Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Displaying 1801 - 1850 of 2659 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: Great question and the answer is that most public lands are open to hunting.  The trick is that it might be hard to locate a single map that shows all levels of public land at the state and federal levels.  The BLM has maps available that show land ownership beyond their own lands, including state ...
1/12/13
A: A nonresident can use this license to hunt predatory and unprotected animals only (see list below).  The cost is $35.50 and the license is valid through the end of August only.  It cannot be used to apply for a controlled hunt.   Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals Some animals are ...
1/11/13
A: Contact the IDFG License Department for information.  The number is 208-334-3700.
1/11/13
A: The amount of private land within Ted Trueblood WMA has not changed.      There is still a 40 acre square of private property in the middle that is well marked as private/No Trespassing and contains an old house site in the trees on the bench and a private hunting pond on the lower bench between ...
1/10/13
A: You are very observant.  The answer to your question has to do with differences in behavioral characteristics between deer and antelope. Deer are "jumpers" and when they encounter a fence, adult deer will jump over the fence and attempt to cross the interstate to continue their journey/migration ...
1/10/13
A: Expandable broadheads were first made illegal for big game hunting in Idaho during the early 1990s. At that time there was broad public opposition to their use and concern about the "failure rate" of some of the early models. In 2006, the Idaho Fish and Game Commission evaluated all archery and ...
1/9/13
A: In addition to hunting forest grouse, unprotected nongame, and predatory wildlife (e.g. coyote) you can hunt big game species during any weapon and short-range weapon hunts.
1/9/13
A: No, all raptors are protected.    
1/8/13
A: Thank you for the email. I believe the location you are referring to is owned by Bennett Timber Company. Unfortunately, there are not any public shooting ranges in Latah County so folks wanting to shoot are left to find random locations. We have posted safety zone signs to keep people from ...
1/7/13
A: Go on our website to report the road kill.  The link is https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ifwis/observations/salvage/.    
1/6/13
A: Your purchase of youth hunting/fishing licenses and tags will be valid through the end of the year, even after you turn 18.    
1/6/13
A: According to state statute, cottontail rabbits may not be propagated and released into the wild.  In order to raise and release pheasants, the sources stock needs to be National Poultry Improvement Program (NPIP) certified.  To release captive-reared pheasants, an indivdual must possess a Wildlife ...
1/5/13
A: It states in the Big Game Rules: During a muzzleloader-only season, it is illegal to pursue or kill a big game animal with any firearm, muzzleloading pistol, or weapon other than a muzzleloading rifle or musket.  A crossbow isn't considered a "lesser weapon" according to Fish and Game rules.  
1/5/13
A: The nongame gun license is valid from date of purchase through August and costs $35.50.
1/5/13
A: Please contact the IDFG Region office in your area to talk to the Landowner Sportsman Coordinator.  Our region offices are listed on our website.
1/3/13
A: Thank you for your suggestion.  It will be forwarded to our License Department.
1/3/13
A: A hunting license is only required if you are hunting. 
1/1/13
A: We don't have a DAV discount on a fishing only license but we do have a discounted DAV combination (hunting/fishing) license.  It costs $5.00 and is available for residents only.
1/1/13
A: Coyotes are classified as predators and carp are classified as a unprotected nongame fish. Both can be left in the field.  Hunters are required to remove and care for the edible meat of big game animals, except black bears, mountain lions, and gray wolves. 
1/1/13
A: No.  You must get a 2013 Idaho hunting license and migratory bird validation.  The federal duck stamp is still valid and doesn't need to be replaced.
1/1/13
A: Coyotes can be hunted year round and we do not have restrictions on how many you can kill. You must have an Idaho hunting license to hunt them. Please contact BLM directly to see if the area you want to hunt in is open. 
12/31/12
A: Yes, you are required to have an Idaho hunting license to hunt in Idaho, including hunting jack rabbits.
12/31/12
A: The Idaho Fish and Game Commission does not have any rules which regulate the use or placement of trail cameras. The use and placement of trail cameras would be subject to regulation by the landowner or land manager.
12/31/12
A: The season dates for chukar and gray partridge hunting are September 15, 2012 through January 31, 2013.  (Daily bag limit is 8 chukar and 8 gray partridge.  Possession limit is 24 chukar and 24 gray partridge).
12/30/12
A: The information copied below lists many of the animals that may be hunted and those that may not be hunted.   Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals (MAY BE HUNTED--HUNTING OR TRAPPING LICENSE REQUIRED) Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “unprotected” and can be hunted and ...
12/29/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game doesn't pay a bounty on coyotes and our Region offices are unaware of any other department that does.
12/29/12
A: There is a link on our website to roadkill and salvage reporting.  It is https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ifwis/observations/salvage/
12/29/12
A: A few years ago, the Department developed a proposal that would have allowed the use of lighted nocks while bowhunting for big game. Public input received was split between supporting and not supporting the proposal. Additionally, the majority of public testimony received by the Idaho Fish and ...
12/29/12
A: A person whose name was drawn in an antlered-only controlled deer hunt may not apply for any other controlled antlered-only deer hunt for one year  except for the second deer, elk and pronghorn application period and leftover controlled hunt drawings or sales. • For example, a hunter who drew a ...
12/29/12
A: Please contact the Southwest Region office at 465-8465 to find out the stocking schedule for the Meridian area.
12/28/12
A: Please contact the Tribal Authorities for hunting information on the Reservation.  They are in charge of that area.
12/28/12
A: Spotlight permits can only be issued through an Idaho Fish & Game Regional Office. Not all regions allow spotlight hunting of unprotected species (jack rabbits) so you might want to check with your regional office to see if they do issue spotlight permits before making the drive there.
12/28/12
A: Resident salmon in Ririe Reservoir are commonly called kokanee, and are managed under the Upper Snake Region general bag and possession limits (page 29 of the 2012 rules booklet).  You are allowed to keep 6 per person per day. 
12/27/12
A: Yes.  We ask every hunter who had deer, elk and pronghorn tags to complete a mandatory harvest report.  The link to making your report is online at https://id.outdoorcentral.us/id/HunterReporting/welcome.
12/27/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have the resources or legal authority to create or maintain such a layer.  The State of Idaho also does not have legal authority to transmit parcel (private landownership or cadastral) data statewide.  At this moment, there are only three counties for which agreements ...
12/26/12
A: List of Species that Can be Salvaged Big Game Animals Black Bear (Ursus americanus) California Bighorn Sheep (Ovis canadensis californiana) Elk (Cervus canadensis) Gray Wolf (Canis lupus) Moose (Alces americanus) Mountain Goat (Oreamnos americanus) Mountain Lion (Felis concolor) Mule Deer ( ...
12/26/12
A: Please contact the IDFG Region office in your area.  They license falconers and would know the requirements.
12/24/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game has no rules prohibiting the use of flash suppressors, also known as silencers, for hunting.  You may want to check with local law enforcement jurisdictions such as county sheriffs to see if there are any local laws prohibiting possession and/or use.
12/24/12
A: No!  It is illegal to shoot/hunt from a vehicle unless you are handicapped and qualify and obtain a special permit to do so. 
12/24/12
A: IDFG information on Big Game Winter Feeding http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/?getPage=57   The only legal restriction on feeding Big Game is in eastern Idaho. The Idaho State Department of Agriculture has rules which prohibit the feeding of Big Game in certain counties in Eastern Idaho ...
12/23/12
A: Moose were first hunted through a general hunt format from 1893 to 1897.  Hunting was closed from 1898 until 1946 when a controlled hunt was established in eastern Idaho.  Additional controlled hunts were implemented in north central and northern Idaho in 1954 and 1957, respectively.
12/23/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have a code or rule that specifically defines the distance you are required to be away from the road before discharging a firearm.  However, Idaho Code 36-1508 (copied and pasted below) just explains that you cannot shoot from or across a public highway.  If you are ...
12/22/12
A: Fish and Game rules prohibit the use a firearm "with any electronic device attached to, or incorporated on, the firearm or scope; except scopes containing battery powered or tritium lighted reticles are allowed."  Therefore, laser rangefinding rifle scopes attached to a rifle would be illegal to ...
12/22/12
A: He must take hunter education before he can actually hunt, but he can still accompany you in the field.
12/22/12
A: Yes, Fish and Game can help you obtain a new card.  Our Hunter Education records go back to 1978.  Contact Headquarters (208-334-3700) or one of our Fish and Game offices.  They can look up your hunter education number and send you a new card if your information is still on file.
12/21/12
A: The area that you describe is part of the Niagara Springs WMA and you are free to access it.  However, removing any object of archaeological, geological, or historical value or interest is prohibited on lands owned or controlled by the Department of Fish and Game.
12/21/12
A: Idaho Code 202(s) defines residency for the purposes of purchasing resident hunting and fishing license. In part the code states that a person must be domiciled in Idaho with the bona fide intent to make Idaho their permanent abode. Simple ownership of property in Idaho does not constitute ...
12/21/12
A: There are several nonresident license options: If you are also hunting big game, you can get a combination hunting/fishing license for $240.00 or a hunting license for $154.75. If you are only going to hunt turkeys and other small game, you can get a small game hunting license for $97.75.  If you ...
12/21/12
A: It is unclear which Clean Shot broadheads you are referring to.  However, if it is the series of broadheads that have a laser built into them, they are illegal for big game hunting in Idaho.  They could be used to hunt predatory wildlife, unprotected wildlife, upland game, and small game that take ...
12/19/12
A: The Commission did consider bonus points in July, 2010, but decided to maintain the random drawing process that is in place today.  One of the key issues discussed was that in order to improve drawing odds for one, you need to decrease drawing odds for another. This places stronger odds against ...
12/19/12