Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Displaying 251 - 300 of 894 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: If you are not hunting, a hunting license is not required.  
5/1/14
A: In short-range weapon hunts, you may use any of the following when hunting with a muzzleloader:  pelletized powder, sabots, magnifying scopes, 209 primers, closed breach, and projectiles made of some or all non-lead material.
4/29/14
A: Hunter education is required for everyone getting a hunting license in the state of Idaho who was born January 1, 1975 or later.  A concealed weapons permit is not a replacement for a hunter education course.
4/28/14
A: You must purchase a hunting license and a regular deer tag.  They are both sold over-the-counter so you can purchase them when you want after July for fall hunting.  The deer tag is valid for any general season hunt, including unit 27. The season dates for unit 27 are September 15-October 31.  It ...
4/27/14
A: This violation is a misdemeanor.  The penalties include a fine that can range from $25.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs and may include jail time up to six months.  The magistrate may revoke fishing, hunting and/or trapping privileges for up to three years.  If an animal is involved there is an ...
4/26/14
A: You must check with the land management agency about parking/camping permits.
4/26/14
A: This is a question for a land management agency (Forest Service or BLM).
4/26/14
A: Cam, Thanks for the question on the 2-zone tag for elk and what is the plan for implementation for such a option? The Idaho Fish and Game Commission approved the Elk Management Plan in January. The next step is to begin to implement the plan. The 2 zone tag system was one of the concepts developed ...
4/24/14
A: We obtain the age of harvested wolves by counting the annular "rings" from a cross-section of the teeth (much as with aging a tree).  We accumulate teeth for aging over the course of the season, submitting them to an external lab about this time of year.  Thus we have no ages of 2013-2014 wolves ...
4/24/14
A: This depends on the age of the hunter, hunting license requirments, what is being hunted, and where the hunting occurs.  This question is too broad to answer in this format.  Please return to our website for specific rules and regulations regarding weapon restrictions.
4/23/14
A: No...the bag and possession limits for turkeys state that: The daily bag limit is one bearded turkey per day in the spring and one turkey (either sex) per day in the fall, except in Units, 1, 2, 3 and 5 where 5 turkeys (either sex) may be taken in a day during fall seasons. No more than two ...
4/23/14
A: Turkey distribution in Unit 73 is patchy and linked to available forage and water, which may vary from year to year.  A good place to start hunting for turkey in this unit may be the Malad face near a couple of feed lots south of Malad.  Turkeys have also been observed near Weston Reseroir and ...
4/22/14
A: Please check the Hunter Passport information on our website, paying attention to the questions/answers at the bottom of the page (https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/?getPage=332). The key is the age.  At ten, holders of the hunting passport can hunt turkeys and varmints, upland game ...
4/16/14
A: The 2014 Big Game Rules are posted on our website.  From our front page you can find the link in the "Features" box on the left side of the home page.  Please try the link in that box instead of the link you list in your question details.
4/10/14
A: Basically, you only have to replace the items you need to (and want to). Before July the deer and elk tags have not been designated yet; when you decide the specific zone or type of tag you want you can go to any vendor to get a deer or elk tag.  All vendors can issue these along with salmon and ...
4/7/14
A: The IDFG Wildlife Department decided to not go ahead with that at this time (2014).
4/7/14
A: If IDFG has opened a particular hunt for the hunting of antlerless animals, the person with a superhunt tag can only hunt for and harvest an antlerless animal in that hunt.  The superhunt tag does not allow the hunter to make up their own hunt rules.
4/6/14
A: The use of rim-fire cartridges is prohibited for hunting big game in Idaho.  There are no other restrictions including you are allowed to use 223 caliber rifles.  We do recommend hunters use well constructed bullets with enough energy at impact to make a clean kill.  Depending on the bullet weight ...
4/4/14
A: This is being answered in April, 2014.  It may be that the signage you see now applies now and may change when waterfowl season comes around in early fall.  Please check with the Southwest Region office for up-to-date information next fall.  Their number is 208-465-8465.
3/31/14
A: A deer cannot be taken with an elk tag in Idaho. Only an elk (or bear, wolf or mountain lion if the seasons overlap) can be taken with an elk tag.
3/31/14
A: Nonresidents who only want to hunt ground squirrels, varmints and coyotes can use the nongame license to do so.  Be sure that the ground squirrels you are hunting are not protected.
3/31/14
A: The minutes of commission meetings are not posted until they are approved at the next commission meeting.  The March 2014 meeting minutes will be posted after the May 2014 meeting takes place and the March minutes are approved.  
3/27/14
A: The Idaho Fish and Game Commission periodically reviews equipment rules to ensure they are still reasonable, easy to abide by, necessary to meet species management objectives, and consistent with current technology.  From 2006 to 2009, the Commission conducted a thorough review of archery ...
3/27/14
A: A hound permit is required when pursuing raccoons and foxes with dogs.  It is NOT legal to hunt raccoons and fox using dogs unless you have the hound permit.
3/25/14
A: The nonresident license that costs $154.75 allows you to hunt any game (big game, upland game, upland game birds and waterfowl) that is legal to hunt plus varmints and unprotected species.  Big game and turkey hunting requires the addition of a tag for the animal to be harvested.  
3/25/14
A:  Places to hunt that are fairly close to Rexburg would be Moody Creek area west of Rexburg.  Up above the agricultural land in Unit 64 and into forest service is a good place to start.  Relay ridge road is a good access road to many good spots but may be dealing with snow for a while.  I would ...
3/25/14
A: The 2014 legislature approved changing the minimum age to hunt big game from 12 down to 10.  This goes into effect on July 1, 2014.  The 2014 fall big game hunts will be affected.
3/19/14
A: Reign broadheads are considered a barbed broadhead and are not legal for hunting big game in Idaho.  A barbed broadhead is defined as a broadhead which has any portion of the rear edge of the broadhead forming an angle less than ninety (90) degrees with the shaft or ferrule.
3/19/14
A: Assuming you are interested in using a bow or spear to catch fish; here are the details: Spear Fishing in Idaho You must have an Idaho fishing license if you are 14 or over. Archery and Spear Fishing is defined as: Fishing with a bow and arrow, crossbow, spear or mechanical device, excluding ...
3/18/14
A: Battery operated sights, including those made by Eotech, are legal to hunt turkeys with in Idaho.  However, if the sight casts a light, including laser light, it is not legal to hunt with.
3/18/14
A: To hunt during an archery-only season or archery-only controlled hunt, you will need an archery permit.  To purchase an archery permit, you must possess a valid Idaho hunting license and show proof you have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed ...
3/17/14
A: Hunting varmints in the Hagerman Valley is a favorite spring pastime. Marmots, often called rock-chucks, are prolific in the area. Hunting of these critters requires only a few things: 1.) You must have a valid hunting license, 2.) You must be on property that you have the right to be on, (public ...
3/17/14
A: No.  The age change (to 10 years old) doesn't go into effect until July 1, so a 10 year old cannot apply in May/June application period in 2014.    
3/16/14
A: A hunting passport is valid for a calendar year. If you have purchased a hunting passport for this season (2014), there is no need to purchase a hunting license. The license system has been set up to not allow you to purchase a hunting license if you hold an active hunting passport. IDFG does ...
3/16/14
A: Hello, Thank you for your inquiry.  A resident Hunting License is $12.75.  A nonresident Small Game Hunting license is $97.75, and a nonresident Nongame Hunting license is $35.50, however, a nonresident hunter cannot use a Nongame license for this, they must use at least the Small Game Hunting ...
3/12/14
A: Idaho has a Hunter's Passport that allows a person who has never hunted before (anywhere) to hunt with a mentor.  The cost of the permit is $1.75.  The mentor must have an Idaho hunting license.  The details about what is allowed with the hunting passport is on our Website at https://fishandgame. ...
3/11/14
A: To hunt in an archery-only big game hunt in Idaho you must be able to prove that you have taken an archery-only education course or have hunted in an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state.  If you have fulfilled either of these requirements but you no longer have the proof, you can sign a ...
3/10/14
A: Here is some information on sage-grouse and hunting: In 2010 the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) concluded that listing the greater sage-grouse range-wide as a threatened or endangered species was warranted, but precluded by higher priority listing actions.  Therefore, sage-grouse are a “ ...
3/10/14
A: The bottom line is, releasing pen-raised pheasants does not help the wild population.  Game farm pheasants are too distant from their wild relatives to survive - they don’t have the survival skills that wild birds have to avoid traffic, find food, and hide from predators.  The Department studied ...
3/10/14
A: According to the details of your question, she will be accompanying you while you hunt, but she will not be hunting.  Since she is not hunting, she is not required to have a hunting license.
3/9/14
A: You can carry a weapon even if you are not hunting.
3/5/14
A: No.  Pheasants are not planted there so the WMA permit is not required. Hunting for pheasants on the nine Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) listed below requires a WMA Upland Game Bird Permit. The WMA Permit allows the take of six pheasants. Idaho Department of Fish and Game releases pheasants at ...
3/3/14
A: Assuming a birthdate of May 1 for pups, during the current wolf hunting season, which opened July 1, 2013, 146 wolves were taken by December 1 of that year (representing 7 months from the May 1 birthdate).  Idaho Fish and Game asks employees who are checking in harvested wolves and completing Big ...
3/2/14
A: Nonresidents can purchase a bear tag over-the-counter without purchasing a deer or elk tag.  You do, however, have to purchase an Idaho hunting license.
3/1/14
A: Some squirrels can be hunted, while others are protected.  For those legal to hunt you must have a hunting license and there are no tag, season or bag limit requirements. Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals (Species okay to hunt)Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “ ...
3/1/14
A: Idaho does offer some youth only elk hunting opportunities for the 2014 season. These youth hunts are all Antlerless Only. We do not offer any controlled antlered youth elk hunts at this time. What Idaho does do for youth elk hunters is allow them to hunt both the A and B seasons on one tag in elk ...
2/27/14
A: Please refer to our rules for additional information regarding weapon restrictions. For Big Game. No person shall take big game animals with any rimfire rifle, rimfire handgun or any muzzleloading handgun, EXCEPT for mountain lion and trapped gray wolf. For unprotected species. No person hunting ...
2/25/14
A: This question has been asked similarly, please refer to: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/question/ive-heard-i-can-get-permi...
2/24/14
A: It is unlawful for any person to hunt any animal or bird except raccoon by the aid of a spotlight, flashlight or artificial light of any kind. The act of casting or throwing, after sunset, the beam or rays of any spotlight, headlight or other artificial light capable of utilizing six (6) volts or ...
2/23/14
A: Yes, you can use a rangefinder while bow hunting big game in Idaho.  It cannot be attached to the bow. The rule states; No person shall take big game animals with any electronic or tritium-powered device attached to, or incorporated into, an arrow, bolt, crossbow, or bow (except nonmagnifying ...
2/22/14