waterfowl hunts for licensed outfitters and only those outfitters grandfathered can continue doing so.  However, in 2013 Idaho law was changed to allow private land outfitting/guiding without a license.  Here is the specific language from Idaho ...
11/4/14
A: Possession of a red-tailed hawk requires a falconry license.  Federal regulations regarding falconry state that you must be at least 12 years of age to obtain an apprentice level falconry license.  You will also be required to have a letter of support from a Master or General falconer who is at ...
11/4/14
A: Idaho accepts Hunter Education certification from any State.
11/5/14
A: Anyone can buy tickets for Idaho's Super Hunts. Most of the people who enter are from the US, but every year a handful of entries come from another country.  A hunter from Australia won a moose tag in the 2009 Super Hunt drawing.  Also, since you don't need an Idaho hunting license to enter the ...
11/8/14