Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Displaying 501 - 540 of 540 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: With predators, such as coyotes, the following administrative rule applies: 03. Unprotected and Predatory Wildlife. Those species of wildlife classified as Unprotected Wildlife and Predatory Wildlife may be taken in any amount, at any time, and in any manner not prohibited by state or federal law ...
3/16/12
A: Snag Fishing: Taking or attempting to take a fish by use of a hook or lure in any manner or method other than enticing or attracting a fish to strike with, and become hooked in, its mouth or jaw. Game fish which are hooked other than in the mouth or jaw must be released immediately. Snag fishing ...
3/15/12
A:  There is no limit to the number of non resident children under age 14 that can fish accompanied by  the holder of a valid fishing license.  All fish caught and reduced to posession shall be included in the license holders daily/possesion limits in order to fish without a license. Non resident ...
3/4/12
A: Hunting and fishing fees, otherwise known as license dollars, help fund Idaho Fish and Game. License dollars make up about 40 percent of the Fish and Game budget.  The rest comes primarily from federal grants. About 16 percent of the federal money is generated by excise taxes on hunting and ...
3/1/12
A: Yes, if he purchases a two pole permit.   Legislation passed in 2009 allows resident youths to purchase a two pole permit without a fishing license.
2/29/12
A: This is a good idea, and one we have tossed around, but not explored yet.  We will take this into consideration.  It will take some time to establish a framework for something such as this, but this could prove very worthwhile.  Thank you for sharing your idea!
2/27/12
A:  Crayfish do not have a specific possession limit, however you can only have up to 5 traps at one time without obtaining a commercial fishing license and trap tags. This is from the 2012 fishing regulations: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish: Nongame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and ...
2/27/12
A: Crayfish do not have a specific possession limit, however you can only have up to 5 traps at one time without obtaining a commercial fishing license and trap tags. This is from the 2012 fishing regulations: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish: Nongame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and ...
2/21/12
A: Idaho is in its 2012 fishing season which means that anglers must have a 2012 Idaho license.  Steelhead and two-pole permits must also be dated 2012.  (All 2011 season licenses and permits have expired).    
2/20/12
A: It is valid even if you move out of state.  Each year you will get your lifetime license at no charge but you must get tags, licenses and permits at nonresident prices. Thank you.
2/19/12
A: It IS legal to use fish as cut bait with a few exceptions. You can use the head, tail, and entrails of any legal fish. You can use all parts of a non-game fish but NO fillets of game fish. You are ONLY permitted to use the head, tail, and entrails of game fish.
2/18/12
A: Unfortunately, at this time we do not have discounted fishing licenses for nonresident veterans. However, you are able to purchase a daily or season fishing license online and have it mailed to you prior to your trip. Please allow 5-7 business days for mail delivery.  
2/17/12
A: A decision has not yet been made regarding the future of Priest Lake and the lake trout fishery.  IDFG is currently in the “scoping” phase of developing a new statewide fisheries management plan for 2013-2018.  The plan will set direction for Priest and Upper Priest lakes, as well as other ...
2/11/12
A: Yes, but we stress to all individuals the need to obtain a receipt.  This receipt must contain the following information: Name and tribal identification number of Nez Perce tribal member selling the fish Name of the fish buyer Date of the sale Number of salmon sold Species of salmon and where it ...
2/10/12
A: It depends. In most of the state, there are no restrictions on the number of holes, but an angler can fish with up to five poles orlines at a time, and up to five hooks per line. A two-pole validation does not allow more than five lines while ice fishing. All lines must be attended by the angler. ...
2/10/12
A: Yes, the commission ruled to classify all salmon 24 inches and greater as adults; which is the reason for the rule. Fisheries data indicates that in over 7000 fish measured only 6 were 24 inches. The odds of catching a salmon exactly 24 inches long are very slim. Recommend measuring the salmon ...
2/10/12
A: Great to hear you’re wanting to give sturgeon fishing a try here in the Magic Valley Region.  Although your question was short – to answer it well in an email is difficult.  We would encourage you to stop into the Regional Office in Jerome or visit a local sporting goods shop and just chat with ...
2/10/12
A: You can tell the difference by the location of the mouth parts. Chiselmouth mouth parts will be farther back on the head. This picture is of a mountain whitefish.
2/10/12
A: The Summit will be an opportunity to have a conversation with Idahoans who care about wildlife.   Hunters, trappers, anglers and other wildlife conservationists enjoy wildlife in many ways and they are deeply interested in how it is managed.  Early last year, Fish and Game Director Virgil Moore ...
2/10/12
A: Family Fishing Waters are great places to take the grandchildren and the rest of the family fishing. They are easy to get to, the rules are simple and they have plenty of fish to catch. To find good places to take a youngster fishing, directions on how to get there, what kind of fish will you find ...
7/17/11
A: Most resident general season deer and elk tags can be picked up after the controlled hunt drawings are over. Tags for elk zones subject to a quota went on sale Sunday, July 10. Resident quota elk tags available are:ELK ZONE--TAG TYPE--NO. AVAILABLEDworshak--B--2118Lolo--A--128Lolo--B--630Elk City-- ...
7/10/11
A: No. Under Idaho law, anglers do not need permission to fish along a navigable stream as long as they stay within the normal high-water marks and enter and exit the stream from a public right-of-way, such as a road or bridge. Anglers may cross private land only with permission, except to go around ...
6/26/11
A: No. Anglers need to record only adult salmon 24 inches or longer on their permit. Though salmon less than 24 inches, known as jack salmon, need not be recorded on the angler's permit and do not count as part of the season limit of 20 adult salmon, they do count as part of the daily and possession ...
6/19/11
A: No. When the court revokes someone's hunting, fishing or trapping privileges for a period of time, it means just that, the privileges are revoked, whether they need a license or not. It is illegal for anyone to hunt, fish, or trap or purchase a license to do so during the time the privilege is ...
5/26/11
A: Technically the brook trout is a char, more closely related to bull trout than to rainbows or cutthroats. They are not a native species in Idaho. The limit is high because brook trout are very prolific and tend to out-compete and interbreed with the other trout species, including the native bull ...
5/22/11
A: Many Idaho streams are generally high and may be difficult right now. It's not just about whether the fish will bite; it's also a safety question. Keep a close eye on young children around fast moving water. The best advice is to decide where you want to go and call Fish and Game or local tackle ...
5/15/11
A: Lots of environmental conditions affect when the salmon arrive at Lower Granite Dam. Fish and Game opens the season in late April to make sure that in years when the run is early, anglers are able to fish for the salmon. In 2001, a year with a large return, more than 38,000 Chinook salmon had been ...
4/24/11
A: The sign-up period to participate in depredation hunts this year runs from May 1 through June 30. Applications that come in after June 30 are added to the list but have little chance of being selected. Applicants must have a valid Idaho hunting or combination license. Depredation hunts, if needed, ...
4/10/11
A: Residents can buy a daily fishing license but not a three-day salmon-steelhead permit. Residents and nonresidents alike may buy a "license entitling a person to fish in the waters of the state on a day-to-day basis." A resident daily fishing license costs $11.50 plus $5 for each additional day ...
3/27/11
A: Fish and Game stocks some waters all year round. Other waters are stocked at various times during the year. For a current stocking report contact the regional Fish and Game office, or go online to: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/apps/stocking/.
3/6/11
A: Fish and Game stocks some waters all year round. Other waters are stocked at various times during the year. For a current stocking report contact the regional Fish and Game office, or go online to: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/apps/stocking/.
2/17/11
A: Yes, you can. They have been available since January 1, 2003. Because no rules prohibited such plates, the Transportation Department decided it was allowed to issue some special interest plates for such towed vehicles. Wildlife license plates, including the bluebird, elk and cutthroat trout, ...
1/23/11
A: It depends. In most of the state, there are no restrictions on the number of holes, but an ice angler can fish with up to five poles or lines at a time, and up to five hooks per line. A two-pole validation does not allow more than five lines while ice fishing. All lines must be attended by the ...
1/13/11
A: No. Ice fishing rules are slightly different than general fishing for public safety and general crowding. Fishing is allowed only through a hole up to 10 inches in diameter. This reduces the risk of someone falling through holes. (The only exception is on Bear Lake in Southeast Idaho where anglers ...
1/3/11
A: It is simple and easy to make this kind of gift, and it works for lifetime licenses as well as annual licenses. Every Idaho Fish and Game office will sell you a gift certificate, which can be redeemed by the giftee at Fish and Game offices only, anytime within one year. Fish and Game cannot accept ...
12/12/10
A: A gift certificate to cover a new hunting/fishing license is one idea. Also, Fish and Game offers annual license and lifetime license certificates. These licenses are valid for the lifetime of the license holder and are available to all residents of Idaho. If a lifetime certificate holder moves out ...
11/28/10
A: Hunters are asked to file their harvest report, regardless of whether they actually hunted with their tags or whether they took an animal, within 10 days of the harvest or within 10 days of the end of their hunts. There is a hurry: it takes some time to collect reports and turn them into a useful ...
11/21/10
A: No, that is not correct. The season dates printed in the 2010 Big Game Brochure are correct-many units open October 10 this year. The season dates and additional rules are available online at: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/cms/hunt.
9/19/10
A: Applicants whose names were drawn had through August 1 to pick up their controlled hunt tags. If they didn't pick them up, their tags became available for the second drawing. The application period for the second drawing for deer, elk and pronghorn hunts runs through August 15. The drawing will be ...
8/12/10
A: Family Fishing Waters are great places to take the grandchildren and the rest of the family fishing. They are easy to get to, the rules are simple and they have plenty of fish to catch. To find good places to take a youngster fishing, directions on how to get there, what kind of fish will you find ...
7/18/10