Idaho Fish and GameIDFG Logo
IDFG Regions
Region 1 - PanhandleRegion 2 - ClearwaterRegion 3 - SouthwestRegion 4 - Magic ValleyRegion 5 - SoutheastRegion 6 - Upper Snake Region 7 - SalmonView list of all Regions

Questions & Answers

Displaying 176 - 200 of 2091 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: Ok, as biologists we like to have data "in-hand" before setting seasons and bag limits.  The primary information we rely on is the number of Passive Induced Transponder (PIT) tagged adult fish that pass the first dam on the Columbia River... Read more
4/29/14
A: In short-range weapon hunts, you may use any of the following when hunting with a muzzleloader:  pelletized powder, sabots, magnifying scopes, 209 primers, closed breach, and projectiles made of some or all non-lead material.
4/29/14
A: Harvest estimates from 2013 Controlled Hunts for Deer, Elk, and Pronghorn were posted on the IDFG website on 5/3/2014. Harvest estimates from 2013 General Hunts for Elk were posted on 5/22/2014. Harvest estimates from 2013 General Hunts... Read more
4/29/14
A: Turkey populations are higher in other parts of the state.   If looking in Unit 39 then historic places include Cottonwood Creek and up in the Grimes and Idaho City area.
4/29/14
A:   Deer hunters may choose either a regular deer tag or a white-tailed deer tag. The regular deer tag is valid for any hunt listed under "2014 Regular Deer Tag Seasons" on pages 15-19 and may be used to take a mule deer or white-tailed... Read more
4/29/14
A: During the May 1-June 5 application period you can apply for more than one species (on separate applications, of course).    
4/28/14
A: You are correct.  Here is the information from the Big Game rules book: Containers: No bait may be contained within paper, plastic, glass, metal, wood, or other nonbiodegradable materials, except that a single metal container with a... Read more
4/28/14
A: Hunter education is required for everyone getting a hunting license in the state of Idaho who was born January 1, 1975 or later.  A concealed weapons permit is not a replacement for a hunter education course.
4/28/14
A: By rule, it is illegal to transport live crayfish away from the body of water where they were captured.  This is to prevent spreading of invasive crayfish to new waters and to prevent crayfish diseases and parasites from being spread to... Read more
4/27/14
A: You must purchase a hunting license and a regular deer tag.  They are both sold over-the-counter so you can purchase them when you want after July for fall hunting.  The deer tag is valid for any general season hunt, including unit 27.... Read more
4/27/14
A: Paintball is prohibited on lands owned and managed by IDFG (WMAs, access sites ...) by rule IDAPA 13.01.03.100.p. http://adm.idaho.gov/adminrules/rules/idapa13/0103.pdf. If the land is managed by other agencies, you must contact them.
4/26/14
A: Channel catfish do successfully spawn in a few waterbodies throughout the state, however, most waters in North Idaho do not maintain the minimum water temperature long enough (>75 F) for reproduction. Channel catfish are a relatively... Read more
4/26/14
A: This violation is a misdemeanor.  The penalties include a fine that can range from $25.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs and may include jail time up to six months.  The magistrate may revoke fishing, hunting and/or trapping privileges for... Read more
4/26/14
A: You must check with the land management agency about parking/camping permits.
4/26/14
A: This is a question for a land management agency (Forest Service or BLM).
4/26/14
A: Contact the Hunter Education department at Fish and Game Headquarters (208-334-3746).  They can look up students to determine if they are signed up.
4/25/14
A: To whom it may concern, First, thanks for taking the time to contact us with your question.  This is a common question we receive each year.  Anglers assume the Idaho Department of Fish and Game has jurisdiction over the boating... Read more
4/25/14
A: Yes, it would theoretically be possible to draw more than one super hunt tag.  One thing to remember is that applications from the first yearly drawing do not carry over to the second drawing.
4/25/14
A: You cannot leave the can in the woods once you leave.  Also, there may be fire restrictions and concerns on some forest areas at certain times of the year.  Otherwise, you may use burned honey for bear bait.
4/25/14
A: Cam, Thanks for the question on the 2-zone tag for elk and what is the plan for implementation for such a option? The Idaho Fish and Game Commission approved the Elk Management Plan in January. The next step is to begin to implement the... Read more
4/24/14
A: We obtain the age of harvested wolves by counting the annular "rings" from a cross-section of the teeth (much as with aging a tree).  We accumulate teeth for aging over the course of the season, submitting them to an external lab about... Read more
4/24/14
A: That's an interesting question - why do jack Chinook salmon get protection similar to what the adult fish get. Part of the reason is that they actually are sexually mature fish. Jacks are males that return to freshwater to spawn after... Read more
4/24/14
A: No.  The $6.00 and $4.00 that you pay to enter the superhunt drawings are  application fees and application fees are not refundable.  The application fee for the moose controlled hunt is not refunded, either.
4/24/14
A: This depends on the age of the hunter, hunting license requirments, what is being hunted, and where the hunting occurs.  This question is too broad to answer in this format.  Please return to our website for specific rules and regulations... Read more
4/23/14
A: No...the bag and possession limits for turkeys state that: The daily bag limit is one bearded turkey per day in the spring and one turkey (either sex) per day in the fall, except in Units, 1, 2, 3 and 5 where 5 turkeys (either sex) may be... Read more
4/23/14

Pages