Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 301 - 400 of 1010 questions
Question Asked
A: If I understand your question you are trying to retreive waterfowl with a net streched across a river stream.  Stretching a net across a waterway could present all types of problems for you and others.   Make sure you are contacting all private landowners prior to hunting to ensure you are not ...
9/19/14
A: Our research shows that one reason many nonresidents left the state over the last 5-6 years was due to the down economy. Tourism was down everywhere.  There has not been a resident license fee increase since 2005 though our expenses continue to increase annually. In order to continue to provide ...
9/16/14
A: All conservation officers across the state have very large patrol areas.  They do the best they can to enforce fishing and hunting regulations.  The Department applies more enforcement to Henrys Lake than some other areas because the lake is managed as a trophy fishery.  Some conservation officers ...
9/16/14
A: You may harvest a doe with a second tag only where doe harvest is allowed.  For instance, whitetail hunting is either sex in many units as is archery hunting mule deer, but any weapon general seson mule deer is primarily youth hunting.  The second tag only allows you to shoot a second deer that is ...
9/15/14
A: If you are specifically targeting Eurasion doves you can use a rifle and you must have a hunting license.  Please conduct risk assessments on every shot.  There are huge safety concerns regarding the use of a rifle to take Eurasion doves.  Please ensure there is an appropriate backstop.
9/15/14
A: It depends.  If you plan to hunt pheasants on one of the Idaho Department of Fish and Game's Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) where pheasants are stocked, you will need a WMA Upland Game/Pheasant Permit. These are $23.75 for residents and $51.75 for nonresidents.  Each Permit allows the take of ...
9/14/14
A: Yes, as long as you personally do not attempt to take an elk.  You do not need a hunting license or tag to accompany and learn from your friend while on their hunt.  For those new to the sport of elk hunting, there's really no better way to learn the safe, ethical and responsible aspects of ...
9/13/14
A: Yes, you can still hunt chukars during the first five days of the pheasant season.  The code only specifies pheasant.  Here is a copied and pasted section from 36-407: (e)  Nonresident Small Game Hunting License. A license issued only to a person twelve (12) years of age or older, entitling the ...
9/12/14
A: Yes, you may hunt migratory birds with your archery equipment in Idaho.  Federal regulations state the following: It is against the law to take migratory game birds: with a trap, net, snare, net, rifle, pistol, swivel gun, shotgun larger than a 10 gauge, punt gun, battery gun, machine gun, ...
9/12/14
A: Hunting black bears is a popular sport in Idaho.  However, for a new hunter, or someone that hasn't hunted in the state before, it can be a little daunting.  The easiest way to get around the confusion of how, when, where, is to contact an outfitter to help you out with your first hunt.  They ...
9/12/14
A: You do not need a hunting license to accompany your friends while video-documenting their hunt.  We hope you enjoy your experience.
9/9/14
A: It is possible to recover this animal if you contact Idaho Fish and Game and get with the local Conservation Officer.  You did the right thing by not shooting the bull when you located it several days later; since you validated your tag.  If the animal is wondering, recovery is highly unlikely.  ...
9/8/14
A: That is correct.  The Hunting Passport can introduce your child to the hunt as early as age 8 before investing in taking hunter education; but they have to take hunter education to obtain a junior hunting license at age 10.
9/7/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game's controlled hunt drawing system was built in the early 1990s.  The drawing system hasn't had any glitches or problems.  The problem this year associated with young hunters being allowed to put in for controlled hunts, did not involve the drawing system.  The problems occured ...
9/7/14
A: The full definition of “hunting” that addresses this question is in Idaho Fish and Game laws, Idaho Code Section 36-202: "Hunting" means chasing, driving, flushing, attracting, pursuing, worrying, following after or on the trail of, shooting at, stalking, or lying in wait for, any wildlife whether ...
9/5/14
A: Good question.  Older does are less likely to produce young and therefore provide less reproductive value to the herd.  However, it is difficult to determine age of a standing deer. You already mentioned the doe without a fawn method, but that too is difficult and not fool proof as a doe may have ...
9/4/14
A: There certainly are grizzly bears in Unit 1, particulary in the Trapper Ck burn north of Priest Lake.  As you noted, there are also good densities of black bears.  The fire resulted in a great big huckleberry shrubfield, thus explaining the high density of both types of bears. The area probably ...
9/2/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game has adopted the season recommendation approved by the Pacific Flyway Council and the US Fish and Wildlife Service. These recommendations are the result of a new harvest strategy, which represents a more informative approach to managing harvest of mourning doves as envisioned in ...
9/1/14
A: Yes, a hunting license is required to purchase any big game tag in Idaho.
8/29/14
A: Not based on the information you have provided. Here is the state law regarding archery permits: Idaho Code 36-411 (b) Archery education. On and after January 1, 1994, no person shall be issued an archery permit unless that person presents to the department a certificate of completion in archery ...
8/28/14
A: Yes, you can purchase a nonresident hunting/3day fishing license and your bear tag at any vendor location http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/lookupVendors.cfm, on-line at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/ or via telephone at 1-800-554-8685. We also have general season deer and elk tags that ...
8/28/14
A: Idaho trespass law generally applies to whether a canal/ditch and related access roads are open to public access and to specific activities such as hunting. The land containing irrigation canals  and related access roads may be owned by the irrigation company, or it may be owned by a third party ...
8/27/14
A: Normally IDFG does not make site visits to address disputes regarding ownership.  However, you can contact your local conservation officer or regional office and inquire as to if they have had issues in this area before. It is always helpful to have a good quality map of the area you are hunting ...
8/25/14
A:        IDFG offers a wide variety of hunting seasons in the fall, including several that run the entire throughout the month of September. For example the archery season for both deer and elk opens Aug 30 and runs through the end of Septmeber. For the most part, archers will be wildly dispersedand ...
8/23/14
A: There will be no rain checks offered for this hunt.  The unit still has much area open to hunting and the fire is now out.  For more information, please contact the Clearwater Regional Office at:  208-799-5010.
8/18/14
A: Pit blinds on private property are legal.   It is against the law to take migratory birds from a sink box (a low floating device having a depression affording the hunter a means of concealment beneath the survase of the water).
8/18/14
A: Who is required to have Hunter Education? To buy a hunting license, all hunters must show proof that they have completed a hunter education course if they were born on or after January 1, 1975, unless they have held a hunting license from Idaho or another state. 
8/18/14
A: As found on page 98 of the Big Game 2014 Seasons and Rules brochure:  It us unlawful to: Hunt any game animal by means of baiting with the exception of applicable rules for black bear baiting permit (See pages 69 and 70).  Bait is defined as any substance placed to attract game animals, except ...
8/17/14
A: Private land does not change designation because it is enrolled in Access Yes.  If a hunt specifically states that it is restricted to private lands, this would include private lands enrolled in access yes. Things to consider is in some hunts, corporate timberlands are not considered private lands ...
8/17/14
A: This is a question that may have several answers and depends on what kind of a closed area you are trying to access. If the area is on public land such as Forest Service or BLM lands, and the roads or trails you are trying to access are closed for all public access that will require you contacting ...
8/14/14
A: Yes, it it legal to use a cow decoy.
8/13/14
A: It is your US Constitutional right to keep and bear arms.  Long ago we used to require a hunting license to possess a firearm in the field in Idaho. It was challenged and recinded.  Current Idaho Code restricts the carry of 'concealed' weapons.  If your handgun is not concealed you are in ...
8/13/14
A: Thanks again for your question regarding baiting.     The answer to your question is that bait can be placed for all big game on private property with permission from the landowner if the purpose is for wildlife photography and viewing only.   In contrast, baiting for photography and viewing on ...
8/13/14
A: That might be a pretty good strategy.  The upper end of those drainages have some nicer open forage areas and the elk are likely hitting those early and late.  The north-facing heavier covered areas on the unit boundaries will provide good areas for the elk to bed down.  Catching them traveling ...
8/12/14
A: There are no shortages of general areas where you might find a cow elk in the Unit 39-1 area.  It really depends on what scenary you want to see while hunting and how far you want to travel.  The further you travel away from highway 21 the fewer people you are likely to see.  We don't have any elk ...
8/10/14
A: Hunters can buy 5 wolf tags per calendar year and 5 trapping tags per calendar year for use in zones with an open trapping season.  A person must attend a wolf trapper education course and have a valid trapping license before trapping wolves.
8/10/14
A: No, the Idaho Deparment of Fish and Game does not maintain a list of licensed guides and outfitters.  Please contact the Idaho Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board at (208) 327-7380 or visit their website at: http://oglb.idaho.gov/.
8/10/14
A: Right now there are no planned changes to seasons in Unit 11.  The Dept. will proceed as usual with the mule deer and elk seasons.  However due to the fire, game may be more concentrated in unburned areas providing a better opportunity to bag your buck.  Good luck!
8/8/14
A: We've done some research trapping in the St Joe so we have a pretty good idea of the live weight of bears in the area.  These weights were mostly taken in June and July, so fall weights during the hunting season would be quite a bit more (partly depending on the huckleberry crop!).  Spring weights ...
8/8/14
A: Racoons are classified as preditors in Idaho and can be taken in any amounts and at any time by holders of the appropriate valid Idaho hunting, trapping or combination hunting license, provided such taking is not in violation of state, county, or city laws, ordinances or regulations.  Take care ...
8/7/14
A: Yes you can.
8/5/14
A: We have recieved calls such as this in the past and we have had our officers follow up on them. We have never documented employees of this ranch chasing elk onto the property. We have discovered that many poeple hunting elk around this property have been confused with ranch employees and their ...
8/4/14
A: In response to your question about the Mallard Larkin elk hunting. As far as I know it does not get much, if any pressure from the north (GMU 9). There are a couple access points from Region 1. It depends if you are using stock or backpacking ect. In my personal experience, I have seen some very ...
7/31/14
A: Idaho Fish and Game manages all wildlife including game and nongame.  The agency's Wildlife Diversity Program publishes information about Watchable Wildlife, here's a link: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/nongame/?getPage=239 You can find more information about the program on the ...
7/29/14
A: Thank you for taking the time to ask your question.  Issues involving nuisance wildlife are referred to as depredations.  A landowner with depredations may hire a third party or “agent” to control the wildlife as long as it is in accordance with all federal, state, and local regulations.   For ...
7/27/14
A: Provided you don't have a provision in any felony conviction that prevents you from owning or possessing a firearm; you've purchase a valid hunting license and tags; and have taken an archery education class or qualify for an archery validation - then you can use your archery equipment ...
7/27/14
A: Our agency only regulates the use of motorized equipment as it pertains to hunting and fishing activities.  If you are using your jetski strictly for recreation, then you need to check with the U.S. Forest Service Sawtooth National Recreation Area for restrictions they may have placed on Red Fish ...
7/26/14
A: When you perform a search on the Internet, your current years purchase history will show up on the license selection page. This information will show you what currently valid items you have purchased.
7/25/14
A: Hunters have been required to purchase an archery permit/validation to participate in hunts designated as "archery only" seasons for more than 35 years. Although some hunters may choose to hunt only in an archery-only hunts and don't participate in any other hunts, many hunters who participate in ...
7/25/14
A: For 30 years, Idaho has had a quota for nonresident hunters.  13 years ago, the Commission decided to make any unsold nonresident tags available for purchase to residents at full price.  The Commission adopted the 2nd tag discount for residents and nonresidents because it wanted to encourage more ...
7/22/14
A: Thank you for your question regarding hunting over unlawful bear bait sites.  Idaho Department of Fish and Game rules and regulations state: “No bait site may be located within two hundred (200) feet of any water (lake, pond, reservoir, year round free flowing spring and year round free flowing ...
7/22/14
A: Yes.  If you have controlled hunt tags for both deer and elk, in order for you to bowhunt during the general archery season, you would need to purchase a reduced price nonresident deer and a reduced price nonresidet elk tag.   
7/21/14
A: No.  Nonresident disabled American veterans with a disability rating of 40 percent or more by Veterans Affairs are eligible for nonresident DAV reduced fees for licenses and tags. The nonresident DAV hunting with 3-day fishing license, $31.75, allows the nonresident disabled veteran to purchase ...
7/21/14
A: We can issue you a Nonresident DAV license in place of your lifetime license so you can receive reduced tag fees.  However, you will need to send us a reminder each year so we know which license to issue to you.  If you have more questions, please contact our licensing section at 208-334-2592.   
7/17/14
A: The short answer is yes you will need to tag the deer if you are keeping any part of it.  While not common there are times when folks are unable to track down the animal they have mortally wounded prior to nightfall.  In your case where you returned the following day and were able to locate the ...
7/15/14
A: Whether it is in season or out of season it would not be lawful for you to use your deer tag on a road kill animal.   However, you can use the online salvage report and obtain a “salvage permit” that would allow you to legally salvage and retain all or part of the road kill animal in question. ...
7/15/14
A: Are you looking for a general season mule deer hunt? Tags for those seasons go on sale December 1 for the next license year and can be purchased until the nonresident quota has been filled. (For this year, you can purchase now) If you are looking for a controlled hunt, the first application period ...
7/15/14
A: Thank you for your question on additions to legal archery equipment.  Each year the Idaho Fish and Game Commissioners have the option to add or restrict the equipment that hunters may legally use to pursue game.  The restriction on expandable broadheads as you know dates back decades.  It would be ...
7/14/14
A: Great question the quick answer is Yes; if the purpose is for wildlife viewing only.  However you have "spoiled" the area for deer and elk hunting activities.Deer and elk harvested over this "salted" area would be taken unlawfully.   The area where the salt has been placed would be considered " ...
7/14/14
A: Military veterans are required to have Hunter Education to buy a hunting license if they were born on or after January 1, 1975 and they have not held a hunting license from Idaho or another state. The Hunter Education course includes the following subject areas. Firearm handling and safety Hunting ...
7/12/14
A: There are a number of ways.  The BLM produces a nice set of maps covering most of Idaho.  Also several GPS units have programs that will show you ownership.  It is a good idea to be familiar with Idaho trespass law and posting requirements and carry a good map when hunting.
7/12/14
A: Good question.  We are in the process of redesigning our website and in the process we will have an entirely new webpage for trapping/furbearers with its own heading.  There have been delays in the website process but it should be out within a few months.  Thanks for your comment.
7/11/14
A: the Pack River is a navigable water way, so you have full access to the river below the ordinary high water mark.  The lower Pack River is public land, so there's plenty of land open to hunting/fishing/recreating.
7/11/14
A: On page 110 of the 2014 big game proclamations, we have the following statement. Leftover Controlled HuntsSecond drawing: To ensure everyone has equal opportunity at leftover and unclaimed controlled hunt tags, there will be two drawings for deer, elk, pronghorn and fall black bear hunts. all ...
7/10/14
A: The age to hunt turkey has not changed and remains at 10 years of age. The age to hunt big game was changed with the new law that went into effect on July 1 of this year (2014). Based on the now current laws and the information you have provided, your son would not be able to hunt turkey until he ...
7/10/14
A: In January of 2007 this went through public scoping and the commission adopted the recommendation as follows. No person shall take big game animals with any electronic device attached to, or incorporated in, the firearm (including handguns andshotguns) or scope; except scopes containing battery ...
7/2/14
A: IDFG does not have any plans to restrict elk and deer hunting opportunity in Unit 39 this fall as a result of last years Pony and Elk fires.  However, travel restrictions may and will likely be in place in areas affected by the fire.  Ultimately travel restrictions are a call by the US Forest ...
6/26/14
A: Department biologists spend many hours during the months of January, February and early March studying the health of deer and elk populations in the state through aerial surveys, hunter reports and other methods. During this same time frame the biologists also hold public meetings with hunters ...
6/25/14
A: Only the 3 year licenses are valid for multiple years. All other permits, validations and tags are annual items and expire no later than December 31 of the year they were valid in.
6/25/14
A: Yes. In January of 2007 this went through public scoping and the commission adopted the recommendation as follows. No person shall take big game animals with any electronic device attached to, or incorporated in, the firearm (including handguns andshotguns) or scope; except scopes containing ...
6/24/14
A: Your daughter does not need to purchase a baiting permit and can hunt off another’s bait.  However, she will need to purchase a hound hunter permit.  The following is on page 101 of the 2014 Big Game Seasons and Rules booklet: Hound Hunter Permit When dogs are being used to hunt black bears or ...
6/20/14
A: Trapping of upland game animals is not a legal method of take.  You can hunt cottontails during the hunting season, but trapping them at any time is unlawful unless they are in your garden or destroying personal property.  You are allowed to control depredations, but you should contact your ...
6/14/14
A: No. If you purchase the controlled hunt tag, you are restricted to the hunt area and dates of the controlled hunt for the tag you possess. Any person who has purchased a controlled hunt tag is prohibited from hunting in any other hunt for the same species (archery, muzzleloader or general) except ...
6/13/14
A: The controlled hunt deer, elk, pronghorn, bear, and turkey drawing will be completed and winners notified by July 10th. We're hoping to beat that date, but several things need to fall into place first. Once the results are available, there will be a news release and a note stating the draw results ...
6/12/14
A: Please send in your small game hunting license with a written request for the refund to: IDFG License SectionP.O. Box 25Boise, ID 83707 Thank you.  
6/12/14
A: Nothing in our rules prohibit citizens of the United States who are residents of the state of Idaho from carrying arms for the protection of life and property. It has always been legal to have a firearm on a four-wheeler while hunting.   Please review out Big Game seasons and rule book for ...
6/10/14
A: During the early 1990's there was a statewide push to eliminate bear baiting, hound hunting, and spring bear hunting across Idaho.  It went to the ballot and was defeated, but the Department made some adjustments to the rules as a result of the effort.  Some areas we did not allow baiting because ...
6/10/14
A: The red fox is classified as a furbearer in Idaho.  In Jefferson County however, there is a year-long hunting and trapping season on them which requires a hunting or trapping license.  Also, if caught in the act of harassing or killing your pets or farm animals, they can also be killed without a ...
6/5/14
A: Yes. You can use an extra turkey tag for the fall hunt.
6/3/14
A: Yes you will need a hunting license to purchase a wolf tag. Licenses can be purchased via the Internet at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/. over the telephone at 800-554-8685, any license vendor http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/lookupVendors.cfm, or through the mail to any Idaho ...
6/3/14
A: Yes. General season and controlled hunt tags are currently the same price. The only difference is the application fee required to apply for a controlled hunt.
5/29/14
A: Thank you for your interest in becoming a hunter education instructor. Our instructors are an important part of Idaho's hunter education program. In Idaho, we have 1200 instructors that teach over 700 courses to 15,000 students each year. Hunter education instructors teach firearm safety, wildlife ...
5/27/14
A: You need to have resided in Idaho for 6 months, so on June 15th you will qualify for a resident license.  There are several ways you can prove that you moved to Idaho on January 15th.  Show us rent statements that demonstrate the date you move to your residence, a letter from your employer stating ...
5/14/14
A: In Idaho, wildlife is considered property that the state manages on behalf of its citizens. There is a public interest in ensuring people are complying with state laws related to hunting, fishing, and trapping on both public and private land, so that Idahoans can enjoy hunting and other wildlife- ...
5/13/14
A: To provide you with an accurate answer, we will need some additional information. Please contact our license section at 208-334-2592 or our enforcement bureau at 208-334-3736.
5/10/14
A: First, I admire your conviction to salmon fishing in Idaho. If you possess a disabled hunting/fishing license and can demonstrate to an officer that you lack the stamina to play the fish - it will be acceptable to have someone reel in your salmon that you hooked.
5/10/14
A: Yes, No person shall take big game animals as outlined in this section. a.  With any firearm that, in combination with a scope, sling, and/or any other attachments, weighs more than sixteen (16) pounds. b. With any shotgun using any shot smaller than double-aught (#00) buck. c. With any rimfire ...
5/9/14
A: Please contact the Magic Valley Region office at 1-208-324-8137.  
5/7/14
A: Idaho Code Section  36-1201(c) requires a person to have the proper required license on his person at all times while hunting, fishing, or trapping, and to produce the original license for inspection upon request of a person authorized to enforce fish and game laws. This legal requirement places ...
5/7/14
A: Yes, you can purchase a nonresident tag for your second tag.  They go on sale for that purpose on August 1.
5/6/14
A: Answer:  This is the most complicated part of reporting the harvest statistics. I'm pretty sure that you are asking about deer and elk general hunt harvest estimates on the IDFG web site. We have 3 kinds of general hunting seasons, for most of our hunts, but the names are confusing."Any Weapon" is ...
5/5/14
A: Black bears, mountain lions, bobcats, and foxes  may be pursued with hounds. Although not classified as "game animals," raccoons and coyotes may also be pursued with hounds.   A hound hunter permit is required.
5/5/14
A: Citizens have the right to protect their person and property including pets. It is legal to kill a predator if your dog is attacked.  When investigated evidence of the attach must be clearly apparent.
5/5/14
A: That is correct. If you have additional questions, please contact our license section at 208-334-2592. Thanks.
5/4/14
A: The motorized hunting rules do not apply to upland birds. The Idaho Fish and Game's motorized hunting rules apply to big game animals, including moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goats, in designated units from August 30 through December 31.Motorized hunting use restrictions apply to units 29, 30 ...
5/3/14
A: There are a number of locations a person could experience a comintation hunt that could include 2 or more of the groups you are looking for.  Many folks hunt the South Fork of the Boise for Mule deer and chukar, or later in the year you could hunt for elk and chukar.  Parts of Unit 32 and 32A ...
5/2/14
A: Failure to submit a Mandatory Hunter Report for deer, elk, or pronhorn hunting will not prevent you from applying for or drawing a controlled hunt tag.
5/2/14
A: If you are not hunting, a hunting license is not required.  
5/1/14
A: In short-range weapon hunts, you may use any of the following when hunting with a muzzleloader:  pelletized powder, sabots, magnifying scopes, 209 primers, closed breach, and projectiles made of some or all non-lead material.
4/29/14
A: Hunter education is required for everyone getting a hunting license in the state of Idaho who was born January 1, 1975 or later.  A concealed weapons permit is not a replacement for a hunter education course.
4/28/14