Questions & Answers

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Displaying 451 - 500 of 895 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: The answer depends on which weapon you are using.  If you are hunting during an any weapon hunt using a high powered rifle (7mm) a bullet with a polymer tip is legal to use for big game hunting.  If you are hunting during a muzzleloader only season you are required to use a patched round ball or ...
8/2/13
A: Deer and elk--youth hunts are for youth ages 12-17.  An 18 year old cannot participate.
8/1/13
A: A hunting license is $154.75 and the wolf tag is $31.75.
7/31/13
A: Unit 4 has hunting seasons for mule deer, elk, bear, moose and wolf.  Please contact the Panhandle Region office for information about animals at 4,000 feet and the prescense of other animals.  Their number is 208-769-1414.
7/21/13
A: Up to 4 individuals from each species of herp (including rattlesnakes) may be taken and possessed (dead or alive) with a hunting license. They can be kept as pets or killed for hat band or other personal uses. Specific to rattlesnakes: Up to 6 rattlesnake skins may be sold/bartered (new). The take ...
7/21/13
A: The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (DHW) has the ability to suspend a person's hunting and fishing privileges if child support is not paid. You will need to check with DHW to see if they have placed a suspension on your privileges to hunt or fish.
7/19/13
A: If your license was purchased online, you should have printed it at the time of purchase.  We no longer mail licenses; we still mail tags, however.
7/16/13
A: You can carry a handgun while rafting.
7/13/13
A: The six-month waiting period for Idaho residency is what is required by law.  There isn't any way around it.
7/12/13
A: Yes.  A big game hunter may use motorized vehicles only on established roadways that are open to motorized traffic and capable of being traveled by full-sized automobiles, unless the hunter falls under one of following exceptions: Holders of a valid disabled person’s motor vehicle hunting permit ...
7/11/13
A: When in doubt, stay on the road.  Know and follow the vehicle use restrictions for the area you are hunting, have applicable maps, and review tips on the Stay on Trails website at http://stayontrails.com.
7/11/13
A: No.  The rule now applies only to hunting of big game animals, including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat, in designated units from August 30 through December 31.  The rule does not apply to upland game animals or birds in hunts within designated units.
7/11/13
A: Only if the use is permissible in the exceptions in the motorized hunting rule.  For example, if motorized travel is allowed by the USFS or BLM, you may use a motorized vehicle to retrieve downed game or pack in or out your camping equipment.  However, you may not hunt while packing camping ...
7/11/13
A: No.  Big game hunters can use motorized vehicles, but only on established roadways which are open to motorized traffic and capable of being traveled by full-sized automobiles.  Successful hunters may use motorized vehicles to retrieve game on public lands where legally allowed by land management ...
7/11/13
A: A hunter is any person engaged in the activity of chasing, driving, flushing, attracting, pursuing, worrying, following after or on the trail of, shooting at, stalking, or lying in wait for, any wildlife whether or not such wildlife is then or subsequently captured, killed, taken or wounded.
7/11/13
A: A full-sized automobile is any motorized vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 1,500 pounds.
7/11/13
A: Idaho statute defines a motor vehicle as any water, land or air vehicle propelled by means of steam, petroleum products, electricity or any other mechanical power.   This includes pickup trucks, jeeps, SUVs, UTVs, cars, three-wheelers, four-wheelers, motorcycles, snowmobiles or other similar ...
7/11/13
A: An established roadway is any road that is established, built, maintained, approved or designated by any governmental entity or private landowner for the purpose of travel by full-sized automobiles.  An established roadway shows evidence of repeated use by full-sized automobiles, and may include a ...
7/11/13
A: Using a motorized vehicle to travel off established roads to transport hunters to and from hunting spots is considered an “aid to hunting.”  The rules do not affect travel on established roads open and capable of travel by full-sized vehicles.  If in doubt, stay on the road.
7/11/13
A: To improve clarity of the rule and help both hunters and other motorized recreationalists understand where and when the rule applies.  Previously, the rule could have applied to hunting big game, upland game animals and upland game birds in specific hunts within designated units.  Now, the new ...
7/11/13
A: The name changed to Motorized Hunting Rule to make it clear that this rules applies to hunters using motorized vehicles as an aid to hunting.  The rule is now specific only to hunting of big game animals, including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat, in designated units, and only applies from ...
7/11/13
A: If you are outside city limits and you have a hunting license, you could kill it. If you are not in a position to do that, contact the Fish and Game office in your area to report it.
7/11/13
A: Yes, when he has completed hunter education he can get his hunting license and go bird hunting.
7/10/13
A: You can salvage roadkill any time of year: By notifying the Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game within 24 hours and completing reporting requirements within 72 hours (to obtain a free permit), Idaho residents and nonresidents can now recover and keep wildlife species classified as upland birds, upland ...
7/8/13
A: The objective of the Super Hunt is to raise funds to help pay for the Access Yes! program.  Access Yes! compensates landowners across the state to open up their private property to hunting, fishing and wildlife dependent recreation. The Super Hunt is a raffle and is open to anybody wishing to ...
7/8/13
A: If you were born after January 1, 1975, you must take hunter education or show proof you have held a hunting license that is valid in another state.  You must purchase an Idaho hunting license to hunt in Idaho.  Then, if you want to hunt big game with archery equipment instead of a rifle, you must ...
7/6/13
A:   We have not changed the law--there is no minimum caliber as long as you are NOT using a rimfire weapon.  (See muzzleloading equipment exception below). In any hunt, including any-weapon seasons, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals: • By any means other than approved firearms, ...
7/3/13
A: There are no prohibitions in Fish and Game Code preventing you from carrying a firearm while archery hunting. Idaho does not require the wearing of hunter orange to hunt game, except: all upland game bird and upland game animal hunters are required to wear visible hunter orange (a minimum of 36 ...
6/30/13
A: Fish and Game encourages all hunters to “Ask First” before hunting on private property to respect the property rights of others.  Our actions as hunters influence landowners' support for wildlife and public access.  Idaho Code Section 36-1603 defines  "cultivated" as "soil that is being or has ...
6/29/13
A: Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “unprotected” and can be hunted and taken all year. Animals classified as predators in Idaho include coyotes, raccoons, jackrabbits, skunks, weasels, and starling. The most frequently hunted unprotected ...
6/29/13
A: Please check with the public land management agency regarding placing bait on public land. Here is information about baiting a site before the season and then hunting the site later for deer and elk after the bait is removed: Idaho hunting rules prohibit the use of bait, including salt in any form ...
6/27/13
A: Your friend can go with you even if he is not hunting.
6/27/13
A: The Idaho hunting license that you purchase to buy your elk tag also covers hunting forest grouse.  You can harvest forest grouse during your elk hunt.
6/26/13
A: Yes, salt does attract deer.  Here is information about using salt to attract big game animals in Idaho for the purpose of baiting animals: Hunting rules vary from state to state.  Idaho hunting rules prohibit the use of bait, including salt in any form (liquid or solid) in the hunting/taking of ...
6/26/13
A: In the area described below, the Hagerman WMA is closed to waterfowl hunting.  Youth cannot hunt there either EXCEPT during IDFG sponsored youth waterfowl hunts.  Contact the Magic Valley Region office for information about these sponsored events.  Their phone number is 1-208-324-4359.   Areas ...
6/24/13
A: Resident duplicate licenses are $7.25 and are available from any vendor. (Duplicate tags are also $7.25 but they are only available from Fish and Game region offices and Headquarters).
6/23/13
A: Possession and Sale of Wildlife Found Dead:  Big game animal parts, such as hides, horns – except horns from bighorn sheep – bones, antlers and teeth, of deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, mountain goat, black bear, mountain lion and gray wolves that have died of natural causes, including legally ...
6/19/13
A: Yes, a citation for fishing without a license would show up on a background check of any Fish and Game violations.  
6/19/13
A: Up to 4 individuals from each species of herp (including rattlesnakes) may be taken and possessed (dead or alive) with a hunting license. They can be kept as pets or killed for hat band or other personal uses. Specific to rattlesnakes: Up to 6 rattlesnake skins may be sold/bartered (new). The take ...
6/18/13
A: You must have a hunting license to hunt in Idaho even on private property.  If you are not an Idaho resident yet you can get a nongame license that will allow you to hunt coyotes.
6/16/13
A: Predatory wildlife (raccoon, coyote, jackrabbit, weasel, skunk, and starling) and unprotected wildlife may be legally hunted with an Airgun at any time and in any amount. Cottontail rabbit and Snowshoe hares may be hunted with an Airgun during season (See Upland Game, Furbearer & Turkey ...
6/16/13
A: No; archery hunting requires a class or experience.  If a person has archery experience, they have hunted before and they don't qualify for the hunting passport.
6/15/13
A: If you have purchased your 2013 hunting license, you will have to wait until December 1, 2013 to purchase a three year license for 2014 through 2016. Three year licenses expire on December 31 of the third year. For example, A three year hunting license purchased in July of 2013 will expire on  ...
6/12/13
A: The rules for this are up to the landowner or land manager such as BLM, Forest Service or Idaho Fish and Game.  Contact the land management agency for that information.
6/11/13
A: Several years ago, evidence of sex rules were specific to the hunt. In other words, in an either-sex hunt there was no requirement for evidence of sex; while in sex-specific hunts there was the requirement. Depending on the year, and the hunting season, the evidence-of-sex requirement did or did ...
6/10/13
A: The winner must purchase their own hunting license but there is no charge for the tag.
6/4/13
A: Yes, we sell those tags over the counter.  The season is Deer Seasons General Archery Regular Tag Unlimited permits 8/30/13-9/30/13 Either-sex Mule and White-tailed Deer Archery    Unit 78   You must purchase an Idaho hunting license, a regular deer tag and an archery validation.
6/3/13
A:   Several years ago, evidence of sex rules were specific to the hunt. In other words, in an either-sex hunt there was no requirement for evidence of sex; while in sex-specific hunts there was the requirement. Depending on the year, and the hunting season, the evidence-of-sex requirement did ...
6/3/13
A: The hunting passport is a one-time only item.  It DOES NOT substitute for hunter education.  The person holding it must get their hunter education taken before they can hunt again.
6/1/13
A: A fishing license is required for anglers 14 and older. A hunting license is available for youth at 10 years old (they can hunt for varmints, turkeys, small game and waterfowl).  At 12 a hunter can hunt for big game.  They must be able to provide that they have passed hunter education.
5/27/13