Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 201 - 300 of 648 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: Yes, we start selling nonresident OTC tags on December 1 for the next fall's hunting.  You must buy a hunting license and a tag.
4/14/13
A: With the license you get when you are 64 (adult hunting or adult combination, for example)  you can only get the adult priced tags, not the senior priced  tags--even after you are 65.
4/15/13
A: Since you have had a hunting license in Ohio you do not have to take a hunter education course.  The rule is, if you were born after Jan. 1, 1975 you must show proof that you have taken hunter education or that you have held a valid hunting license in another state. 
4/16/13
A: License and tag fees are listed on our website at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/fees/.
4/18/13
A: Any vendor can sell you the archery permit.  Be sure to take your bowhunter education card information with you when you go to the vendor.  If you order online, enter your bowhunter education number in the "Archery Education" space in your demographic information.  When that is filled in you can ...
4/19/13
A: Nonresident prices: You must either have an Idaho nonresident hunting license ($154.75) or an Idaho nonresident combination (hunting and fishing license) $240.00. You must also purchase a bear tag ($186.00).  If you decide to add a turkey to your hunting the cost of the tag is $80.00. We list all ...
4/24/13
A: As of late April of 2013, online purchasers can print some licenses and permits BUT not others.  In this specific case, the hunting and fishing combo license can be printed by the purchaser.  The steelhead permit cannot. Here is more specific information: Some - but not all - licenses and tags can ...
4/26/13
A:   Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “unprotected” and can be hunted and taken all year.  The only unprotected birds in Idaho are English sparrows, Eurasian-collared doves, and feral pigeons.  These species may be taken in any amounts and at any time by holders of the appropriate ...
4/27/13
A: Idaho’s Hunting Passport is a component of Fish and Game’s mentored hunting program. The Hunting Passport allows any first-time hunter, resident or nonresident, age 8 and older to try hunting for one year with an adult mentor without first having to complete an Idaho hunter education course.   ...
4/27/13
A:   You do not need a taxidermy license to work on wildlife you harvested. The law applies to all wildlife. If you are mounting animals that you have not harvested yourself, you must obtain a taxidermy license: Idaho Code 36-601 reads: Any person who at any time within the state of Idaho desires to ...
5/6/13
A: You can get a new trapping license beginning June 1.  Your other license doesn't have to expire first (trapping licenses are fiscal year license because they are considered a commercial license; they are valid from July 1 through June 30).
5/7/13
A: If the 7 year old is not an Idaho resident, they must fish with someone who has an Idaho fishing license. If the child wants to keep their fish, it becomes part of the license holder's catch.   Idaho resident children can fish even if they are with someone who doesn't have a license.  They can ...
5/7/13
A: You can collect and sell shiners and other nongame fish for bait in Idaho as long as you have the appropriate permits. To collect and market bait fish in Idaho, you would need to acquire a Commercial Fishing License from the Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game along with net tags for your gear.  See the ...
5/8/13
A: Resident license fees are listed online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/fees/displayFees.cfm?resType=Resident&feeType=License&feeCategory=   Nonresident license fees are listed online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/fees/displayFees.cfm?resType=Nonresident ...
5/8/13
A: Qualifying for and Purchasing an Idaho Archery Permit To buy an archery permit, all bowhunters must possess a valid hunting license and show proof they have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state ...
5/8/13
A: You must get a duplicate of your fishing license to continue fishing.  All vendors can issue a duplicate.
5/9/13
A: Idaho residents who have lived here at least 5 years can get a senior license beginning on their 65th birthday. 
5/10/13
A: No; there are disease  concerns with  raccoons (rabies) so individuals cannot own a raccoon as a pet.
5/10/13
A: Badgers can be hunted or trapped year round.  You must have the appropriate Idaho hunting or trapping license to do so.
5/13/13
A: You can purchase a license online and print it at home, but the actual tags would be mailed to you.  They go out within 5-7 days of order.  Buying license and tags at an Idaho vendor is a good alternative.  
5/16/13
A: The hunting passport cannot be used to apply for a controlled hunt. A person holding a passport can only hunt in a general season hunt with their mentor.  
5/17/13
A: The deadline to enter this year's first Super Hunt drawing is May 31. With every entry in Fish and Game's Super Hunt drawings, hunters get a chance at winning the hunt of a lifetime, and their entry fee helps support hunter and angler access to and across private lands. The first drawing in June ...
5/17/13
A: Any Idaho vendor can issue a duplicate license.
5/21/13
A: RESIDENTS ONLY - License buyer must present to vendor a letter from SSI, SSDI, or Railroad Retirement board showing person is currently disabled and economically disadvantaged or a signed and completed Certification of Permanent Disability [PDF, 244 KB] form. IDAPA Rule [PDF, 36 KB].
5/22/13
A: May 22, 2013 Idfg closes clearwater from railroad bridge to cherrylane; other sections stay open for jacks   On Tuesday, May 21, the Idaho Department of Fish and Game closed the lower Clearwater River from the Camas Prairie Railroad Bridge in Lewiston to the Cherrylane Bridge to all salmon ...
5/22/13
A: No. 
5/24/13
A: A fishing license is required for anglers 14 and older. A hunting license is available for youth at 10 years old (they can hunt for varmints, turkeys, small game and waterfowl).  At 12 a hunter can hunt for big game.  They must be able to provide that they have passed hunter education.
5/27/13
A: You can bowfish in any body of water as long as it is open to fishing.  Only nongame fish can be taken using a bow.  You must have a fishing license.
5/28/13
A: You can get a regular trapping license without taking a class first, but you CANNOT trap wolves until you have taken a wolf-trapping class. 
5/28/13
A: Hedgehogs are not classified as wildlife in Idaho so Idaho Fish and Game does not have jurisdiction over them.  Check with the Idaho Dept of Agriculture (http://www.agri.idaho.gov/) for more information.
5/29/13
A: You can now look up your Idaho Hunter Education (or Bowhunter Education) number and print out the information from our Website at: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/duplicateprintcards.aspx.  
5/31/13
A: We currently are unaware of any feral pigs or wild hogs in Bruneau.  We had some localized activity a few years ago but have not had any reported after one was removed.  If you are aware of feral pigs in the Bruneau or any area in Idaho and have evidence to support it, please contact the regional ...
6/1/13
A: Yes, we sell those tags over the counter.  The season is Deer Seasons General Archery Regular Tag Unlimited permits 8/30/13-9/30/13 Either-sex Mule and White-tailed Deer Archery    Unit 78   You must purchase an Idaho hunting license, a regular deer tag and an archery validation.
6/3/13
A: The winner must purchase their own hunting license but there is no charge for the tag.
6/4/13
A: Due to Idaho Privacy Laws, we cannot release the names of license holders.  No license is required to purchase a superhunt entry so there isn't any way for entrants to look up their status. Here is information that we released about the first superhunt drawing of 2013: After the first Super Hunt ...
6/4/13
A: A Commerical Fishing license to set more than 5 traps and sell crayfish costs $111.75 for residents and $266.75 for nonresidents.  You then must buy a tag for each trap that costs $3. Note: Commercial Fishing license are on a fiscal year rather than other IDFG licenses that are issued on a ...
6/10/13
A: If you have purchased your 2013 hunting license, you will have to wait until December 1, 2013 to purchase a three year license for 2014 through 2016. Three year licenses expire on December 31 of the third year. For example, A three year hunting license purchased in July of 2013 will expire on  ...
6/12/13
A: From your local regional office ask for a "Disable License Verification" form.  Once your doctor signs the form signifying that you are disabled, you can take that to your local Fish and Game office to purchase a discounted disabled fishing license. F08
6/12/13
A: Possession and Sale of Wildlife Parts: Lawfully harvested wildlife parts – except edible meat from game animals – may be purchased, bartered or sold when accompanied by a written statement showing said wildlife was lawfully harvested. If black bear, mountain lion or gray wolf parts – excluding ...
6/12/13
A: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish   Nongame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and crayfish may be taken only in waters open to fishing; provided the seine or net does not exceed ten (10) feet in length or width, and nets and seines must have three-eighths (3/8) inch square or smaller mesh; and ...
6/12/13
A: Predatory wildlife (raccoon, coyote, jackrabbit, weasel, skunk, and starling) and unprotected wildlife may be legally hunted with an Airgun at any time and in any amount. Cottontail rabbit and Snowshoe hares may be hunted with an Airgun during season (See Upland Game, Furbearer & Turkey ...
6/16/13
A: If you are outside of tribal lands  you must have an Idaho fishing license. 
6/16/13
A: If the child is a resident the adult doesn't have to have a fishing license.  Nonresident children must fish with someone who has a license.
6/16/13
A: You must have a hunting license to hunt in Idaho even on private property.  If you are not an Idaho resident yet you can get a nongame license that will allow you to hunt coyotes.
6/16/13
A: Up to 4 individuals from each species of herp (including rattlesnakes) may be taken and possessed (dead or alive) with a hunting license. They can be kept as pets or killed for hat band or other personal uses. Specific to rattlesnakes: Up to 6 rattlesnake skins may be sold/bartered (new). The take ...
6/18/13
A: Yes, a citation for fishing without a license would show up on a background check of any Fish and Game violations.  
6/19/13
A: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish:   Only five (5) crayfish traps can be fished with a valid fishing license. If more than five traps are used at one time, you must obtain a Commercial Fishing License and trap tags. ngame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and crayfish may be taken only in ...
6/19/13
A: There is a three-day salmon/steelhead permit that costs $37.50 and there is a three-day small game license that costs $35.50.  We also have a daily fishing license that would cost $12.75 for the first plus $6.00 for each additional day.  
6/22/13
A: Resident duplicate licenses are $7.25 and are available from any vendor. (Duplicate tags are also $7.25 but they are only available from Fish and Game region offices and Headquarters).
6/23/13
A: Idaho does not have any kind of permit or license requirement for live-trapping unprotected varmints such as the raccoon.
6/24/13
A: A youth under the age of 14 may fish for salmon without a license and permit BUT in order for them to keep a salmon over 24" in length, it must be recorded on an accompaning adult anglers salmon permit.  If a resident youth wants their own bag limit, they can purchase their own salmon permit (no ...
6/25/13
A: There isn't a special bow-fishing license.  All that is needed is a fishing license. More information: Archery and Spear Fishing: Fishing with a bow and arrow, crossbow, spear or mechanical device, excluding firearms. This type of fishing is permitted only in the taking of bullfrogs and ...
6/25/13
A: Yes.  You must have an Idaho fishing license and can only use this type of gear on nongame fish such as carp and suckers.  More information: Archery and Spear Fishing:  Fishing with a bow and arrow, crossbow, spear or mechanical device, excluding firearms. This type of fishing is permitted only in ...
6/25/13
A: The Idaho hunting license that you purchase to buy your elk tag also covers hunting forest grouse.  You can harvest forest grouse during your elk hunt.
6/26/13
A: Your friend can go with you even if he is not hunting.
6/27/13
A: Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “unprotected” and can be hunted and taken all year. Animals classified as predators in Idaho include coyotes, raccoons, jackrabbits, skunks, weasels, and starling. The most frequently hunted unprotected ...
6/29/13
A: Go to any license vendor and request a "duplicate" license.  The cost is $7.50. F08
6/29/13
A: There is no limit on the number of crayfish you can catch in Lake Coeur d'Alene.  With a fishing license you can only "soak" 5 traps.  Traps must not be greater than 8 cubic feet in volume or no more than 2' high, wide, or long.   F08
6/29/13
A: If you were born after January 1, 1975, you must take hunter education or show proof you have held a hunting license that is valid in another state.  You must purchase an Idaho hunting license to hunt in Idaho.  Then, if you want to hunt big game with archery equipment instead of a rifle, you must ...
7/6/13
A: No.  Controlled hunt tags can only be transferred to a child or grandchild.  More information about this from our website:  Any resident [or nonresident] adult person who possesses any controlled hunt tag may designate the controlled hunt tag to their resident [or nonresident] child or grandchild ...
7/8/13
A: A taxidermy license is not required for buying and selling antlers if you are not mounting them.
7/9/13
A: Yes, when he has completed hunter education he can get his hunting license and go bird hunting.
7/10/13
A: If you are outside city limits and you have a hunting license, you could kill it. If you are not in a position to do that, contact the Fish and Game office in your area to report it.
7/11/13
A: If your license was purchased online, you should have printed it at the time of purchase.  We no longer mail licenses; we still mail tags, however.
7/16/13
A: The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (DHW) has the ability to suspend a person's hunting and fishing privileges if child support is not paid. You will need to check with DHW to see if they have placed a suspension on your privileges to hunt or fish.
7/19/13
A: Up to 4 individuals from each species of herp (including rattlesnakes) may be taken and possessed (dead or alive) with a hunting license. They can be kept as pets or killed for hat band or other personal uses. Specific to rattlesnakes: Up to 6 rattlesnake skins may be sold/bartered (new). The take ...
7/21/13
A: The list will be out in early August (after the first).  Vendors will receive a list on their License machines and the list will be available on the IDFG website.  The application period is August 5-15.
7/22/13
A: You can fish with an unlimited number of rods in Lake Pend Oreille, without a 2-pole permit, while fishing from a boat. Lake Pend Oreille is an exception to our rules on the 2-pole permit.  As part of our effort to recover kokanee in Lake Pend Oreille, we are trying to encourage harvest of lake ...
7/22/13
A: If the areas is not closed for safety reasons, you can spear unprotected nongame fish in the Spokane River provided you have a valid fishing license and the fishing season for game fish is open.  Suckers and tench are considered unprotected nongame fish in Idaho.
7/22/13
A: A hunting license is $154.75 and the wolf tag is $31.75.
7/31/13
A: All vendors can issue a duplicate license.  Duplicates cost $7.25.    
7/31/13
A: Deer and elk--youth hunts are for youth ages 12-17.  An 18 year old cannot participate.
8/1/13
A: You must have an Idaho hunting license to shoot coyotes.  They can be hunted all year.    
8/3/13
A: You can go to any vendor to get a duplicate or you can call 1-800-554-8685.
8/6/13
A: Fires Close Some Backcountry Trails, Roads Fires burning in southwestern Idaho's backcountry will affect access to more than 800,000 acres east of Idaho Highway 21, including hunter access in one popular hunt unit. Hunter with tags for the mule deer controlled hunt No. 1025 in Unit 39 may request ...
8/10/13
A: Fires Close Some Backcountry Trails, Roads Fires burning in southwestern Idaho's backcountry will affect access to more than 800,000 acres east of Idaho Highway 21, including hunter access in one popular hunt unit. Hunter with tags for the mule deer controlled hunt No. 1025 in Unit 39 may request ...
8/14/13
A: Yes, an eleven year old can hunt ducks.  Be sure to add the Idaho Migratory bird permit to their license ($1.75 for residents, $4.75 for nonresidents).  The federal duck stamp isn't required until they are 16.
8/14/13
A: Fires Close Some Backcountry Trails, Roads Fires burning in southwestern Idaho's backcountry will affect access to more than 800,000 acres east of Idaho Highway 21, including hunter access in one popular hunt unit. Hunter with tags for the mule deer controlled hunt No. 1025 in Unit 39 may request ...
8/14/13
A: A nonresident hunting license is $154.75 and the deer tag is $301.75
8/24/13
A: Only if you have a two-pole permit.  With a fishing or combination license, you can only have one apparatus designed to catch fish,  in the water at a time.  With a two-pole permit, you can use two appartatuses actively attempting to take fish - at the same time.   F08
8/25/13
A: Yes, a 17 year old (anyone born after 1975) that has passed Idaho’s or another state’s approved Bow Hunter Ed class, or can prove he has legally archery hunted in another state and has a valid license, tag, and  archery permit can legally hunt alone in Idaho.
9/7/13
A: Yes, all hunting in Idaho requires the appropriate license, permits, and tags. There are certain incentives and programs for landowners who qualify for participation in the Landowner Appreciation Program. To learn more about the LAP program, visit: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/ ...
9/9/13
A: Yes, if you have legally harvested, reported, and have a pelt tag placed on the pelt, and have a completed mortality report form in your possession, you may sell your hide or parts but not the edible meat.  All wolves must be checked at a Fish and Game office to legally be able to sell the parts ...
9/10/13
A: First, on the fire situation in Custer County.  None of the significant fires experienced by Idaho in the summer of 2013 prompted closures in the Salmon/Custer County area.  There have been closures in other parts of the state but the area where your son is hunting was spared.   Ok, our 3-day ...
9/10/13
A: Do you mean a disable hunting license?  Anyone certified as eligible for federal supplemental income (SSI), social security disability income (SSDI), railroad retirement board disability, a nonservice-connected veteran’s pension, or a service-connected veteran’s disability benefit with 40 percent ...
9/23/13
A: Here is the Idaho Department of Fish and Game Commission Refund Rule: IDAPA 13.01.04.600 03. Refunds. The fee for any nonresident license (as defined in Section 36-202(z), Idaho Code) shall not be refunded for any reason except as follows. a. Hunting license and general season deer and elk tag ...
9/24/13
A: Our license system is set-up to accept a passport number in lieu of a social security number.  Use that number with an out-of-country address.   F08
9/24/13
A: Here are some basic rules you need to follow: 1)  Anything with a reel, line, and upto 5 hooks can be used to harvest fish.  Traps (baskets, weirs, etc.) are illegal unless you are trapping crayfish.  You can legally have 5 crayfish traps in the water at once with a valid fishing license. 2) ...
9/28/13
A: Owning real property or paying property taxes within the state of Idaho is not a qualification for residency. Proof of residency is required to buy any resident license. A resident is anyone who has been domiciled in this state with a bona fide intent to make this their place of permanent abode, ...
10/1/13
A: We allow purchasing for a spouse (you may need to prove you're still married) provided all information such as drivers license and address are still current.  An adult can purchase items for their children when the child is not present.  You can purchase licenses or other items for nonresidents ...
10/5/13
A: Although you have a disabled license, you still need to get a seperate permit that makes it legal for you to shoot from a motorized vehicle.  Some people may have disabilities that still allow them to hunt without a motorized vehicle - that's why we don't automatically issue the Motorized Hunter ...
10/5/13
A: Tags are issued to a specific person so the other hunter cannot just use the tag.  The new hunter must purchase their own license and tag.
10/8/13
A: Only if the unit is open for doe hunting and there is no "youth-only" requirement for hunting antlerless deer.  If antlerless hunting in the unit is youth only, a hunter 18 or older cannot kill a doe---whether they have a passport or a regular hunting license.
10/10/13
A: Yes, so long as you have a valid state trapping license and all the state trapping rules, and county, or city laws and ordinances are being followed.  Coyotes are listed as a predator and can be hunted/trapped year-long.  However, coyote pelts are only valuable from November - February and usually ...
10/10/13
A: There is no waiting period in Idaho.  Once you buy your license and tag, you can immediately go hunting (provided the season is open).   Years ago (30+) there was a waiting period of 24 hours to dissuade people from illegally killing a deer or elk and then going to the closest vendor and buying a ...
10/11/13
A: Sorry for the delay in responding.  Yes, all you need to do is show your hunter education card when you purchase your license and tag.  
10/13/13
A: Information about the hunting passport can be found on our website under the license tab or at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/?getPage=332.    
10/13/13
A: As long as you exercise caution when handling the fish and don't cause mortality, you can take a picture with your fall Chinook before releasing.   F08
10/14/13
A: It depends on which license your son has.  If he bought a Jr. Small Game license in January when he was 11, but is now 12 and wants to hunt deer, he will need to purchase a Jr. Hunting License in order to purchase a deer tag.
10/15/13
A: You can get a duplicate from any vendor.  Vendors are listed on our website in the License section.
10/15/13