Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 1 - 100 of 998 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: No. Once the season for which your elk tag is valid has opened, your tag can no longer be exchanged. But you are allowed to buy a left-over nonresident tag for a different zone.
10/2/11
A: Hunter orange is required only when hunting the nine Idaho Fish and Game wildlife management areas where pheasants are stocked. The areas are Fort Boise, C.J. Strike, Payette River, Montour, Sterling, Market Lake, Mud Lake, Cartier Slough and Niagara Springs. The minimum requirement is 36 square ...
10/6/11
A: Get as much information as possible, such as a description of the person or persons, a description and license number of any vehicles, and note the location. Then "Make the Call" to the Citizens Against Poaching hotline at 1-800-632-5999 - 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Or fill out a report on ...
10/16/11
A: Beginning last year, the use of handguns using straight-walled center-fire cartridges not originally developed for rifles was approved for use in big game short-range weapon hunts.
10/23/11
A: The bag limit is the total number you can take in one day. But the total may not include more than three scaup, two pintails, two redheads, two female mallards or one canvasback.
10/30/11
A: No, you only need a hunting license if you are hunting.
2/7/12
A: Yes, you are required to have an Idaho hunting license to hunt coyotes. Nonresident licenses are listed here.
2/7/12
A: Idaho's first game laws were established by the Idaho Territorial Legislature in 1864.  These laws for closed seasons on big game animals from Februrary to July, but did not provide for enforcement. These laws predate both the State of Idaho (admitted to the Union in 1890) and the creation of the ...
2/8/12
A: The regulations for Spring Goose Hunts are available online.  The Spring Goose Hunts are primarily a private land hunting opportunity because geese are typically found feeding in agricultural fields. For more information please contact the Southeast Region at (208) 232-4703.
2/9/12
A: We cannot make predictions into the future, but we currently have a muzzleloader cow season in Unit 39, cow hunts that allow one to use any weapon, and 9 days of an any weapon bull season.  We use the late season archery to assist us in a depredation issue.  Our bull:cow ratio is adequate only ...
2/9/12
A: The Summit will be an opportunity to have a conversation with Idahoans who care about wildlife.   Hunters, trappers, anglers and other wildlife conservationists enjoy wildlife in many ways and they are deeply interested in how it is managed.  Early last year, Fish and Game Director Virgil Moore ...
2/10/12
A: Yes, IDAPA requires the presentation of antlers from antlered moose to be presented to a conservation officer or regional office so department personnel can collect biological data.  Since it is not required to present any parts of cow moose the information can simply be phoned in.
2/10/12
A: You don't need a license, and the only restrictions are on access and travel on the land. Antler hunters, like other outdoor recreationists, must secure permission to cross or look for antlers on private land, and they must abide by transportation restrictions on federal and state public lands. ...
2/10/12
A: The 2010 Idaho State Legislature amended Idaho Code 36-411 to allow IDFG to accept hunter and bowhunter education course certifications from foreign countries provided their course is equivalent to or exceeds our Idaho course.   A course certificate or card must be presented when purchasing a ...
2/10/12
A: Rubber Boas are classified as Protect NonGame under IDAPA 13.  With a hunting license one can collect and possess up to four rubber boas but they may not be returned to the wild.  If you do not wish to purchase a hunting license you can apply for a collecting permit.
2/11/12
A: The Game Regulations are made available online shortly after they are approved by the Fish and Game Commission.  Big Game Seasons are set by the Commission every March (View the Commision Schedule).  For 2012, the meeting is scheduled for March 21-23rd. Printed Regulations will be available a ...
2/12/12
A: This is difficult to answer, as size is relative--huge to one person is typical to another.  That said, typical male wolves average around 100-110 pounds, whereas females average 80-90 pounds.  The truly exceptionally large male wolf can approach 120-130 (sometimes heavier, depending on how much ...
2/14/12
A: The minimum age is 10 years old.  It is best to take hunter education first, then take the archery class. 
2/14/12
A: Lighted knocks are not currently legal in Idaho.  There was a proposal made in 2011, but it was not approved by the Commission.  At this time there is no lighted knock proposal for consideration as a non-biological rule for 2012.
2/14/12
A: Both static PDF maps suitable for printing and interactive online maps of hunt area boundaries are available on the Hunt Area Map Index.  Sportsmen can also use the MapCenter to view Game Management Units, Elk Zones and current Controlled Hunts.  For offline viewing in Google Earth and GIS ...
2/15/12
A: Generally the answer is no, however there are exceptions. These exceptions are explained in the 2011 Big Game Regulations: A person who has applied for a bighorn sheep, mountain goat or moose controlled hunt may not apply for any other controlled hunt in the same year, except unlimited controlled ...
2/16/12
A: It is legal to hunt in Idaho with a suppressor. Keep in mind that there is a federal permit required to possess a suppressor in Idaho and the weight of your weapon must stay under 16 lbs.
2/18/12
A: Lighted knocks are not currently legal in Idaho.  There was a proposal made in 2011, but it was not approved by the Commission.  At this time there is no lighted knock proposal for consideration as a non-biological rule for 2012.
2/18/12
A: A resident of Idaho can purchase two wolf tags per calendar year. A resident cannot purchase non-resident wolf tags. A non-resident deer and/or elk tag that may be used for wolf, mountain lion, or bear so long as the season for both species is currently open in that area.
2/19/12
A: It is valid even if you move out of state.  Each year you will get your lifetime license at no charge but you must get tags, licenses and permits at nonresident prices. Thank you.
2/19/12
A: Currently, no.  Electronic calls can be used during the Conservation Order seasons in the mid-continent portion of North America.  The Conservation Order seasons were a result of extensive habitat damage caused by overabundant snow geese, and were only allowed through an act of Congress.   ...
2/20/12
A: Yes, there are pheasant hunting opportunities in Nez Perce County.  Pheasants occur in the agricultural portions of the county.  Please note that almost all of the pheasant habitat in the county occurs on private property and, therefore, requires landowner permission.  Additionally, there are some ...
2/21/12
A: Check the Fish and Game website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/default.aspx.  New classes are posted there whenever an instructor plans one.  
2/23/12
A: There is already a season on white-fronted geese or ‘specks’ in southwest Idaho.  White-fronted geese are dark geese and have the same season framework as Canada geese (another dark goose).  Pacific Flyway states like Idaho have a season framework that includes 107 days for dark goose hunting.  In ...
2/25/12
A: Nonresident hunting license and tags may be refunded less issuance fees and a $50 processing fee, in the event of: Illness or injury that disables a license holder for the entire applicable hunting season. Military deployment of license holder due to armed conflict. Death of the license holder or ...
2/26/12
A: In general it is NOT legal to use a crossbow during the archery only season, however it is legal to use one during the any weapon season..  An individual with a disabled archery permit is allowed to use  a crossbow during the archery only season. Here is the information from the Big Game ...
2/26/12
A: Unfortunately, the Clearwater Region is not well known for its waterfowl hunting.  Access is limited due to private property but some field hunting and jump shooting of regional streams/ponds is available during migration with landowner permission.  Scouting is the key for success for both birds ...
2/27/12
A: Yes; although the focus has been on land vehicles, the "hunt from motorized vehicles" statute (I.C. section 36-1101(b) (1)) and the definition of motorized vehicle (I.C. section 36-202(y)) are broad enough to include watercraft. The Commission rule (IDAPA 13.01.04.303) would also include boats. ...
2/28/12
A: Yes; there is no limit on the number of youths a licensed adult can mentor. The mentored youths must be within normal sight and hearing distance from the mentor.
2/29/12
A: No, they cannot harvest a bear, lion or wolf with a resident deer tag.  They must have the tag for the specific animal they want to harvest.  
2/29/12
A: NO: (see exception below); as long as the youth has a valid license and tag. Care must be taken by the adult not to enter into the act of “hunting.” They can even have a weapon in possession as the constitution allows. Once they begin pursuing, worrying, following after or on the trail of, ...
2/29/12
A: Those who have drawn a January extra controlled hunt will not lose their hunt on August 1.   They cannot purchase the controlled hunt tag until December of the current year and must first purchase a hunting license for the year of the January hunt.    Once they have purchased their hunting license ...
2/29/12
A: The nonresident small game and nonresident three-day small game hunting licenses were established to offer nonresident sportsmen, who do not wish to hunt big game, an opportunity to come to Idaho and hunt small game only for a lower cost.   The lower cost could result in a large influx of ...
2/29/12
A: Hunting and fishing fees, otherwise known as license dollars, help fund Idaho Fish and Game. License dollars make up about 40 percent of the Fish and Game budget.  The rest comes primarily from federal grants. About 16 percent of the federal money is generated by excise taxes on hunting and ...
3/1/12
A: Expandable broadheads are not legal for taking big game animals in Idaho.  Elk are classified as big game animals.
3/2/12
A: None of the carcasses of 14 wolves killed in the aerial control operation in February were retrieved. All were killed in remote areas and were from the ground without great difficulty. In the past we have retrieved most carcasses of wolves killed on the highway or killed as part of control actions ...
3/2/12
A: The Big Game Season Proposals are available online at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=301 For specific details of your regional meeting beyond the scope of this document feel free to contact the Idaho Falls Office at (208) 525-7290.
3/2/12
A: He does not need a license to carry or for target practice, but he does need a license to hunt in Idaho.  Please find more information about hunting rules and hunter education in our Big Game Rules at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/docs/rules/bgInfo.pdf.  
3/2/12
A: You can only hunt unprotected species with a blowgun. You must have a hunting license. Please double check with the city or county authorities in your area to see if they have any ordinances that prohibit the use of blowguns.      
3/7/12
A: Using a motor vehicle as a rest during hunting is considered hunting from a motor vehicle and unlawful, even if it is unoccupied.  This can be found in Idaho Code: 36-11-1(b)1.
3/7/12
A: There are no weapon restrictions for coyotes because they are not classified as a big game animal in Idaho.  Coyotes are classified as predatory wildlife like a raccoon, skunk or jackrabbit.  Be aware that if you are contacted by an officer they may have questions about what game you are pursuing ...
3/9/12
A: With predators, such as coyotes, the following administrative rule applies: 03. Unprotected and Predatory Wildlife. Those species of wildlife classified as Unprotected Wildlife and Predatory Wildlife may be taken in any amount, at any time, and in any manner not prohibited by state or federal law ...
3/16/12
A: You must reside in Idaho for 6 months to get resident licenses.  You will be a resident in April of 2012. idfginfo
3/19/12
A: The Idaho Fish and Game Commission and the Department of Fish and Game listed the wolf as a big game animal.  It is our intent to manage wolves responsibly, primarily through hunting seasons, just like we manage other big game species.
3/20/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not prohibit the use of silencers.  However, ATF (Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms) requires a permit to possess and use a silencer.  I recommend you contact the local ATF office for the appropriate applications.
3/21/12
A: Answer: Everything in wildlife management involves some compromise, with the goal of optimizing the solution for the greatest overall achievement in multiple conflicting goals.  So it is with snow goose seasons.    The ponds at Fort Boise WMA are a primary roosting area for snow geese as they ...
3/22/12
A: Yes, for hunting upland game birds expandable broadheads are consider a lawful means of take.  For your convenience on page 48 of the Upland Game, Furbearer & Turkey Seasons and Rules brochure there is a section outlining unlawful methods of take for upland game birds.  I have copied and ...
3/22/12
A: A hunting license is required at 10 years old for unprotected game and the child must take hunter education to get the license.
3/22/12
A: Gophers are different from ground squirrels.  Most ground squirrels in the Weiser area are southern Idaho ground squirrels and are protected and cannot be killed.  The ground squirrels found in the Parma area are Piute ground squirrels and are not protected.  Hunting ground squirrels in the Parma ...
3/26/12
A: The ATV rules for big game hunting are posted online in the 2012 Big Game rules book at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/rules/?getPage=63 on pages 79 and 80.  Printed copies should be at your local vendor by April 27.    
3/28/12
A: Twelve (12) years of age. Persons under twelve (12) possessing a firearm for hunting must be accompanied by a licensed adult. Idaho Code Section 36-1508(b).
3/29/12
A: The Wildlife Department informed us today (March 30, 2012) that the statistics for 2011 big game harvest should be ready in 2 weeks...look for them in mid-April.
3/30/12
A: Canada geese are protected as migratory birds by the federal government and season framework is regulated by them.  However, we do have some leeway in how the rules are set in Idaho under their umbrella, and we have maximum allowable harvest opportunity in the area.  The problem with urban geese ...
4/2/12
A: You need good knowledge of fish and wildlife management practices and be a great listener and communicator. Competitive candidates have a bachelor's degree in wildlife or fisheries management or closely related fields. You must also be able to relate to our customers, primarily anglers and hunters ...
4/2/12
A: In any hunt, including any-weapon seasons, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals:   • By any means other than approved firearms, muzzleloaders and archery methods. • With any electronic device attached to, or incorporated on, the firearm or scope; Except scopes containing battery ...
4/2/12
A: No.
4/3/12
A: Idaho doesn't have a sizable population of feral hogs and we don't have any rules set up for hunting them because they are not wildlife.
4/3/12
A: If you are not hunting, you are not required to purchase a hunting license..
4/6/12
A: During the 2010 season-setting process there was a proposal brought forward to expand the youth turkey hunting season from two weekend days to one full week.  The Deparment proposed and the Commission approved of a seven day youth turkey season that immediately precedes the start of the general ...
4/7/12
A: Please confirm my understanding. A nonresident application and elk tag needs to be purchased and then the controlled hunt is applied for? If successful for the general tag, then the controlled youth hunt is applied for? Is there a deadline on the controlled hunt application? Thanks   You do not ...
4/9/12
A: McArthur Wildlife Management Area is open to deer hunting during the November white-tailed rifle deer season.  Due to safety considerations, Farragut State Park and Farragut Wildlife Management Area are closed to hunting with a rifle.  Farragut State Park and Farragut Wildlife Management Area are ...
4/9/12
A: In recent years wolf numbers were increasing at about 15% per year in absence of hunting. Primary source of mortality was depredation control. In absence of that, perhaps 20% or so. Population Growth rate would slow as food availability became limited (numbers would not continue to grow ...
4/11/12
A:   Piute ground squirrels are found in the area you describe.  Piutes in the southwestern part of the state are legal to hunt.  As long as you stay south of the Payette River and north of the Snake River you will not run into any protected ground squirrels.  
4/12/12
A: Yes, she can. She can take your hunting license to any of our Fish and Game offices to pick up the bear bait permit and site tags.
4/17/12
A: If you don't provide an archery education number or can't fill out an archery affidavit stating that you have hunted in an archery hunt previously, the Sportsman's pack will print without an archery validation on it.  After you have taken the course you can go to any vendor and they will put your ...
4/18/12
A: The latest information that we have is that they will be posted in time for the beginning of the Big Game controlled hunt application period (May 1-June 5).
4/23/12
A: If your friend thinks that the baiting is being done to attact animals so they can be hunted, they can contact CAP at 1-800-632-5999.
4/25/12
A:     Up to 4 individuals from each species of herp (including rattlesnakes) may be taken and possessed (dead or alive) with a hunting license.  They can be kept as pets or killed for hat band or other personal uses.  Specific to rattlesnakes:  Up to 6 rattlesnake skins may be sold/bartered (new).  ...
4/28/12
A: Mule deer herds are rebounding from the 2010/2011 winter that winter was very tough on deer and we lost a significant proportion of the radio collared does. Hunting should be good this fall with high over winter survival and deer in great body condition. Antler growth should be excellent this ...
5/3/12
A: Yes, you do.  The bow hunter class covers material specific to hunting with a bow; that information wasn't covered in the hunter education class.
5/8/12
A: You must have a hunting license when you apply.  You can wait to get the archery permit when you find out that you have drawn.  Please check online frequently for field days in the Idaho Falls area.  The link to the class list is https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/default.aspx.  
5/10/12
A: One of the stated goals for the Summit is to have a clear sense of what hunters, anglers, trappers and other wildlife conservationists want from their wildlife management agency.  Director Virgil Moore is expected to explain the dilemma that Fish and Game is facing; legal mandates and public ...
5/10/12
A: The mule deer population is doing well, with excellent overwinter survival and lighter than usual hunting pressure last fall. However they did suffer a setback due to the extreme winter of 2010-2011. During that winter we had significant mortality of our radio collared does and likely very low ...
5/14/12
A: General season antlerless elk hunting was suspended in the Panhandle Elk Zone for the 2012 season due to poor calf recruitment and overall reductions in elk populations in several game management units.  The ellimination of the general season antlerless hunting was applied to the entire Panhandle ...
5/15/12
A: There is no open hunting season for mountain quail in Idaho.  Historically, there were mountain quail in Owyhee County and the Boise Foothills.  Currently, there may be a few isolated populations of mountain quail in the Owyhee Mountains, but there have not been any credible sightings documented ...
5/16/12
A: To Whom It May Concern: As the rule is written it is unlawful to archery hunt: With any electronic or tritium-powered device attached to, or incorporated into, an arrow, bolt, crossbow, or bow (except nonmagnifying scopes containing battery powered or tritium lighted reticles may be used by ...
5/17/12
A: Expandable broadheads were first made illegal for big game hunting in Idaho during the early 1990s.  At that time there was broad public opposition to their use and concern about the "failure rate" of some of the early models.  In 2006, the Idaho Fish and Game Commission evaluated all archery and ...
5/17/12
A: Turkey, black bear and mountain lion tags can be used in any unit that is open for general season hunting.  You are not limited to one unit or zone.
5/18/12
A: Moose seasons for the fall 2011 and fall 2012 hunting seasons were set by the Idaho Fish and Game Commission in January 2011. There is no moose hunting season in Unit 63. Moose seasons proposals for  2013 and 2014 will be considered this fall/winter and will be set by the Fish and Game Commission ...
5/20/12
A: No refunds will be made on resident licenses, tags or permits (including receipts issued for prepaid tags). If you are successful, the deer receipt may be redeemed as soon as resident tags go on sale in July.  The deadline for purchase of controlled hunt tags is August 1.   
5/23/12
A: No.  Wolves are classified as a big game animal in Idaho. The methods of take and weapons restrictions for wolves are the same as for other big game animals. For more more information, please visit IDFG's website or refer to the 2012 Big Game Seasons and Rules brochure, which also contains ...
5/25/12
A: Treaty rights to hunt and fish are held by tribes, not by individual members, and these treaty rights have geographic limitations as to where they apply.   If a member wants to hunt/fish within the scope of her tribes’ treaty rights, the tribe regulates the member’s hunting & fishing.   If a ...
5/26/12
A: You would need to purchase your actual hunting license your self in order to apply, however you are more than welcome to have someone bring in your information to apply for a draw for you as well as to pick up your tags. They would still have to pick up any draw tags by August 1st  to keep from ...
5/28/12
A: You must purchase a nonresident hunting license ($154.75) and pay the controlled hunt application fee ($14.75).  If you apply online (fishandgame.idaho.gov) or by phone (1-800-554-8685) there is an additional fee added for processing of approximately 3%.  
5/28/12
A: The correct answer is no. The only second tag you can purchase is the second reduced tag which restricts a hunter to the special second tag units only. Please see pages 58 for bear and 63 for mountain lion.   Yes, you can.  If you are going to hunt outside the area that is included in the "reduced ...
5/28/12
A: No, it isn't.  Mechanical/expandable broadheads and lumenok arrows are still not legal for use in hunting in Idaho.
5/29/12
A: Yes, he can.  Be sure to purchase a Junior Hunting license for him.  He can apply now (by June 5) for a hunt with that license.  If he is drawn, his tag will be held for him until his birthday on Nov. 15.
5/29/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game is planning a kickoff announcement on June 5 with registration opening soon thereafter.  We encourage all Idahoans who care about wildlife to participate in the Summit either by coming to Boise, going to a one of the regional events or online.  We can send you outreach ...
5/30/12
A: As of June 8, 2012, there are 240 nonresident Selway A tags available.  Resident tags will go on sale in July.  
6/6/12
A: You clearly care deeply about having healthy wildlife populations in Idaho, about the costs of managing wildlife, how license dollars and spent, and about wildlife management in Idaho.  The Idaho Fish and Game department isn't broke today, but as Commission Chairman Randy Budge stated June 5, "... ...
6/6/12
A: Up to four (4) Rattlesnakes may be harvested and possessed by holders of a hunting license. 
6/7/12
A: The surface management agency layer (simplified landownership/management) is provided as an overlay in the huntplanner mapcenter.  This layer is cached for improved rendering, unfortunately our current server configuration is not ideal, and the firewall setup is not optimal for delivery of a data ...
6/11/12
A: Broadhead blades can be removable, they just cannot be expandable, in otherwords the blades can not have a pivoting point that allows the blades to pivot upon entering the animal. Also the following rules apply to broadheads when archery hunting:  With arrows or bolts having broadheads measuring ...
6/12/12
A: Back in the 1990’s the application period for deer, elk, and pronghorn hunts began June 1 and ended June 30. That date has been moved up to May 1 through June 5. The Department’s big game biologists need the months of January, February, and March to determine the health and size of our deer and ...
6/12/12
A: You must purchase the type of deer tag you want.  If you want to hunt for white-tailed and mule deer,  purchase a regular deer tag, which is valid for either one (as long as the unit you are hunting is open for both).  If you only want to hunt for white-tailed deer in one of the later seasons, ...
6/12/12