Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here. If you're not finding answers, please Ask Fish & Game

Displaying 201 - 300 of 583 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: The cost and application information is:  RESIDENT Fishing Tournament Permit Fee $23.50-for clubs and/or sponsors based or incorporated in Idaho NONRESIDENT Fishing Tournament Permit Fee $26.75-for clubs and/or sponsors based or incorporated outside Idaho Applications for fishing contest permits ...
4/14/13
A: You can use a seine or throw-net to harvest nongame fish and yellow perch.  The net can be no more than 10' in length or width and must have 3/8" or smaller mesh.  The seine or net cannot be left unattended.  See page 51 of the 2013 - 2015 Fishing Rule booklet.    
4/16/13
A: The short answer to your question is one hundred (100) square inches of fluorescent orange paint is required for a wood post, at an interval of not less than one per 660 feet. There are two statutes which address this issue, Idaho Code Sections 18-7008 (criminal trespass) and 36-1603 (hunting and ...
4/17/13
A: Hi and thanks for your inquiry/suggestion.    We do have broodstock collection targets for the facilities listed on the “Cumulative Steelhead Hatchery Returns” page (they are listed below); however, using these targets to gauge the status of the run is problematic because most of fish returning to ...
4/19/13
A: An April 22 Idaho Fish and Game Commission tele-conference to set 2013 salmon fishing seasons has been postponed. Based on low counts of spring Chinook salmon at Bonneville Dam, Fish and Game biologists lack sufficient information to project the size of the salmon run to Idaho. The meeting will be ...
4/22/13
A: Nonresident prices: You must either have an Idaho nonresident hunting license ($154.75) or an Idaho nonresident combination (hunting and fishing license) $240.00. You must also purchase a bear tag ($186.00).  If you decide to add a turkey to your hunting the cost of the tag is $80.00. We list all ...
4/24/13
A: As of late April of 2013, online purchasers can print some licenses and permits BUT not others.  In this specific case, the hunting and fishing combo license can be printed by the purchaser.  The steelhead permit cannot. Here is more specific information: Some - but not all - licenses and tags can ...
4/26/13
A: It is not legal to do this in Idaho.  Lines must be attended by the person fishing.  There is no exception for nongame fish.
4/27/13
A:  Use of live fish , leeches, frogs, salamanders, waterdogs or shrimp as bait is prohibited in Idaho, except that live crayfish may be used if caught on the body of water being fished. Bait: Organic substances, other than rubber, wood feather, fiber, or plastic, attached to a hook to attract fish. ...
5/5/13
A: The first Chinook salmon has already been trapped at Rapid River hatchery.  Likely the first Chinook will be caught sometime this week although the fishing probably won’t start getting good for a week or two.  Pay attention to the flows as well.  They are projected to come up considerably with all ...
5/6/13
A: The harvest quota is refined as we get information either from PIT tagged fish passing monitoring points or fish actually arrive at the hatchery.  The quota adjusts based on the estimated harvestable surplus of hatchery fish returning to Rapid River Hatchery.   F08
5/7/13
A: Conservation officers work in Idaho's mountains and high deserts, on wild rivers and pristine lakes. ;They travel through this beautiful country on snow machines, horses, jet boats and 4x4 vehicles. This is not an 8 to 5 job, it’s one that allows you to adjust your schedule so you can make your ...
5/7/13
A: If the 7 year old is not an Idaho resident, they must fish with someone who has an Idaho fishing license. If the child wants to keep their fish, it becomes part of the license holder's catch.   Idaho resident children can fish even if they are with someone who doesn't have a license.  They can ...
5/7/13
A: You can collect and sell shiners and other nongame fish for bait in Idaho as long as you have the appropriate permits. To collect and market bait fish in Idaho, you would need to acquire a Commercial Fishing License from the Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game along with net tags for your gear.  See the ...
5/8/13
A: The good news is that we just opened a Chinook salmon season.  Here are the details: chinook salmon season opens saturday, may 4 The Idaho Fish and Game Commission Tuesday, April 30, approved a spring Chinook salmon fishing season to start Saturday, May 4, on parts of the Clearwater, Salmon and ...
5/8/13
A: You must get a duplicate of your fishing license to continue fishing.  All vendors can issue a duplicate.
5/9/13
A: Idaho residents who have lived here at least 5 years can get a senior license beginning on their 65th birthday. 
5/10/13
A: There is good Northern Pike Fishing in the big Idaho Panhandle lakes.  A record pike was caught in Lower Twin Lake in 2010.
5/11/13
A: The catch-and-keep season for bass is open year-around on most waters.  There are, however,  a few exceptions where we are trying to manage for quality or trophy populations of bass. In order for a fish to qualify as a "state record" the fish needs to be weighed on a state certified scale.  These ...
5/14/13
A: Whenever the body of water is open where you are fishing.  If it is closed, you cannot catch crayfish.
5/16/13
A: Any Idaho vendor can issue a duplicate license.
5/21/13
A: RESIDENTS ONLY - License buyer must present to vendor a letter from SSI, SSDI, or Railroad Retirement board showing person is currently disabled and economically disadvantaged or a signed and completed Certification of Permanent Disability [PDF, 244 KB] form. IDAPA Rule [PDF, 36 KB].
5/22/13
A: May 22, 2013 Idfg closes clearwater from railroad bridge to cherrylane; other sections stay open for jacks   On Tuesday, May 21, the Idaho Department of Fish and Game closed the lower Clearwater River from the Camas Prairie Railroad Bridge in Lewiston to the Cherrylane Bridge to all salmon ...
5/22/13
A: It is June 8, 2013.
5/26/13
A: A fishing license is required for anglers 14 and older. A hunting license is available for youth at 10 years old (they can hunt for varmints, turkeys, small game and waterfowl).  At 12 a hunter can hunt for big game.  They must be able to provide that they have passed hunter education.
5/27/13
A: There aren't any sturgeon in Lucky Peak.
5/28/13
A: Muskie have been found in Cascade Reservoir and Little Payette Lake.  Pike are generally found in Idaho's big Panhandle lakes.
5/28/13
A: You can bowfish in any body of water as long as it is open to fishing.  Only nongame fish can be taken using a bow.  You must have a fishing license.
5/28/13
A: Please check the News Releases on our Website for the latest information.  The link is https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/media/?getPage=179.   The most recent information, posted on May 29, 2013 is Salmon fishing to close on part of the lower salmon river Fishing for adult Chinook salmon in ...
5/29/13
A: You can keep 6 rainbow trout from Lightening Creek but none of those can be cutthroat trout.  That is from Memorial Day weekend to December 1.  After December 1, there is a catch-and-release season.  There is no limit on lake trout in the Lightening Creek system.  You can also keep 6 kokanee.  ...
5/31/13
A: The only exception to the requirement of having a "2-pole" permit for using an additional rod is on Lake Pend Oreille in north Idaho.  On that lake you can use an unlimited number of rods while fishing from a boat, without a "2-pole" permit.
6/1/13
A: In a permitted private pond, the landowner sets the rules and bag limits. If you're leaving a private ponds with more than the legal bag limit from a public water, make sure you have a receipt for the fish in your possession - in the event an officer checks you while in transit. F08
6/1/13
A: The most current Chinook salmon season information is posted on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110.  Please check this information for the answer for your question about what is open or call the Salmon Hotline (Toll Free): 1-855-287-2702 for information.  
6/2/13
A: Yes, we do allow the use of game fish for cut bait when fishing for sturgeon. F08
6/3/13
A: IDAPA rule 13.01.11.004.16 defines a float tube as: " Float Tube. A floating device that suspends a single occupant, from the seat down, in the water, and is not propelled by oars, paddles, or motors. (4-6-05). Not sure which new pontoon boat you are referring to, but if the operator isn't in the ...
6/4/13
A: As long as you have the two-pole permit you can fish with two poles until your limit is reached.  You don't have to stop using two poles when you only have one more fish left to make your limit.  Two poles can be used for steelhead, Chinook and trout fishing.
6/7/13
A: The most current Chinook salmon season information is posted on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110.  Please check this information for the answer for your question about what is open or call the Salmon Hotline (Toll Free): 1-855-287-2702 for information.  
6/8/13
A: A Commerical Fishing license to set more than 5 traps and sell crayfish costs $111.75 for residents and $266.75 for nonresidents.  You then must buy a tag for each trap that costs $3. Note: Commercial Fishing license are on a fiscal year rather than other IDFG licenses that are issued on a ...
6/10/13
A: There are no rules that require you to stop legally using two-poles (with a two-pole permit) when you are within one fish of your bag limit. Yes, technically you may exceed your bag limit by hooking two fish at the same time, but, realistically your odds of that happening are extremely low.  If by ...
6/11/13
A: No...that isn't correct!
6/11/13
A: The most current Chinook salmon season information is posted on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110.  Please check this information for the answer for your question about what is open or call the Salmon Hotline (Toll Free): 1-855-287-2702 for information.  
6/11/13
A: From your local regional office ask for a "Disable License Verification" form.  Once your doctor signs the form signifying that you are disabled, you can take that to your local Fish and Game office to purchase a discounted disabled fishing license. F08
6/12/13
A: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish   Nongame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and crayfish may be taken only in waters open to fishing; provided the seine or net does not exceed ten (10) feet in length or width, and nets and seines must have three-eighths (3/8) inch square or smaller mesh; and ...
6/12/13
A: The most current Chinook salmon season information is posted on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110.  Please check this information for the answer for your question about what is open or call the Salmon Hotline (Toll Free): 1-855-287-2702 for information.  
6/12/13
A: Call the Southwest Region office to see if they have recommendations for you.  Their number is 465-8465.    
6/13/13
A: Not removing or checking crayfish traps is a misdemeanor in Idaho.  Fine will probably be around $100.   F08
6/14/13
A: The Idaho Fish and Game Commission Wednesday, June 12, adopted a Chinook salmon fishing season on the South Fork Salmon River to open Friday, July 5. Fishing will be open only Fridays, Saturday and Sundays until further notice. Managers anticipate a shorter fishery on the South Fork because fewer ...
6/15/13
A: If you are outside of tribal lands  you must have an Idaho fishing license. 
6/16/13
A: If the child is a resident the adult doesn't have to have a fishing license.  Nonresident children must fish with someone who has a license.
6/16/13
A: It is legal to use felt bottom soled footwear in Idaho waters.
6/17/13
A: Many IDFG Regions don't have limits on crappie BUT some waters do have limits.  You can look up the body of water you will be fishing to find out by using the Fishing Planner on our website.  Information about finding and using the fishing planner is copied below: The Fishing Planner is a resource ...
6/17/13
A: Yes, a citation for fishing without a license would show up on a background check of any Fish and Game violations.  
6/19/13
A: Yes, there are certainly perch in Lake Pend Oreille.  They can be accessed from the shore in many areas.  On the northeast portion of the lake, the Denton Slough area is a good place to fish for them, as would be the Clark Fork Delta around the drift yard.  The area around Hope can be good also, ...
6/19/13
A: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish:   Only five (5) crayfish traps can be fished with a valid fishing license. If more than five traps are used at one time, you must obtain a Commercial Fishing License and trap tags. ngame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and crayfish may be taken only in ...
6/19/13
A: Where the Salmon River flows through the Clearwater and Salmon Region, there is no length limit on bass and you can harvest a maximum of 6 per day.  Where the Salmon River flows through the Southwest Region (mouth of Little Salmon upstream to the mouth of the Middle Fork Salmon River) there is ...
6/20/13
A: There is a three-day salmon/steelhead permit that costs $37.50 and there is a three-day small game license that costs $35.50.  We also have a daily fishing license that would cost $12.75 for the first plus $6.00 for each additional day.  
6/22/13
A: Resident duplicate licenses are $7.25 and are available from any vendor. (Duplicate tags are also $7.25 but they are only available from Fish and Game region offices and Headquarters).
6/23/13
A: We have not documented natural spawning below the dam.  I am sure spawning occurs but the young do not appear to survive long enough to be caught in the fishery.  We tag all of the sturgeon stocked.  The fish we have surveyed appear to all be of hatchery origin.  
6/23/13
A: The Chinook carcass needs to be kept as cool as possible to discourage bacteria growth.  When you are done fishing for the day and your fish is recorded on your Salmon permit, you can:  remove the head and tail provided the skin of the fish remains attached to the flesh including a portion from a ...
6/24/13
A: During 2012, there were so many people fishing at Chesterfield Reservoir that the irrigation company couldn't get past the vehicles parked on the dam to get to their pump house.  One instance involved the irrigation company accidentally bumping a private vehicle parked on the dam and causing some ...
6/24/13
A: A youth under the age of 14 may fish for salmon without a license and permit BUT in order for them to keep a salmon over 24" in length, it must be recorded on an accompaning adult anglers salmon permit.  If a resident youth wants their own bag limit, they can purchase their own salmon permit (no ...
6/25/13
A: No, the opener is still the 5th of July.
6/25/13
A: There isn't a special bow-fishing license.  All that is needed is a fishing license. More information: Archery and Spear Fishing: Fishing with a bow and arrow, crossbow, spear or mechanical device, excluding firearms. This type of fishing is permitted only in the taking of bullfrogs and ...
6/25/13
A: Yes.  You must have an Idaho fishing license and can only use this type of gear on nongame fish such as carp and suckers.  More information: Archery and Spear Fishing:  Fishing with a bow and arrow, crossbow, spear or mechanical device, excluding firearms. This type of fishing is permitted only in ...
6/25/13
A: Cold coupled with elevation.  Indeed it is cold in the Snake River, but it’s also nearly 1,000 feet lower in elevation (assuming you are referring to the American Falls area, where bass fishing is good).  As such, it has a longer growing season than Ririe does.  There are also springs that dump in ...
6/27/13
A: Go to any license vendor and request a "duplicate" license.  The cost is $7.50. F08
6/29/13
A: There is no limit on the number of crayfish you can catch in Lake Coeur d'Alene.  With a fishing license you can only "soak" 5 traps.  Traps must not be greater than 8 cubic feet in volume or no more than 2' high, wide, or long.   F08
6/29/13
A: Depends on where you're planning on fishing.  In north Idaho, the general bag limit on bass is 6 fish of any size.  In the southern  and eastern part of the state, the general bag limit is 6 bass with a minimum size of 12." F08
6/29/13
A: You can have a maximum of 5 hooks per line in Idaho.  Each hook can have up to 3 points. F08
7/2/13
A: Yes, crayfish and bullfrogs are the only two fish species that can legally be taken using just your hands.  Everything else requires the use of fishing gear, tackle, or traps.
7/2/13
A: The objective of the Super Hunt is to raise funds to help pay for the Access Yes! program.  Access Yes! compensates landowners across the state to open up their private property to hunting, fishing and wildlife dependent recreation. The Super Hunt is a raffle and is open to anybody wishing to ...
7/8/13
A: Because returns on stocked fish in the South Fork Payette River were so low, we've moved most our stocking efforts to local ponds  in the Banks/Lowman area.  With that said, we still occasionally stock fish near campground and high-use areas.  Check the Fisheries section on our website for ...
7/9/13
A: This is a difficult question to answer because there are way too many variables that need to be considered.  Let me start by listing my recommendations by season. 1.  Winter - If you want to catch trout in the winter, there are several ice fishing and stream options.  The Boise River is one of my ...
7/11/13
A: The six-month waiting period for Idaho residency is what is required by law.  There isn't any way around it.
7/12/13
A: Try Milner Reservoir.  Idaho Power Company stocks channel catfish in Milner as part of their mitigation for the hydropower project at the dam. You can also catch catfish at Murtaugh and Wilson lakes along with the Snake River through the Twin Falls area.  Trying fishing with cut bait at Centennial ...
7/13/13
A: Start with the Salmon River.  You can catch and keep two rainbow trout.  Rapid River is another water where you can catch and keep two trout.  In the summer, fish the 7-Devils Lake at the end of the road.  You can keep 6 rainbow trout and 25 brook trout.  If you don't mind a walk, the limit in ...
7/15/13
A: The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (DHW) has the ability to suspend a person's hunting and fishing privileges if child support is not paid. You will need to check with DHW to see if they have placed a suspension on your privileges to hunt or fish.
7/19/13
A: This is a tricky question and open to interpretation by individual enforcement officers.  First, you've acknowledged that it is illegal to keep the smallmouth bass.  If a bass is bleeding from the gills but still alive, if you can remove the hook without doing anymore damage - do so and release ...
7/21/13
A: Contact the Panhandle Region office at 208-769-1414.
7/21/13
A: You can fish with an unlimited number of rods in Lake Pend Oreille, without a 2-pole permit, while fishing from a boat. Lake Pend Oreille is an exception to our rules on the 2-pole permit.  As part of our effort to recover kokanee in Lake Pend Oreille, we are trying to encourage harvest of lake ...
7/22/13
A: If the areas is not closed for safety reasons, you can spear unprotected nongame fish in the Spokane River provided you have a valid fishing license and the fishing season for game fish is open.  Suckers and tench are considered unprotected nongame fish in Idaho.
7/22/13
A: Please contact the Forest Service at 208-774-3000 for information.  There have been some fires in the area and it may be closed.
7/23/13
A: That information is in the Fishing Rules Book. Each region of the state has a chapter in our Fishing Rules Book.  The first page of every chapter is the information about general bag limits and possession limits of different types of fish as well as the length restrictions, if any, for the fish.  ...
7/24/13
A: The answer is no.  In Idaho, specific wording in code makes it illegal to fish catch-and-release for anadromous (ocean-going) salmon or steelhead if there is not a defined season. 
7/25/13
A: All vendors can issue a duplicate license.  Duplicates cost $7.25.    
7/31/13
A: No, no tiger muskie were planted in Smith Lake. We did have a recent record 44+lb. tiger muskie caught in Little Payette Lake. F08
8/11/13
A: We offered the opportunity to harvest salmon in Clearwater drainage because we have several sources to back-fill any shortages of hatchery fish from hatcheries like Dworshak, Kooskia, Rapid River, and Oxbow.  We don't have the same number of hatcheries to back-fill shortages of fish in the upper ...
8/19/13
A: Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game does not have any rules prohibiting anglers from fishing below the dam, however, the entity that operates the facility may have restrictions to address public safety issues.  Typically, they post signs and have buoy lines to designate safety risk areas.  If you access ...
8/24/13
A: Only if you have a two-pole permit.  With a fishing or combination license, you can only have one apparatus designed to catch fish,  in the water at a time.  With a two-pole permit, you can use two appartatuses actively attempting to take fish - at the same time.   F08
8/25/13
A: There are no set fishing hours for steelhead, so you could fish 24 hours per day.  The only species of fish with set fishing hours are anadromous Chinook Salmon.  Check annually for Chinook seasons, usually set by the Idaho Fish and Game Commission in March or April, for the listed fishing hours.
8/25/13
A: First, on the fire situation in Custer County.  None of the significant fires experienced by Idaho in the summer of 2013 prompted closures in the Salmon/Custer County area.  There have been closures in other parts of the state but the area where your son is hunting was spared.   Ok, our 3-day ...
9/10/13
A: Yes, we have recently stocked early spawning kokanee in Hayden Lake for the purpose of providing a sport fishery.  We have significant numbers of early kokanee from our south Idaho egg taking station at Deadwood Reservoir. Kokanee, in certain waters, can be extremely difficult to manage when ...
9/16/13
A: The proportion of wild fall Chinook that returned to the Snake, Salmon and Clearwater systems was a "good news/bad news" story.  The "good news" was we had a record fall Chinook return to Idaho.  More "good news" was a large portion of the fish were wild.  The "bad news" was that we didn't have ...
9/21/13
A: Our license system is set-up to accept a passport number in lieu of a social security number.  Use that number with an out-of-country address.   F08
9/24/13
A: It's nice to have such a great return of fall Chinook to the Snake and Clearwater Rivers in 2013.  Unfortunately, the season will not be extended past October 31st due to agreements in-place with other management entities.   The only exception to the October 31st closure is the area immediately ...
9/26/13
A: It depends on if we are talking about fishing and hunting seasons, bag limits, gear restrictions, etc. For setting both fish and hunting rules, we have an extensive public input process we follow.  Our Fish and Game Commission actually approved a policy document in 2006 that outlines all steps.  ...
9/26/13
A: Here are some basic rules you need to follow: 1)  Anything with a reel, line, and upto 5 hooks can be used to harvest fish.  Traps (baskets, weirs, etc.) are illegal unless you are trapping crayfish.  You can legally have 5 crayfish traps in the water at once with a valid fishing license. 2) ...
9/28/13
A: Owning real property or paying property taxes within the state of Idaho is not a qualification for residency. Proof of residency is required to buy any resident license. A resident is anyone who has been domiciled in this state with a bona fide intent to make this their place of permanent abode, ...
10/1/13
A: As long as you exercise caution when handling the fish and don't cause mortality, you can take a picture with your fall Chinook before releasing.   F08
10/14/13
A: This same question was asked a few minutes ago, please refer to this answer: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/content/question/will-any-steelhead-be-released-boise-river-november
10/28/13