Idaho Fish and GameIDFG Logo
IDFG Regions
Region 1 - PanhandleRegion 2 - ClearwaterRegion 3 - SouthwestRegion 4 - Magic ValleyRegion 5 - SoutheastRegion 6 - Upper Snake Region 7 - SalmonView list of all Regions

Questions & Answers

Displaying 1651 - 1675 of 1891 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: The language of this rule is specific to “accidental kills caused by vehicle/wildlife collisions."
4/3/12
A: No.
4/3/12
A: No.  The public is not authorized to dispatch a wounded animal.  Please report injured wildlife by contacting your nearest Conservation Officer, Sheriff’s office, or IDFG regional office.
4/3/12
A: No.  Idaho rule prohibits the sale of parts of Bighorn Sheep that have been found dead of natural causes or salvaged at the site of a vehicle collision.  
4/3/12
A: No.  Migratory species, such as waterfowl, doves, crows, and protected wildlife and/or birds, such as eagles, hawks, owls and songbirds, may not be salvaged or possessed, nor can protected non-game animals and Threatened or Endangered... Read more
4/3/12
A: Notifying Fish and Game within 24 hours and obtaining a salvage permit within 72 hours is a legal requirement to lawfully possess salvaged wildlife.    Within 24 hours, you must report a wildlife salvage by going online to http://... Read more
4/3/12
A: By notifying the Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game (IDFG) and completing reporting requirements, people can now: Recover and keep wildlife species classified as upland birds, upland game animals, big game, furbearers, unprotected wildlife, and... Read more
4/3/12
A: Yes, the 2012 Idaho Legislature added a wolf tag to the Sportsman's Package; it will become part of the Package beginning July 1, 2012.
4/3/12
A: In any hunt, including any-weapon seasons, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals:   • By any means other than approved firearms, muzzleloaders and archery methods. • With any electronic device attached to, or incorporated on,... Read more
4/2/12
A: You need good knowledge of fish and wildlife management practices and be a great listener and communicator. Competitive candidates have a bachelor's degree in wildlife or fisheries management or closely related fields. You must also be... Read more
4/2/12
A: Canada geese are protected as migratory birds by the federal government and season framework is regulated by them.  However, we do have some leeway in how the rules are set in Idaho under their umbrella, and we have maximum allowable... Read more
4/2/12
A: Yes, it is legal to hunt ground squirrels south of the Payette River and north of the Snake River.
3/31/12
A: It is legal to trap and eat fox squirrels with the possession of a trapping license.
3/30/12
A: The Wildlife Department informed us today (March 30, 2012) that the statistics for 2011 big game harvest should be ready in 2 weeks...look for them in mid-April.
3/30/12
A: We expect the 2012 Big Game Rules to be ready the second or third week of April.  They will be posted online and hard copies will be sent out to vendors at that time.  
3/30/12
A: Twelve (12) years of age. Persons under twelve (12) possessing a firearm for hunting must be accompanied by a licensed adult. Idaho Code Section 36-1508(b).
3/29/12
A: At this time we are unaware of any.  We don't track them because they aren't considered wildlife and we don't manage them.
3/29/12
A: Yes, expandable broadheads are legal to hunt turkeys and other "non big game" animals.    
3/28/12
A: The ATV rules for big game hunting are posted online in the 2012 Big Game rules book at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/rules/?getPage=63 on pages 79 and 80.  Printed copies should be at your local vendor by April 27.    
3/28/12
A: Idaho doesn't have a collector's waterfowl stamp.  
3/27/12
A: Gophers are different from ground squirrels.  Most ground squirrels in the Weiser area are southern Idaho ground squirrels and are protected and cannot be killed.  The ground squirrels found in the Parma area are Piute ground squirrels... Read more
3/26/12
A: The application period is May 1-June 5.  A new rules book will be out in April.  You can put in for more than one species during this application period.
3/25/12
A: You can only purchase a trapping license at a Fish and Game Region office or Headquarters.    
3/22/12
A: A hunting license is required at 10 years old for unprotected game and the child must take hunter education to get the license.
3/22/12
A: Yes, for hunting upland game birds expandable broadheads are consider a lawful means of take.  For your convenience on page 48 of the Upland Game, Furbearer & Turkey Seasons and Rules brochure there is a section outlining unlawful... Read more
3/22/12

Pages