Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 801 - 900 of 2841 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: Idaho doesn't require that anyone hunt with a guide.  A hunting partner can go with you...if they have a tag for the area you decide to hunt  they can also harvest an animal.  Remember, a superhunt allows the tag holder to hunt in any hunt in Idaho for that species (controlled, general season ...
4/16/13
A: Since you have had a hunting license in Ohio you do not have to take a hunter education course.  The rule is, if you were born after Jan. 1, 1975 you must show proof that you have taken hunter education or that you have held a valid hunting license in another state. 
4/16/13
A: You can use a seine or throw-net to harvest nongame fish and yellow perch.  The net can be no more than 10' in length or width and must have 3/8" or smaller mesh.  The seine or net cannot be left unattended.  See page 51 of the 2013 - 2015 Fishing Rule booklet.    
4/16/13
A: The short answer to your question is one hundred (100) square inches of fluorescent orange paint is required for a wood post, at an interval of not less than one per 660 feet. There are two statutes which address this issue, Idaho Code Sections 18-7008 (criminal trespass) and 36-1603 (hunting and ...
4/17/13
A: License and tag fees are listed on our website at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/fees/.
4/18/13
A: Hi and thanks for your inquiry/suggestion.    We do have broodstock collection targets for the facilities listed on the “Cumulative Steelhead Hatchery Returns” page (they are listed below); however, using these targets to gauge the status of the run is problematic because most of fish returning to ...
4/19/13
A: Please contact the Idaho Department of Agriculture. 
4/19/13
A: The 3% is charged when you apply for the sheep hunt; the money is collected at that time and, if you draw a tag, the tag is sent to you.  The 3% convenience fee cannot be refunded.
4/19/13
A: Any vendor can sell you the archery permit.  Be sure to take your bowhunter education card information with you when you go to the vendor.  If you order online, enter your bowhunter education number in the "Archery Education" space in your demographic information.  When that is filled in you can ...
4/19/13
A: No.  You may be contacted at some point for information, but no report is required until then.
4/20/13
A: Any person applying for any moose, bighorn sheep, or mountain goat hunt is prohibited from applying for any other big game controlled hunt in the same year. Except: They may apply for a controlled depredation hunt for deer, elk, or pronghorn, a controlled black bear hunt, or leftover deer, elk or ...
4/21/13
A: They were released in November last year (2012).  If we have enough to release in 2013, it won't be until November.
4/21/13
A: Yes, if you are talking about "salvaging" a road killed deer.  Within 24 hours, you can report a wildlife salvage by going online to fishandgame.idaho.gov/roadkill, which will direct you to a self-generating permit that you can print. A copy of the permit must accompany the salvaged wildlife. 
4/22/13
A: An April 22 Idaho Fish and Game Commission tele-conference to set 2013 salmon fishing seasons has been postponed. Based on low counts of spring Chinook salmon at Bonneville Dam, Fish and Game biologists lack sufficient information to project the size of the salmon run to Idaho. The meeting will be ...
4/22/13
A: The physiological changes anadromous fish (fish that migrate from freshwater to saltwater and return to freshwater to reproduce) are remarkable and still not fully understood.  As the fish go through the "smolting" process they change their osmotic balancing features which includes their digestive ...
4/22/13
A: There is only one type of invasive species tag; Idaho law requires that any motorized or non-motorized boat operating in Idaho have an Invasive Species Sticker. Information from the Dept. of Agriculture about Invasive Species and the sticker program is found online at http://www.agri.state.id.us/ ...
4/22/13
A: Yes, you can use a big game decoy while hunting.
4/22/13
A: Please contact the Southwest Region office at 208-465-8465.
4/23/13
A: It was changed to a controlled hunt, not eliminated. Hunt number 2161 is listed in the 2013 Big Game Rules book on page 58. The details are: Application period May 1-June 5 500 Permits All of unit 39 Antlerless-only elk Season dates of September 8-30        
4/23/13
A: Nonresident prices: You must either have an Idaho nonresident hunting license ($154.75) or an Idaho nonresident combination (hunting and fishing license) $240.00. You must also purchase a bear tag ($186.00).  If you decide to add a turkey to your hunting the cost of the tag is $80.00. We list all ...
4/24/13
A: It isn't illegal, but it is not a good idea.  Feeding ducks (or other wildlife) congregates them into a small space, possibly exposing them to illnesses.  It may interrupt their normal migratory patterns, also. It also possibly deprives them of the food that is the most natural for them to eat.
4/24/13
A: Yes, you can.  The Super Hunt drawing is in addition to anything else you want to do...general season or controlled hunts.
4/24/13
A: The archery permit is only required for big game hunting, not turkey hunting.
4/25/13
A: TURKEY SEASON DATES 2013 General Spring Hunt season dates April 15, 2013 through May 25, 2013 Panhandle units 1, 2 (Except Farragut State Park and Farragut WMA) & Units 3, 4, 4A, 5, 6 And  the same dates in the rest of the state in units 8, 8A, 10, 10A, 11, 11A, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 16A, 17, 18 ...
4/25/13
A:   The Idaho Fish and Game Commission will be meeting via conference call Tuesday morning, April 30, to consider Chinook salmon season proposals for the Clearwater, Snake, lower Salmon and Little Salmon rivers. The season setting process was delayed this year in response to low numbers of salmon ...
4/25/13
A: As of late April of 2013, online purchasers can print some licenses and permits BUT not others.  In this specific case, the hunting and fishing combo license can be printed by the purchaser.  The steelhead permit cannot. Here is more specific information: Some - but not all - licenses and tags can ...
4/26/13
A: We have ceased stocking catfish in Beachs Pond due to poor tag returns. Low returns indicating low harvest upset the balance in this pond. Un-harvested catfish exerted too much predation pressure on juvenile largemouth bass and bluegill, essentially crashing their populations. To remedy the ...
4/27/13
A: In some elk zones you can hunt antlerless elk with a general season tag that you can buy over-the-counter.  Many archery seasons allow you to harvest either sex.  The best thing to do is to check current big game rules.  There are also controlled hunt opportunities to hunt antlerless elk.
4/27/13
A:   Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “unprotected” and can be hunted and taken all year.  The only unprotected birds in Idaho are English sparrows, Eurasian-collared doves, and feral pigeons.  These species may be taken in any amounts and at any time by holders of the appropriate ...
4/27/13
A: Idaho’s Hunting Passport is a component of Fish and Game’s mentored hunting program. The Hunting Passport allows any first-time hunter, resident or nonresident, age 8 and older to try hunting for one year with an adult mentor without first having to complete an Idaho hunter education course.   ...
4/27/13
A: The application period is April 1-30.  The date hunters will be notified by is June 10.  The actual drawing will be done in time for that notification.
4/27/13
A: No, turtles are rare in Idaho and several species are considered invasive.  Please report your observation through our IFWIS observation site at the bottom of the IDFG website. F08
4/27/13
A: It is not legal to do this in Idaho.  Lines must be attended by the person fishing.  There is no exception for nongame fish.
4/27/13
A:   Obtaining a New Hunter Education Card from Idaho Fish and Game   You can now look up your Idaho Hunter Education (or Bowhunter Education number) and print out the information from our Website at: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/duplicateprintcards.aspx.
4/28/13
A: There is a waiting period if it was an antlered-only hunt: A person whose name was drawn in an antlered-only controlled deer hunt may  not apply for any other controlled antlered-only deer hunt for one year  except for the second deer, elk and pronghorn application period and leftover controlled ...
4/29/13
A: There are extra tag hunts offered for the deer, elk and pronghorn controlled hunt draws. They literally allow you to hunt for a second deer, elk or pronghorn if you are drawn.  You can apply for one "regular" controlled hunt and one "extra" tag hunt for the same species, possibly drawing 2 tags ...
4/29/13
A: The current estimate is 382 cow elk in Unit 25 and the population objective for this unit is to maintain cow elk between 700 and 1000 animals. The antlerless any weapon and muzzleloader controlled hunts in Unit 25 were eliminated to assist with moving cow elk numbers closer to the objective.  
4/30/13
A: Blacks Creek Reservoir has been an access management nightmare for IDFG, BLM, Ada County Sheriff's office, a private irrigation company, and others.  Unfortunately, vandalism, trash dumping, illegal road pioneering, and a myriad of other misuses had become commonplace.  The final straw occurred ...
4/30/13
A: That is still the case this year.  A parent or grandparent can designate their controlled hunt tag to their minor child or grandchild. The form to do this is on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/huntCHtagPermitDesignation.pdf. Those who draw a trophy species (moose, ...
4/30/13
A: In a low water year, like this year, pretty much all of the water lies on BLM ground. There is a large sign/kiosk along Blacks Creek Road that the BLM put up. It sits on their ground which is publicly accessible. If you park and walk from the sign, you will be legal. The upper portion of the ...
4/30/13
A: For Idaho Concealed Weapons laws, please refer to the Idaho Attorney General's web site at: http://www.ag.idaho.gov/concealedWeapons/concealedWeapons_index.html  
4/30/13
A: Contact the region office for your area.  Panhandle Region2885 W. Kathleen Ave.Coeur d'Alene, ID 83815Phone: (208) 769-1414Fax: (208) 769-1418 Clearwater Region3316 16th St.Lewiston, ID 83501Phone: (208) 799-5010Fax: (208) 799-5012 Southwest Region3101 S. Powerline Rd.Nampa, ID 83686Phone: (208) ...
4/30/13
A: To clarify the purpose of the Idaho Fish and Game Commission’s motorized hunting rule, the Commission amended the rule to clearly define where and when the rule applies. The amended rule also clarifies what classification of wildlife are affected. The rule has a new name which specifically ...
4/30/13
A: The Bureau of Reclamation drained Black Canyon Reservoir this past winter to prepare for construction to increase power production.  This affected fish populations both upstream and downstream of the dam.  Construction  should be done by 2015 at which time we will work cooperatively with the ...
5/1/13
A: The salvage rules apply to road-killed animals only.  The cougar will take care of the deer.
5/1/13
A: The current estimate is 382 cow elk in Unit 25 and the population objective for this unit is to maintain cow elk between 700 and 1000 animals. The antlerless any weapon and muzzleloader controlled hunts in Unit 25 were eliminated to assist with moving cow elk numbers closer to the objective. 
5/2/13
A:  Use of live fish , leeches, frogs, salamanders, waterdogs or shrimp as bait is prohibited in Idaho, except that live crayfish may be used if caught on the body of water being fished. Bait: Organic substances, other than rubber, wood feather, fiber, or plastic, attached to a hook to attract fish. ...
5/5/13
A: Like many upland game birds, there can be dramatic annual variation in the population size.  The Department is unaware of any disease issues with wild turkeys.  There has been a documented decline in turkeys in the southwest part of the state, but we believe that has been a result of harsh winter ...
5/6/13
A:   You do not need a taxidermy license to work on wildlife you harvested. The law applies to all wildlife. If you are mounting animals that you have not harvested yourself, you must obtain a taxidermy license: Idaho Code 36-601 reads: Any person who at any time within the state of Idaho desires to ...
5/6/13
A: The first Chinook salmon has already been trapped at Rapid River hatchery.  Likely the first Chinook will be caught sometime this week although the fishing probably won’t start getting good for a week or two.  Pay attention to the flows as well.  They are projected to come up considerably with all ...
5/6/13
A: All species of hawks, falcons, eagles (birds of prey) are protected non-game by state and federal laws. It is not legal to shoot them. There are mitigating efforts you should take to protect you chicks by keeping them confined or in an outdoor arena that is covered. Sometimes scare tactics, such ...
5/7/13
A: The harvest quota is refined as we get information either from PIT tagged fish passing monitoring points or fish actually arrive at the hatchery.  The quota adjusts based on the estimated harvestable surplus of hatchery fish returning to Rapid River Hatchery.   F08
5/7/13
A: Good; we generally hire 2 to 8 Conservation Officers each year.  Applications are accepted in October, interview assessments in January, and we try to hire in February.
5/7/13
A: Conservation officers work in Idaho's mountains and high deserts, on wild rivers and pristine lakes. ;They travel through this beautiful country on snow machines, horses, jet boats and 4x4 vehicles. This is not an 8 to 5 job, it’s one that allows you to adjust your schedule so you can make your ...
5/7/13
A: You can get a new trapping license beginning June 1.  Your other license doesn't have to expire first (trapping licenses are fiscal year license because they are considered a commercial license; they are valid from July 1 through June 30).
5/7/13
A: We have a photograph of a Northern Idaho Ground Squirrel here:  https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/species/taxa/northern-idaho-ground-squirrel-urocitellus-brunneus This species is a relatively small ground squirrel, being about 9 inches in length.  It has short ears that do not project above the head, ...
5/7/13
A: If the 7 year old is not an Idaho resident, they must fish with someone who has an Idaho fishing license. If the child wants to keep their fish, it becomes part of the license holder's catch.   Idaho resident children can fish even if they are with someone who doesn't have a license.  They can ...
5/7/13
A: You can collect and sell shiners and other nongame fish for bait in Idaho as long as you have the appropriate permits. To collect and market bait fish in Idaho, you would need to acquire a Commercial Fishing License from the Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game along with net tags for your gear.  See the ...
5/8/13
A: The good news is that we just opened a Chinook salmon season.  Here are the details: chinook salmon season opens saturday, may 4 The Idaho Fish and Game Commission Tuesday, April 30, approved a spring Chinook salmon fishing season to start Saturday, May 4, on parts of the Clearwater, Salmon and ...
5/8/13
A: It's too early to tell.  Counts of Chinook salmon passing Bonneville Dam have been below pre-season projections.  We will continue to collect data on the returning fish and if counts show a surplus of fish to our hatchery broodstock needs in the Upper Salmon, we will authorize a season.  At this ...
5/8/13
A: Resident license fees are listed online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/fees/displayFees.cfm?resType=Resident&feeType=License&feeCategory=   Nonresident license fees are listed online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/fees/displayFees.cfm?resType=Nonresident ...
5/8/13
A: Qualifying for and Purchasing an Idaho Archery Permit To buy an archery permit, all bowhunters must possess a valid hunting license and show proof they have completed an approved bowhunter education course or show evidence of having been licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state ...
5/8/13
A: Yes.  The general season tag can be used in an any-weapon hunt and, with the addition of an archery validation, used in an archery-only hunt.  Here is the information you asked for for unit 39:   General Season-Any Weapon Regular Tag 10/10/13-10/31/13 Antlered Mule and White-tailed Deer ...
5/8/13
A: You must get a duplicate of your fishing license to continue fishing.  All vendors can issue a duplicate.
5/9/13
A: The archery permit is not required to hunt turkeys.  The permit and the requirement for either education or experience applies to big game hunting only.
5/9/13
A: The rule regarding using power-lighted equipment on bows for big game hunting is:  "It is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals with any electronic or tritium-powered device attached to an arrow, bolt or bow.  Except disabled archery permit holders may use a nonmagnifying sight with battery ...
5/10/13
A: Idaho residents who have lived here at least 5 years can get a senior license beginning on their 65th birthday. 
5/10/13
A: Thank you for your suggestion.  It will be forwarded to the Wildlife Department.
5/10/13
A: Bear bait permits can only be purchased from IDFG Region offices and Fish and Game Headquarters. The Southeast Region office is located in Pocatello at 1345 Barton Road.  Their office hours are 8:00-5:00 MT.  If you have further questions, call them at 1-208-232-4703.    
5/10/13
A: Yes, attractants such as WD-40 or other scents that are nontoxic or don't threaten human or fish health can be applied to lures.  Think of it this way - if you're comfortable applying a substance to a lure, to attract a fish that you will eat, it's probably ok.
5/10/13
A: No; there are disease  concerns with  raccoons (rabies) so individuals cannot own a raccoon as a pet.
5/10/13
A: You can enter the superhunt drawing...residency does not effect the superhunts.
5/11/13
A: There is good Northern Pike Fishing in the big Idaho Panhandle lakes.  A record pike was caught in Lower Twin Lake in 2010.
5/11/13
A: Yes, there are smallmouth bass in Long Tom Reservoir.
5/12/13
A: Badgers can be hunted or trapped year round.  You must have the appropriate Idaho hunting or trapping license to do so.
5/13/13
A: The catch-and-keep season for bass is open year-around on most waters.  There are, however,  a few exceptions where we are trying to manage for quality or trophy populations of bass. In order for a fish to qualify as a "state record" the fish needs to be weighed on a state certified scale.  These ...
5/14/13
A: Whenever the body of water is open where you are fishing.  If it is closed, you cannot catch crayfish.
5/16/13
A: You can purchase a license online and print it at home, but the actual tags would be mailed to you.  They go out within 5-7 days of order.  Buying license and tags at an Idaho vendor is a good alternative.  
5/16/13
A: Yes, you can use a suppressor in Idaho if you have the proper federal permit.    
5/16/13
A: The hunting passport cannot be used to apply for a controlled hunt. A person holding a passport can only hunt in a general season hunt with their mentor.  
5/17/13
A: Yes, Alabama rigs are legal for use in Idaho.  Our rules allow up to 5 hooks per line. 
5/17/13
A: The deadline to enter this year's first Super Hunt drawing is May 31. With every entry in Fish and Game's Super Hunt drawings, hunters get a chance at winning the hunt of a lifetime, and their entry fee helps support hunter and angler access to and across private lands. The first drawing in June ...
5/17/13
A: Great question!  The large square-shaped fenced-in area on top of Hammer Flat is a research plot for the USDA Agricultural Research Service Northwest Watershed Research Center (ARS-NWRC).  The research conducted there primarily focuses on the establishment of perennial native grasses and ...
5/18/13
A: Please contact the Salmon Region office at 1-208-756-2271.  Their staff can help you.
5/20/13
A: Any Idaho vendor can issue a duplicate license.
5/21/13
A: Information on all of the IDFG Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) is posted on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/wma/.  You can check the details there and a phone number is provided for you to call for other information.
5/21/13
A: Possession and Sale of Wildlife Found Dead: Big game animal parts, such as hides, horns – except horns from bighorn sheep – bones, antlers and teeth, of deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, mountain goat, black bear, mountain lion and gray wolves that have died of natural causes, including legally ...
5/22/13
A: RESIDENTS ONLY - License buyer must present to vendor a letter from SSI, SSDI, or Railroad Retirement board showing person is currently disabled and economically disadvantaged or a signed and completed Certification of Permanent Disability [PDF, 244 KB] form. IDAPA Rule [PDF, 36 KB].
5/22/13
A: All birds in Idaho are protected except starlings, Eurasian collared doves, English sparrows and feral pigeons. Protected nongame birds cannot be hunted, taken or possessed (including parts of birds, even if found dead). All hawks, owls, eagles and vultures are protected. Game birds may be taken ...
5/22/13
A: May 22, 2013 Idfg closes clearwater from railroad bridge to cherrylane; other sections stay open for jacks   On Tuesday, May 21, the Idaho Department of Fish and Game closed the lower Clearwater River from the Camas Prairie Railroad Bridge in Lewiston to the Cherrylane Bridge to all salmon ...
5/22/13
A: They will be posted online by June 10.
5/22/13
A: He can contact headquarters at 208-334-3700.  They can look into it for you.
5/22/13
A: No. 
5/24/13
A: Please contact the Panhandle Region office at 208-769-1414.  They are familiar with that area and can help you.  
5/25/13
A: There is no size, bag or possession limit for catfish in Swan Falls Reservoir.
5/26/13
A: It is June 8, 2013.
5/26/13
A: No, IDFG does not require a permit to float the Box Canyon.  Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation does require that a boater have an invasive sticker permit before floating.   For motor boats, this is covered in the registration of the boat.  For non-motorized boats, this sticker will have to ...
5/27/13
A: A fishing license is required for anglers 14 and older. A hunting license is available for youth at 10 years old (they can hunt for varmints, turkeys, small game and waterfowl).  At 12 a hunter can hunt for big game.  They must be able to provide that they have passed hunter education.
5/27/13
A: The requirement that rainbow trout must have heads and tails attached while in transit is due to the fact that there are some fisheries with length restrictions on harvested fish.  Examples would be lake trout from Payette Lake (none over 30"); So. Fork Snake River brown trout harvest (2 over 16 ...
5/27/13
A: There aren't any sturgeon in Lucky Peak.
5/28/13