Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 501 - 600 of 995 questions
Question Asked
A: There is not enough information provided to give a definitive answer whether all the elements of the crime of interferring with lawful hunting exist. If you have more specific information as to when and where this occured and a desription of the persons and/or vehicles involved, please report them ...
A: Without knowing what species you are asking about, the answer here will be specific to elk only. If you purchase an OTC elk tag for the Middle Fork Zone, which includes unit 27, you may hunt any unit in that zone (20A, 26 or 27). Those are the only units that you may hunt with a Middle Fork Zone ...
A: Yes, nothing in Idaho Code, Law or rule prohibits you from carrying a firearm. In fact Idaho Code 36-401 (g) states: Nothing contained herein shall be construed to prohibit citizens of the United States who are residents of the state of Idaho from carrying arms for the protection of life and ...
A: The use of lead shot to hunt waterfowl is a misdemeanor offense under Idaho Code. Magistrate courts impose sentences under the guidelines set by Idaho Code. Fish and Game misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of $25 to $1000 plus court costs, up to 60 days in a county Jail with the possibility of ...
A: Seasons for 2014 will not set by the Fish and Game commission until their meeting on March 20. We'll have that information posted on the website a.s.a.p. after that meeting.    
A: Seasons for 2014 will not set by the Fish and Game commission until their meeting on March 20. We'll have that information posted on the website a.s.a.p. after that meeting.  
A: Usually when a depredation occurs U.S.D.A. Wildlife Services is called to remove wolves.  Your best bet to find a possible landowner that might be interested in allowing you to hunt wolves on their property would be to contact Wildlife Services at 208-378-5077; or contact your local IDFG regional ...
A: Yes. You will need to go to a Fish and Game Regional or Headquarters office to change your license from a combination license to the sportsman's package.
A: Planting a food plot is legal in Idaho, just like gardening or farming.  You may want to consider your objectives and what is possible to grow there before deciding what to plant. It would be okay to hunt over if it left alone and completely unharvested, or if it has been completely harvested ...
A: Thank you for your question about filing your hunter report for your deer tag. We try to keep the reporting forms as simple as possible, short and sweet. But sometimes, it is TOO short.  Sometimes we wish we had put more instructions on the online forms. Maybe next year. --If you hunted with rifle ...
A: Yes, when hunting coyotes in Idaho you need a hunting license.
A: The next time you go to purchase a license, tag or permit, please have the vendor update your email address. This will update your email address in our the license system and our license buyer database. Thanks.  
A: The Idaho Department of Fish and Game will honor the item(s) you purchased while a resident of Idaho for the length the item(s) is valid. As a reminder you cannot own resident licenses in more than one state (the exception being active military personnel).
A: The US Airborne Hunting Act, 16 USC 742j-1 regulates airborne hunting. The Act allows for certain airborne hunting to be permitted. In Idaho, the Idaho Dep't of Agriculture administers and permits aerial control of coyotes and other listed predatory wildlife. Here is a link to their rules: http:// ...
A: The Idaho Department of Fish and Game (IDFG) requires a hunting license to be purchased by both residents and nonresidents prior to applying for a controlled hunt. Neither group receives a refund of the license fees once the license has been used to apply for a controlled hunt. IDFG does offer ...
A: The Idaho Department Fish and Game (Department) has looked at the concept of a 365 day license. After researching this concept, the Department has made the decision to keep licenses based on a calendar year.
A: At this time we are only offering 3 year licenses for hunting, fishing and combination hunting and fishing. Tags and permits are still valid for one (1) calendar year. 
A: Harvest of females often is counter-intuitive to many hunters.  Many people tend to think that more females is always good because they are the breeders and will produce more young.  In some people's minds there can never be enough deer, or at least there aren't enough deer right now.  In fact, ...
A: To hunt during an archery only season or archery only controlled hunt, you will need an archery permit.  To purchase an archery permit, you must possess a valid hunting license and show proof you have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an ...
A: A spotlight permit is available through your IDFG regional office. It is titled "Permit to Hunt With Artificial Light", and the cost is $1.75. Typically these permits are issued by the Regional Conservation Officer or regional Supervisor for the area. These permits are not readily given out ...
A: For those individuals who have a lifetime certificate and want to purchase the sportsman's package license, Idaho Department of Fish and Game (IDFG) reduces the amount the individual pays for the sportsman's package by the amount of the certificate/license type they have already paid. For example ...
A: You have a few different questions.  The earliest deer hunt in 2014 occurs in August, but it is not the best hunt.  There are many equally excellent big buck hunting units in the state that are Controlled hunts.  You can look at the success rates and number of 4 or 5 points in the harvest by ...
A: You only need an archery permit to hunt during an archery-only season. There are no "archery-only" turkey hunts, just general and controlled hunts.   To hunt turkeys with a bow during a general season, you need 2 items:  a turkey tag and a valid nonresident license (3 license options: 1.  Hunting ...
A: You do not need to take Bowhunter education to hunt in a general any weapon season, only for archery only seasons.  You also do not need to get an archery permit for general hunt, only archery only hunts.  However, you need to show proof that you have completed a hunter ed course if you were born ...
A: Yes, there is a IDFG Commission rule that allows for a person to apply for a permit to us a non-magnifying scope on your muzzle loader for use during a muzzle loader only big game season. Here is a link to the application and other information.   APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL WEAPON REASONABLE ...
A: We don't publish the release dates because they are not always the same, and because it will reduce crowding if not everyone knows.  The WMA managers try to mix it up some on timing and location to spread out harvest.  We cannot stock more than once or twice a week because it is so expensive.  ...
A: A hunting license is required to hunt anything in Idaho including coyotes.
A: Yes. However, as infrared light scopes are a source of artificial light, the laws and rules of hunting with an artificial light apply. A permit to hunt predartory and unprotected wildlife with an artificial light on public lands is available at IDFG regional offices. To hunt on private land with ...
A: You do not need a hunting license to accompany your relative on a hunt.  We hope you enjoy your experience.
A: First, "thank you" for coming to Idaho to hunt and fish.    Sorry about the confusion.  The addition of a three-day fishing license to a nonresident hunting license is new and not all staff understand the rules.   The three-day fishing license does not allow you to purchase a salmon or steelhead ...
A: University of Idaho's archery course does not meet Fish and Game's curriculum requirements - it’s more about shooting techniques.  Fish and Game's course is geared for archery hunting  and includes hunter ethics, shot placement and recovery techniques, safety, distance judging, outdoor suvival and ...
A: For more information on the possession and sale of wildlife found dead, see page 75 of the 2012 Big Game Seasons and Rules booklet which states, “Parts of big game species – hides, horns, bones, antlers, elk teeth, bear, lion and wolf parts – may be recovered and possessed for personal use if the ...
A: Yes. The requirement for open sites is restricted to muzzle loader only hunts. In short range and any general weapon hunt, the restrictions for muzzle loader are limited to a minimum of.45 caliber for deer, pronghorn, lion, and wolves, and a minimum of .50 caliber for elk, moose, big horn sheep, ...
A: The only season currently open for deer in Unit 60A is an archery-only season for holders of a Regular Deer Tag or Whitetail Deer Tag.  This season runs from November 1 – December 19.   Are you referring to harvesting a doe in a youth only general season (as listed on page 16 of the Big Game Rules ...
A: Thanks for your feedback.  There is not proposed legislation at this time, but we will keep your comment in mind as we discuss this program with legislators and other parties.
A: Thank you for your question.  Due to the sensitive nature of the information involved in your request, please contact IDFG Licenses at 208-334-2592 and we will be happy to assist you further.
A: Fire closure information for Unit 39 may be found here
A: Sorry to hear you didn't have better hunting.  We stocked 3500 pheasants at Fort Boise this last season, which is more than any other WMA in the region. Of the 22 separate releases, ten were done on Fridays throughout the season, which was assumed to provide some opportunity on Saturday as well.  ...
A: Tricky question.  Most of our doe hunts are controlled.  If you drew a controlled hunt for doe deer you cannot use it in any other hunt. If you purchased a general deer tag you can use it in general any weapon seasons and general archery only seasons (archery permit required when hunting in an ...
A: Every year we get these comments and we have difficulty determining what is being described.  The Department of Fish and Game does not own any aircraft.  We contract out to pilots to conduct our telemetry surveys.  We have radio collared animals all across the state and usually pilots will conduct ...
A: General hunting information is available for Farragut and other Wildlife Management areas in North Idaho here:
A: The killing of feral cats is so much more than a simple legal question and answer. It may be legal when protecting your property, such as feral cats engaged in the taking of your livestock or even pets. Taking a feral cat in the wilds of Idaho would require a valid hunting license. However, there ...
A: Exclusive control lease lands are either state or federal lands leased primarily for geothermal, mineral, gas or oil exploration, solar, or other uses where public access and use is not allowed as a condition of the lease.  Such areas/sites are relatively small and limited when compared to all ...
A: Sorry for the delay in responding to your question. This is a tough question. Probably the best source of helpful information on the things you mentioned would be a sporting good store.
A: Yes, you can hunt big game in unit 53 with a short-range weapon.  The Hagerman Wildlife Management Area was purchased using sportsman's dollars for the intent of hunting.  Although, it is generally closed for waterfowl hunting, it is open to all other hunting related activities.   F08
A: Sorry for the delay in responding to your question.  To purchase an Idaho hunting license, all hunters must show proof that they have completed a hunter education course if they were born on or after January 1, 1975, unless they have held a hunting license from Idaho or another state.  Your Utah ...
A: Certain species of ground squirrels can be hunted in Idaho.  The most commonly hunted varmints in Idaho are the Columbian Ground Squirrel and the Yellow-bellied Marmot "Rockchuck".  There is a page in our Upland Game Rules that talks about squirrels and contains a link to a field guide. Do not put ...
A: Idaho Code and Idaho Fish and Game commission rules do not prohibit the use of two way radios for hunting big game, EXCEPT, Idaho Code prohibits the use of aircraft to spot or locate game and communicate the location to any person on the ground. Idaho Code 36-1101: 3. Communicate from Aircraft. ...
A: Idaho doesn't require that you wear hunter orange while big game hunting.  It is required if you are hunting upland birds on WMAs where we plant pheasants.  
A: We don't require trapper education; you can purchase a trapping license without taking trapper education.  Trapping licenses are only available through IDFG offices (or you can fill out the trapper license application and mail it to one of the offices noted on the form which is online at https:// ...
A: If you wish to make any changes to rules or offer suggestions for rule changes, the best approach is to talk to your regional fish and game biologist and manager at the regional office closest to you.  They will discuss with you the biological reasons for their rules and proposals, and you can ...
A: It depends on which license your son has.  If he bought a Jr. Small Game license in January when he was 11, but is now 12 and wants to hunt deer, he will need to purchase a Jr. Hunting License in order to purchase a deer tag.
A: Hunting Hours  Big game animals may be hunted only from one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.
A: Information about the hunting passport can be found on our website under the license tab or at    
A: If you are drawn for a superhunt tag, it is in addition to whatever regular season or controlled hunt you already have (or obtain) for the year. could take 2 elk for that season.  
A: No, every hunter who hunts for big game or turkey must have their own tag.
A: There is no waiting period in Idaho.  Once you buy your license and tag, you can immediately go hunting (provided the season is open).   Years ago (30+) there was a waiting period of 24 hours to dissuade people from illegally killing a deer or elk and then going to the closest vendor and buying a ...
A: Only if the unit is open for doe hunting and there is no "youth-only" requirement for hunting antlerless deer.  If antlerless hunting in the unit is youth only, a hunter 18 or older cannot kill a doe---whether they have a passport or a regular hunting license.
A: Deer tags are not issued for one zone like elk tags are.  They can be used in any unit that is open for hunting deer.
A: The IDFG Commission has only established hunting hours. For most game species it is 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunrise. Waterfowl hunting ends at sunset. There is also commission rule and state law that requires hunters to make a reasonable effort to retrieve any wounded game ...
A: Tags are issued to a specific person so the other hunter cannot just use the tag.  The new hunter must purchase their own license and tag.
A: That means 2 point or smaller.  The unit also has a Controlled Hunt for larger bucks but the 2 point allows anyone with a general regular deer tag to harvest a deer in the unit, it just has to be a 2 point or smaller.  The idea was to create a high quality buck harvest hunt in the unit (Controlled ...
A: Although you have a disabled license, you still need to get a seperate permit that makes it legal for you to shoot from a motorized vehicle.  Some people may have disabilities that still allow them to hunt without a motorized vehicle - that's why we don't automatically issue the Motorized Hunter ...
A: Distance is not addressed in the rule. The rule's intent is to not artifcially draw big game into a point of unfair advantage for the hunter.
A: The seasons for the tag you have are as follows:   General A Tag Weiser River 8/1/13-11/30/13 Antlerless Elk Any Weapon Unit 32*²³ 8/15/13-9/30/13 Antlerless Elk Any Weapon Portion of Units 22 and 31²³ 8/30/13-9/30/13 Either-sex Elk Archery Weiser Zone*³ The only November hunting with the Weiser ...
A: Owning real property or paying property taxes within the state of Idaho is not a qualification for residency. Proof of residency is required to buy any resident license. A resident is anyone who has been domiciled in this state with a bona fide intent to make this their place of permanent abode, ...
A: It would be legal, but a lot of work!
A: Setting waterfowl seasons is a cooperative effort among state and federal agencies.  The United States and Canada are divided into four flyways: the Atlantic, Mississippi, Central and Pacific.  Idaho is in the Pacific Flyway.  For each flyway, a framework is set for each hunting season and is the ...
A: Items for 2014 will go on sale on December 1, 2013.  They will go on sale on December 1 every year for the next year's hunting. The only items that won't go on sale on that date are resident elk and deer tags.  All other resident licenses and tags go on sale December 1.  All nonresident licenses ...
A: It depends on if we are talking about fishing and hunting seasons, bag limits, gear restrictions, etc. For setting both fish and hunting rules, we have an extensive public input process we follow.  Our Fish and Game Commission actually approved a policy document in 2006 that outlines all steps.  ...
A: It depends on which Zone you purchased the tag.  Check the rule booklet for your zone and follow the A-tag options across the page.  Some allow early archery hunting and late muzzleloader hunting (Palouse Zone).  Others like the Panhandle Zone allow early archery hunting, followed by "any" weapon ...
A: You must leave evidence of sex naturally attached to the largest part of the carcass until the final place of storage or personal consumption.  That means that if you bone and package the meat, you must leave a large chunk with the testicles, penis, vulva, or mammary left naturally attached and ...
A: Here is the Idaho Department of Fish and Game Commission Refund Rule: IDAPA 03. Refunds. The fee for any nonresident license (as defined in Section 36-202(z), Idaho Code) shall not be refunded for any reason except as follows. a. Hunting license and general season deer and elk tag ...
A: Sorry for the delay in responding. Yes.  If your daughter is 12 years of age or older and has not completed hunter education, she can purchase a Hunting Passport and a deer tag. More information on the program can be found Must be 12 ...
A: Do you mean a disable hunting license?  Anyone certified as eligible for federal supplemental income (SSI), social security disability income (SSDI), railroad retirement board disability, a nonservice-connected veteran’s pension, or a service-connected veteran’s disability benefit with 40 percent ...
A: For bears, the definition of bait is any substance placed to attract game animals.  You are not allowed to place parts of animals or fish that are currently classified as game animals or fish that come from the wild or commercial domestic sources.  However, under the scenario you explained:   ...
A: Yes, waterfowl hunting is allowed at Black's Creek reservoir Please honor any Safety Zone postings to provide public safety to other users.    
A: The IDFG hunting closure in Ada County includes the area between Hwy 21 and the Boise city limits. The Boise river above Hwy 21 is not closed to hunting by IDFG. Ada County and or the State Park may have other regulations in place.  
A: Sorry for the delay in responding. It depends.  Residents or nonresidents may buy one unsold nonresident general season deer and elk tag at the nonresident price, starting August 28, to be used as a second tag. Any person who receives a controlled hunt tag for elk is prohibited from hunting in any ...
A: No, you can hunt for whitetails in mulitiple big game management units and are NOT restricted to zones like elk hunters are.  So, yes you can hunt whitetails in say Unit 19A from Oct 10 - Oct 31 and if you are unsuccessful, you can hunt whitetails in Unit 11 from Oct 10 - Dec 1.  Your whitetail ...
A: Sorry for the delay in responding. Yes, a non-resident hunting mountain lions (with a resident who has dogs) must have a valid hound hunter permit and mountain lion tag for the current year.  More information can be found on page 89 of the 2013 Big Game Seasons and Rules book:  http://fishandgame. ...
A: No.  A nonresident who purchase a hunting passport for $1.75 must purchase a nonresident tag and any appropriate permits and/or validations.  All hunting rules, seasons and weapon restrictions also apply to the holder of a hunting passport.     
A: Sorry for the delay in responding to your question.  There are many good areas to hunt whitetail deer near Moscow - both on private and public lands.  Your best source of information would be to visit with a wildlife biologist out of the Fish and Game office in Lewiston (208-799-5010).  Please ...
A: Sorry for the delay in responding to your question.   No.  An person whose name is drawn in a controlled hunt for deer and elk is prohibited from hunting in any other hunt for the same species (archery, muzzleloader or general), EXCEPT when the hunter has been selected in a controlled extra tag or ...
A: Idaho Code and IDFG Commission rules to not address tree stands for the use of hunting, except on lands owned by IDFG. On our WMA's the use of tree stands are restricted as follows: To construct blinds, pits, platforms, or tree stands where the soil is disturbed, trees are cut or altered, and ...
A: Yes, cow decoys are legal for big game hunting.
A: Yes, you during any general weapon season, you can use legal muzzle loader, archery, shotgun and handgun weapons as well as legal rifles. Consult the the big game brochure for weapon restrictions.
A: First, on the fire situation in Custer County.  None of the significant fires experienced by Idaho in the summer of 2013 prompted closures in the Salmon/Custer County area.  There have been closures in other parts of the state but the area where your son is hunting was spared.   Ok, our 3-day ...
A: Yes, all hunting in Idaho requires the appropriate license, permits, and tags. There are certain incentives and programs for landowners who qualify for participation in the Landowner Appreciation Program. To learn more about the LAP program, visit: ...
A: Sorry the response to this took so long but the answer to season questions are in the rules book.  Unit 28 is on page 16 and hunting is allowed with a regular deer tag from Oct 10 -24, and a youth hunt antlerless until Oct 31on private land. You must look at the regulations to determine if the ...
A: There is currently no new rules being proposed by the Commission. You can track any commission action, including proposed rule changes through our web page, under "About Us" and the commission tab.
A: A nonresident hunting license is $154.75 and the deer tag is $301.75
A: The definition of private land does not change.  If the land you want to hunt on is private, you must ask the landowner for permission.  If the private land is within a unit that is open for wolf hunting and the landowner okays your hunting on their land, you can hunt for wolves on the land. That ...
A: Fires Close Some Backcountry Trails, Roads Fires burning in southwestern Idaho's backcountry will affect access to more than 800,000 acres east of Idaho Highway 21, including hunter access in one popular hunt unit. Hunter with tags for the mule deer controlled hunt No. 1025 in Unit 39 may request ...
A: Fires Close Some Backcountry Trails, Roads Fires burning in southwestern Idaho's backcountry will affect access to more than 800,000 acres east of Idaho Highway 21, including hunter access in one popular hunt unit. Hunter with tags for the mule deer controlled hunt No. 1025 in Unit 39 may request ...
A: Fires Close Some Backcountry Trails, Roads Fires burning in southwestern Idaho's backcountry will affect access to more than 800,000 acres east of Idaho Highway 21, including hunter access in one popular hunt unit. Hunter with tags for the mule deer controlled hunt No. 1025 in Unit 39 may request ...
A: You can go to any vendor to get a duplicate or you can call 1-800-554-8685.
A: You can hunt in both units even though you specified only one.
A: Yes, you can.  Deer tags are valid for any general season hunt.
A: You must have an Idaho hunting license to shoot coyotes.  They can be hunted all year.