Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 101 - 200 of 651 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: The answer to your question depends largely on what type of doves you have on your place. Mourning Doves enjoy protection as a migratory bird, and take of them is regulated by the US Fish and Wildlife Service under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act. If these are the birds causing your issues, the ...
4/25/15
A: To purchase an archery permit, all bowhunters must possess a valid hunting license and show proof they have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state, or complete an affidavit to that effect. To buy ...
3/10/15
A: At a minimum you will need to purchase an Idaho non-game hunting license to hunt coyotes in Idaho. If you plan to hunt other small game such as upland game birds or waterfowl in the fall you can purchase the small game hunting license which also allows you to hunt coyotes. Please contact our ...
3/8/15
A: Yes, you are required to have valid Idaho hunting license to hunt coyotes.  You can use a 3-day small game hunting license or a a nongame hunting license, each cost $35.50. As for nonresident military, the only discount we have would be for disabled vets with 40% or higher disability rating.
3/5/15
A:   Provided you are on the water and your boat isn't tied to the Oregon shore while you are fishing - all you need is an Idaho fishing license.  Idaho has a reciprocical agreement with Oregon stating we recognize these reservoirs as being jointly managed and for the benefit of Idaho and Oregon's ...
3/4/15
A: We do allow a spouse to purchase a license for a spouse. Please obtain a photocopy of his valid Idaho driver's license and bring that in when you come to purchase his license.
3/3/15
A: Yes.  Depending on your method of hunting, an appropriate hunting license, tags with appropriate validations (archery or muzzleloader) are  required to hunt deer and elk.  For more information, review the "Licenses, Tags and Permits" section of any of our Seasons and Rules booklets.  A quick call ...
3/2/15
A: I'm glad you mention LEGAL ground squirrels and rock chucks.  Idaho does have ground squirrels that cannot be hunted, see page 48 of our 2014 and 2015 Upland Bame, Furbearer & Turkey Seasons and Rules.  You need a hunting license to hunt any of the wildlife in the Idaho.  If you are a ...
2/28/15
A: A field day is required after completing the Hunter Education course. The field day includes a minimum of 2 hours of classroom instruction on Idaho laws followed by a written examination and field exercise to demonstrate safe firearm handling. Sign up for a field day on our hunter education web ...
2/27/15
A: If your son has completed all the necessary requirements and is certified in hunter education, but he has never purchased a hunting license in any state before, Idaho's Hunting Passport is a great option.  If he has purchased a license before in any state, he is ineligible to purchase a Hunting ...
2/27/15
A: The SW Region is unaware of "a lot" of feral pigs being in SW Idaho by a border.  Some time back (`3-5 years) someone had released feral pigs in the CJ Strike area and efforts were made to remove these feral pigs.  The Department continues to be interested in removing any feral pigs released onto ...
2/21/15
A: Great Question and sometimes difficult to understand when the answer might vary depending on what state you are hunting in.  In Idaho the answer is provided by statute found in Idaho Code 36-401 which states “No person shall hunt trap or fish for or take any wild animal, bird, or fish of this ...
2/20/15
A: Idaho is considered a progressive and influential state when it comes to fish and wildlife management but unfortunately, we only have authority to authorize and manage fishing and hunting privileges within the boundaries of Idaho.  Owyhee Reservoir is well inside the State of Oregon and they ...
2/18/15
A: No, a hunting license is not required to target shoot on public lands.  However, a hunting license is required when in the act of hunting, which is defined as the following: chasing, hunting, driving, flushing, attracting, pursuing, worrying, following after or on the trail of, shooting at, ...
2/17/15
A: Nonresidents may purchase a short term small game license (3 consecutive days $35.50 ea), a nongame hunting license ($35.50), a season small game license ($97.75)  or a big game hunting($154.75) license to hunt jack rabbits. For information about where to hunt you can contact our regional offices ...
1/22/15
A: The current posted Idaho Falls Trapper Education class consists of 2 class periods that are 4 hours in length. Both of these classes are on a Saturday, 1 week apart beginning on the 21st and ending the 28th of February. In general a trapper education class will consist of 8-12 hours of class and ...
1/19/15
A: The upland area you refer to is the Roswell Marsh Habitat Area, the small orange signs are to help show the Fish and Game property boundaries .  Hunting blinds can be constructed of native materials, but digging pits or cutting of vegetation is prohibited as well as using artificial fasteners like ...
1/18/15
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have an upland game permit at this time. To hunt turkeys you will need the appropriate hunting license and the appropriate turkey tag and if drawn in a controlled hunt the controlled turkey permit.
1/18/15
A: That depends.  If you're a nonresident and already have a fishing license, the two-pole permit is an additional $15.50. If you're a licensed resident, the two-pole is $13.75. These prices are as of January, 2015 and are subject to change.
1/16/15
A: Thank you for your suggestion. We will take it under consideration for potential license structure changes.
1/15/15
A: Idaho's license fees are set by legislation. The two licenses (3 Day Salmon/Steelhead and the Daily Fishing) are different types of licenses and have different fees as per the Idaho Code 36-416. Therefore, the daily fishing license purchased for two days (no steelhead permit) would be the $12.75 ...
1/15/15
A: The two-pole permit is only available for a calendar year.  While your three-year combination fishing and hunting license is good for three calendar years, the two-pole permit would need renewed each year.  
1/11/15
A: Thank you for your interest in hunting in Idaho. It sounds like you've found several opportunities and that you have a good understanding of the restrictions.   Here are some things to consider for second tags: There are no guarantees for a second tag (as you mentioned) Second tags are made ...
1/11/15
A: To upgrade to a sportsman's package, you will need to take your license and any other permits and tags to the nearest regional office. There are a couple of rules to upgrading such as if a person has a tag and has harvested an animal with the tag, they cannot upgrade to a sportsman's package. Once ...
1/10/15
A: There are a couple of scenarios: Youth hunters age 8 or 9 can purchase a hunting passport to participate in hunting waterfowl, upland game and furbearers but must hunt with a licensed adult. A person can only puchase a hunting passport once in their lifetime. Youth who have successfully completed ...
1/10/15
A: For this response we will assume you are talking about a picture of your spouses drivers license. We do allow a spouse to purchase a  resident license for their spouse as long as they have met the residency requirements stated in Idaho Code.
1/9/15
A: The three-year license would count as maintaining your license for three years. It is proposed to be a "lock-in" license.
1/9/15
A: Nonresident Tag quotas can be found on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/license/nonresidentTagAvailability. At this time of year these counts are updated every Friday.
1/9/15
A: As a nonresident you have a choice of several license types depending on how many days and times you will be hunting in Idaho. Here is breakdown of three different options you can choose to purchase to hunt waterfowl in Idaho. Nonresident 3 day small game license. Valid for 3 consecutive days ...
1/9/15
A: It can be a tricky situation while packing out an untagged portion of an animal and we appreciate your responsibility in asking for clarification. Here's a quote from a similar question on legally moving a tagged animal: "If you are contacted by an Officer while packing meat off the mountain you ...
1/4/15
A: Game needs to be tagged, evidence of sex left naturally attached to the animal, and if transporting it for another it needs to be accompanied with a proxy statement that includes takers, name, license number, tag number, address,unit of harvest, date of harvest, species type and sex, and phone ...
1/4/15
A: Residents of Idaho are eligible to purchase the sportsman's package license. The price of the sportsman's package license is set in Idaho Law and is $124.25 for all residents. To hunt with a crossbow in archery only hunts an individual must have a current year's archery permit (which is included ...
12/31/14
A: You can purchase the license at any time during the year. We began selling our 2015 licenses on December 1, 2014. The three year license expires on December 31 of the third year. For example if you were to purchase the three year license on January 9, 2015, the license would be valid in January 9 ...
12/28/14
A: In this instance you can take the copy you have to your local Fish and Game office and they can print a duplicate at no additional cost to you.
12/26/14
A: To purchase an Idaho hunting license you must show a previously purchased hunting license OR proof of your Hunter Education certification (card) ONLY IF you were born on or after January 1, 1975. If you were born prior to this date you can purchase a license without showing proof of a license or ...
12/20/14
A: At this time (December 2014), trapper certification is not required for a general trapping license.  However, the Fish and Game Commission may consider a mandatory trapper education course in the near future.  If you are interested in trapping wolves, then wolf trapper certification is required.
12/15/14
A: You can harvest crayfish with just a valid fishing license.  In Idaho, they are considered game fish, so they can be caught whenever a season is open for fishing on that water (even a catch-and-release season).  If you want to use a trap, you can set 5 per licensed angler.  Check the rules for ...
12/9/14
A: If a a private individual were to kill a dog at large it could carry criminal or civil liability.  The Fish and Game director or any peace officer, or persons authorized to enforce fish and game laws are authorized to destroy the dog at large when chasing big game.  Here is the section from Idaho ...
12/7/14
A: On pages 101 and 102 of the 2014 Big game regulations you will find detailed information as to how to properly validate and attach your tag to the Big game animal in your possession.   In short, your tag should be validated by “complete removal of the triangles denoting the month and day” of kill ...
12/6/14
A: Elk populations in northern Idaho are mixed - too few in some areas and too many in others.  Perhaps the most important factor in managing an elk herd is management of cow and calf (antlerless) elk. Where elk herds have declined, Idaho Fish and Game has eliminated anterless elk hunting completely ...
12/4/14
A: The nonresident nongame license is valid for hunting unprotected birds and animals and predatory wildlife of this state.  This license is a good option if you are only interested in hunting coyotes, which are classified as a predator.   You may hunt with another person even if they have a ...
11/30/14
A: The answer to that question depends on the problems they are causing. If they are damaging your property in a monetary way, you have the right to defend your property. If they are simply an annoyance, we can rent you a trap to remove them. Skunks are classified in Idaho as predators. As such, they ...
11/28/14
A: This is a very good question! If a wounded animal is located while hunting and it is still alive nothing would prohibit you from taking the animal and tagging it as your own, as long as you have a valid license, tag and or permit for the same animal and area where you are hunting. The hunter who ...
11/25/14
A: You are correct, in Idaho 7 year olds cannot purchase a hunting license.  But when she turns 8....you can purchase her a Hunter's Passport for $ 1.75 to hunt small game, sold at any vendor.  The carrier of a passport must be with a licensed adult hunter at all times during the hunt....the passport ...
11/22/14
A: Hello, I am the Chief of Enforcement for Idaho Department of Fish and Game.  Please contact us so we can send you a packet of information regarding your question.  208-334-3736 For your reference please review Chapter 6, Title 36, Idaho Code.  http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title36/T36. ...
11/22/14
A: Yes. Deer and elk tags are available over-the-counter in Idaho. However, there are a limited amount. As of this answer, there are fewer than 2,000 of a total of 12,500 deer tags available to nonresidents for 2014. You can find the total remaining tags available online. You'll need your nonresident ...
11/18/14
A: Thanks for your question on moose tags. Right now we are in the process of making recommendations on moose hunting seasons.  We are recommending an increase in the number of moose tags that will be offered in Unit 5.  We'll continue to look at tag numbers in there and continue to increase tags if ...
11/12/14
A: For those species that can be hunted such as bobcat, fox, coyote, wolf, and lion, a trapping license is not required.  We do not have a furbearer license, only a trapping license that is required for trapping furbearers.  Please be sure to check the rules on fox as some counties in the state, i.e ...
11/9/14
A: Yes but only at an Fish and Game office. If you purchase your tags via the Internet, telephone or any license vendor in the state, the system will only offer nonresident tags. Once you have met the requirements to become a resident of Idaho, you can purchase resident tags on your nonresident ...
11/8/14
A: Anyone can buy tickets for Idaho's Super Hunts. Most of the people who enter are from the US, but every year a handful of entries come from another country.  A hunter from Australia won a moose tag in the 2009 Super Hunt drawing.  Also, since you don't need an Idaho hunting license to enter the ...
11/8/14
A: Idaho accepts Hunter Education certification from any State.
11/5/14
A: Possession of a red-tailed hawk requires a falconry license.  Federal regulations regarding falconry state that you must be at least 12 years of age to obtain an apprentice level falconry license.  You will also be required to have a letter of support from a Master or General falconer who is at ...
11/4/14
A: You are correct.  There is a moratorium on outfitted waterfowl hunts for licensed outfitters and only those outfitters grandfathered can continue doing so.  However, in 2013 Idaho law was changed to allow private land outfitting/guiding without a license.  Here is the specific language from Idaho ...
11/4/14
A: You and your son can purchase a hunter's passport at a vendor or through the Idaho Fish and Game Department. The passport exempts you from taking hunter education this year in order to hunt. The passport expires at the end of the calendar year. That means that the next time you come to Idaho to ...
11/4/14
A: Over the years we have received many suggestions from our customers about having the ability to print their license from home. In the spring of 2013 we made a change to our Internet purchase site that now allows hunters and anglers to print their license instead of receiving it in the maile. Per ...
11/3/14
A: As long as you have fulfilled the bow hunter education requirements, you are able to purchase an archery permit at any time during a license year. Based on the hunt information in the 2014 big game regulations, your regular deer tag can be used to participate in an archery only hunt for white- ...
10/26/14
A: Although very unconventional to use ferrets to flush or take wildlife, it would be legal with a valid hunting license for small game and predators.  
10/25/14
A:   Once you have killed  any species of willdife that requires a tag to hunt (all big game species and turkey) the hunter must immediatley validate  their tag and attach it either to the carcass for most big game species or to the animal's hide for bear, lion and wolf.   The term immediatley  is ...
10/25/14
A: You have a couple of options to choose from. Have your 2015 nonresident lifetime license issued in December or January. After you have meet the six months residency requirements you may purchase resident tags at an IDFG regional office. You can wait to have your 2015 license issued until after you ...
10/24/14
A: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife has contracted with a company to mail out the physical Federal Duck stamp. You will need to contact the Amplex corporation at 1-800-889-8871 or duckstamp@amplex.com to provide them with the correct address to send your duck stampe. For Idaho Fish and Game you may contact ...
10/23/14
A: If you've been a resident of Idaho for 6 months - and have proof; you qualify for a resident fishing license.  If you live out-of-state or still claim residency in another state then you need a nonresident fishing license or short-term (1 - 4 day) fishing license.  If you want to fish for salmon ...
10/23/14
A: Yes. However, the small game hunting license is not valid for the first five (5) days of the pheasant season. To hunt the first five days of the pheasant season, you would need to purchase the nonresident hunting license.
10/22/14
A: The cost of all hunting and fishing licenses are set by the Idaho legislature.  At the present time, we are not recommending any changes to our license fee structure to the 2015 Idaho legislature.
10/19/14
A: You didn't mention where your property is but the beaver season begins Oct. 22 or Nov. 1 and runs through March in most of Idaho.  You can get a trapping license and trap beavers on your property or contact a local trapper to do that if beaver trapping is allowed in your area.  You may contact the ...
10/18/14
A: You can fish most public waters with a bow for nongame fish like carp and sucker.  There are however exceptions to protect the public - including within City Limits where they have ordinances prohibiting the discharge of weapons and high use areas where an arrow possess a risk if it skips.  Within ...
10/17/14
A: In past regulation booklets deer youth hunst were restricted to youths age 17 and younger who are eligible to hunt big game by Idaho law. That youth hunt information was missed in the 2014 regulation booklets. It will be put back into the 2015 regulation booklets. For this year the only ...
10/16/14
A: In Idaho we welcome anyone to attend our Idaho Hunter Education courses. Our course is recognized by all states where hunter education is required. It is important however that you know we teach Idaho game laws. As a hunter you are resonsible for knowing and following the game regulations where ...
10/16/14
A: Yes, you can hunt the wounded animal.  However, you will need to comply with all relevant hunting rules such as: open elk season where you are at, correct zone elk tag, lawful hunting hours, don't shoot from or across a public road, and when the animal is harvested, it must be tagged with a ...
10/14/14
A: There are furbuyers in many communities in Idaho and because you did not identify where you lived I cannot be more specific.  You can always google furbuyers in Idaho and find the one closest to you, or you can contact the Idaho Trappers Association info@idahotrappersassociation.com for strategies ...
10/14/14
A: This is a great question and unfortunately, especially with young hunters, it occasionally happens that they have either lost their license, washed it or just simply cannot find it. Although the license number is on the tag, Idaho Code 36-1201(c) requires that your "License must be .......on his ( ...
10/13/14
A: General season tags can be purchased at any time prior to or during the hunting season (they must be purchased prior to hunting) as long as there are tags available in the quota or zone you intend to hunt. The number of tags available to nonresidents can be found at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ ...
10/13/14
A: No you may not use another persons tag. However, the Department does allow the tag to be designated to an immediate family member. Here are some of the requirements for this option. The hunter possessing the tag must have passed away prior to the opening of the controlled hunt. The original tag ...
10/8/14
A: If you possess a big game hunting license, it also covers upland game bird. With the big game hunting license there is not a waiting period on the pheasant season.
10/7/14
A: Over the counter elk tags are available to both residents and nonresidents. There are a limited amount of elk (and deer) tags available for nonresidents, so get them before they are sold out! We are discounting the second tags for both residents and nonresidents this year and they are selling ...
10/6/14
A: I remember the college days and trying to make ends-meet.  Everything seemed more expensive back then and I really had to scrutenize all purchases to make sure I was getting the most out of my hard-earned money.  Still, when I look back, my hunting and fishing license allowed me recreational ...
10/5/14
A: It would probably be a good idea. You can update your customer information at any vendor while purchasing additional permits or a duplicate license.
10/1/14
A: Yes, your power wheelchair is considered a motorized vehicle. A motorized vehicle is defined as any water, land, or air vehicle propelled by means of steam, petroleum products, electricity, or any other mechanical power as set forth in Section 36-202, Idaho Code. If you possess a disabled hunting ...
9/29/14
A: You can only bow hunt for nongame fish (carp, suckers, tench).  All you need is a current Idaho fishing license.  We have no rules on arrow types, weights or tips.  There are also no rules on bows such as let-off or weight.     Some previously posted answers might help here, but don't quite answer ...
9/28/14
A: Yes, your hunting license is also valid for hunting of other game animals and birds, such as coyotes, rabbits, forest grouse, pheasants, etc.  
9/23/14
A: Our research shows that one reason many nonresidents left the state over the last 5-6 years was due to the down economy. Tourism was down everywhere.  There has not been a resident license fee increase since 2005 though our expenses continue to increase annually. In order to continue to provide ...
9/16/14
A: If you are specifically targeting Eurasion doves you can use a rifle and you must have a hunting license.  Please conduct risk assessments on every shot.  There are huge safety concerns regarding the use of a rifle to take Eurasion doves.  Please ensure there is an appropriate backstop.
9/15/14
A: It depends.  If you plan to hunt pheasants on one of the Idaho Department of Fish and Game's Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) where pheasants are stocked, you will need a WMA Upland Game/Pheasant Permit. These are $23.75 for residents and $51.75 for nonresidents.  Each Permit allows the take of ...
9/14/14
A: Yes, as long as you personally do not attempt to take an elk.  You do not need a hunting license or tag to accompany and learn from your friend while on their hunt.  For those new to the sport of elk hunting, there's really no better way to learn the safe, ethical and responsible aspects of ...
9/13/14
A: Yes, you can still hunt chukars during the first five days of the pheasant season.  The code only specifies pheasant.  Here is a copied and pasted section from 36-407: (e)  Nonresident Small Game Hunting License. A license issued only to a person twelve (12) years of age or older, entitling the ...
9/12/14
A: You do not need a hunting license to accompany your friends while video-documenting their hunt.  We hope you enjoy your experience.
9/9/14
A: That is correct.  The Hunting Passport can introduce your child to the hunt as early as age 8 before investing in taking hunter education; but they have to take hunter education to obtain a junior hunting license at age 10.
9/7/14
A: Exchanging Deer or Elk Tags: Hunters may exchange general season elk tags for use in another zone at any Fish and Game office. Deer hunters may exchange a regular season deer tag for a white-tailed deer tag or a white-tailed deer tag for a regular season deer tag at any Fish and Game office. The ...
9/7/14
A: That might be a limitation of the software or app, as well as the majority of our seasons and rules pages are designed to read horizontally, but some pages are vertical (Elk Zones for example). You can print the rules from your home or hardcopies of the current seasons and rules brochures are ...
9/7/14
A: The distribution of fall Chinook salmon in Idaho is very different than that of spring/summer Chinook and steelhead. Fall Chinook are found only in the Snake River downstream of Hells Canyon Dam and the lower portions of the Clearwater River. A few do venture a short distance up the Salmon River ...
9/6/14
A: The statutory definition of fishing from Idaho Code 36-202(k) is: "Fishing - any effort made to take, kill, injure, capture, or catch any fish or bullfrog.”  If what you’re doing falls within this definition, and it sounds like it does, then you need to purchase a license and abide by the rules ...
9/3/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game has adopted the season recommendation approved by the Pacific Flyway Council and the US Fish and Wildlife Service. These recommendations are the result of a new harvest strategy, which represents a more informative approach to managing harvest of mourning doves as envisioned in ...
9/1/14
A: No, the quality bass rule only applies to the Lake.  The Lowline Canal is a "general rule" limit of 6 bass with a minimum length of 12" Water will be shut-off to the Lowline Canal in just a few weeks.  There will probably be a salvage order that allows unlimited harvest of game fish, providing you ...
8/30/14
A: Yes, a hunting license is required to purchase any big game tag in Idaho.
8/29/14
A: Not based on the information you have provided. Here is the state law regarding archery permits: Idaho Code 36-411 (b) Archery education. On and after January 1, 1994, no person shall be issued an archery permit unless that person presents to the department a certificate of completion in archery ...
8/28/14
A: Yes, you can purchase a nonresident hunting/3day fishing license and your bear tag at any vendor location http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/lookupVendors.cfm, on-line at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/ or via telephone at 1-800-554-8685. We also have general season deer and elk tags that ...
8/28/14
A: Yes, you can fish using a rod, reel and lure/bait while under water.  I'm not sure what the advantage would be - but it is legal. We often receive questions about the use of spearguns while diving, to harvest fish.  Only nongame fish can be harvested using archery equipment, spears or mechanisms ...
8/27/14
A: Trapping rules and seasons can be found on our website at: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=141 .  Seasons for different species start at different times.  You cannot trap mountain lions legally.  However, you can trap wolves but you must first attend a mandatory wolf trapping ...
8/26/14
A: Who is required to have Hunter Education? To buy a hunting license, all hunters must show proof that they have completed a hunter education course if they were born on or after January 1, 1975, unless they have held a hunting license from Idaho or another state. 
8/18/14
A: Yes, it it legal to possess a taxidermied turtle.  Any paperwork to show legal ownership should be retained if the turtle had license or permit requirements when alive.
8/16/14
A: If you are a resident, you can purchase the tag through the last day of the hunt. If you are a nonresident, you can do the same as long as the nonresident tag quota has not been sold out. For quota information please visit this page for nonresident inforamtion https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content ...
8/13/14