Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Displaying 1751 - 1800 of 2735 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: An Idaho hunting license is required.  If you are only hunting ground squirrels you can purchase a nongame license for $35.50.  If it is purchased before July 1, 2013, it will only be valid through August 31, 2013.  If it is purchased after July 1, 2013, it will be valid for the calendar year, ...
3/27/13
A: His name is Charles (Chip) Corsi.  The office number is 208-769-1414.
3/27/13
A: You don't need a license, and the only restrictions are on access and travel on the land. Horn hunters, like other outdoor recreationists, must secure permission to cross or look for antlers on private land, and they must abide by transportation restrictions on federal and state public lands. Horn ...
3/27/13
A: Unfortunately, yes it will be drained for irrigation.  We have no plans to restock the reservoir until adiquate water will support a fishery. F08
3/26/13
A: They may be hunted all year...a hunting license is required. Details below: Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals Some animals are classified as “predators” or as  “unprotected” and can be hunted and taken all year. Animals classified as predators in Idaho include coyotes, raccoons, ...
3/25/13
A: Our best channel catfish area is the Snake River downstream of Swan Falls Dam all the way down to and including the upper 1/3 of Brownlee Reservoir. This is nearly 120 miles of river and another 20 miles of reservoir that has a very abundant channel catfish population. There are also some ...
3/25/13
A: Lawful Methods of Take Upland Game Birds   To take upland game birds in Idaho, all hunters may use a bow, muzzleloader shooting shot or shotgun with lead or steel shot with shells not exceeding 3 ½ inches in length. Shotguns are not required to be plugged when hunting upland game birds.   ...
3/24/13
A: It won't be available until actual 65th birthday (if the senior has been an Idaho resident for at least 5 years).
3/23/13
A: Yes; coyotes are not a game animal--they are classified as a predatory animal--so calls can be used when hunting them.    
3/21/13
A: Yes, you can. Details below:   Coyotes are classified as Predatory wildlife in Idaho. The only firearm restriction for the hunting of Predatory, Furbearers, or Unprotected wildlife is that “no person shall …hunt with any weapon the possession of which is prohibited by state or federal law.” IDAPA ...
3/21/13
A: The most current Chinook salmon season information is posted on our website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110.  Please check this information for the answer for your question about what is open or call the Salmon Hotline (Toll Free): 1-855-287-2702 for information.  
3/21/13
A: If you are hunting fox, a hunting license is what you need.  You only need a trapping license if you are trapping them.
3/20/13
A: Beginning August 1, unsold general season deer (and elk) tags are available for any hunter to purchase for use as a second tag. 
3/20/13
A: Please contact Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation at 1-800-247-6332.  They can answer your question. Thanks  
3/19/13
A: A combination license is included in the Sportsman's package. 
3/19/13
A: It is legal as long as you remain with the jug.  You can have one fishing line in Idaho (or 2 lines with a two-pole permit) and it must be tended. So, if you teather a line to float/jug, you must remain with the float/jug for as long as you are fishing.
3/18/13
A: Methods of Take (Steelhead) • Only single-pointed barbless hooks are allowed when fishing for steelhead in the South Fork Clearwater River. • No person shall kill or retain in possession any steelhead which has been hooked other than in the mouth or jaw. Any steelhead hooked other than in the ...
3/18/13
A: Information about volunteering (and who to contact in your area) is online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/about/volunteer/.  
3/18/13
A: Thank you for your question.  2012 harvest data for trophy species will be available by the end of March.  2012 data  harvest data for deer, elk, and pronghorn will be available by the end of April. In the mean time you can view summarized raw mandatory harvest report data at this link: https:// ...
3/18/13
A: Yes, they can. 
3/17/13
A:  Any person applying for any moose, bighorn sheep, or mountain goat hunt is prohibited from applying for any other big game controlled hunt in the same year. Except: They may apply for a controlled depredation hunt for deer, elk, or pronghorn, a controlled black bear hunt, or leftover deer, elk ...
3/17/13
A: Yes, you can hunt rock chucks.  You must have an Idaho hunting license.
3/17/13
A: Nonresident general season tags (tags sold over the counter) are available now.  The controlled hunt tag application period is May 1-June 5.    
3/17/13
A: Yes, you can still get the bait permit that way.  
3/17/13
A: It depends on the reason you do it...if you are baiting animals to hunt them, it is not legal.  If you are attracting them for photography or wildlife watching purposes, it is legal.
3/17/13
A: I would recommend a jet boat for most of the Upper Snake River.
3/16/13
A: He can get a hunting license as soon as he finishes hunter education (in this case, while he is still 11).  Be sure to get a junior hunting license, not the youth small game license.  You  can use this license number to enter him into a controlled hunt.  By the way--the application period is May 1 ...
3/16/13
A: It was last stocked in November, 2012.  Contact the Southeast Region office to find out the next stocking date.
3/16/13
A: A hunting license is only required if you are actually hunting.
3/15/13
A: Please contact the Southwest Region office (208-465-8465) for information.  Thanks
3/14/13
A: Contact Fish and Game Headquarters (208-334-3700).  They will put you in touch with the License Department who will work with you to become a vendor.
3/14/13
A: You are correct. As long as the elk zone tag that you purchase is open for an archery season AND an any-weapon (rifle) season you can use the same tag for the two weapon types... Thanks
3/14/13
A: Hunting of Predatory & Unprotected Animals Some animals are classified as “predators” or as “unprotected” and can be hunted and taken all year. Animals classified as predators in Idaho include coyotes, raccoons, jackrabbits, skunks, weasels, and starling. The most frequently hunted unprotected ...
3/14/13
A: IDAHO WEAPON RESTRICTIONS   Rifle and Shotgun   In any hunt, including any-weapon seasons, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals:   • By any means other than approved firearms, muzzleloaders and archery methods.   • With any electronic device attached to, or incorporated on, the ...
3/13/13
A: It is legal to use a .22 to hunt whistle pigs.  You must have an Idaho hunting license.
3/12/13
A: We are not planning that at this time.  Learn more about the Commissions stance on this previously answered question.
3/12/13
A: There isn't a specific season for it.  Please check with the local IDFG office that administers the area where you want to look for sheds to see if there are any closures of the area to protect wildlife.
3/12/13
A: The count started inb late February. Counts of adult hatchery and natural steelhead to date are as follows:       2013 Pahsimeroi Weir  Counts   AdultsSteelhead Trapped Date Hatchery Natural Total 25-Feb     2 26-Feb       27-Feb       28-Feb       1-Mar 6   6 2-Mar       3-Mar       4-Mar 15 1 16 ...
3/12/13
A: Yes, you can carry a weapon for protection while you are hiking or looking for shed antlers.  
3/11/13
A: Thank you for your question.  2012 harvest data for trophy species will be available by the end of March.  2012 data  harvest data for deer, elk, and pronghorn will be available by the end of April. In the mean time you can view summarized raw mandatory harvest report data at this link: https:// ...
3/11/13
A: We only stock steelhead in the Boise River around Thanksgiving.  We will announce the specific dates in November.
3/11/13
A: That is up to the land management agency (such as the Forest Service or BLM).  Please check with them for information.
3/10/13
A: It is legal to hunt coyotes in Idaho using manual or electronic predator calls. The use of electronic predator calls are restricted for big game animals; and some furbearers may only be taken by trapping in certain areas (which would preclude the use of firearms and predator calls). Please review ...
3/10/13
A: The majority of the ducks in the southeast region are along the Snake River corridor.  This is not to say there is not great hunting elsewhere, just that most of the ducks are here.  From the mouth of the Little Blackfoot River (near Tilden Bridge) downstream into American Falls Reservoir, the ...
3/10/13
A: Obtaining a New Hunter Education Card from Idaho Fish and Game   You can now look up your Idaho Hunter Education (or Bowhunter Education number) and print out the information from our Website at: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/duplicateprintcards.aspx.
3/10/13
A: They will be online and in print in April before the application period for deer, elk, pronghorn and fall bear controlled hunts (May 1-June 5).
3/10/13
A: An instructor-led course costs $8.00 ($9.31 if you sign up online). It costs around $32.00 to take the course online and then take the internet course field day (24.00-25.00 for the internet part of it and then 8.00 for the field day.  
3/9/13
A: Send your question to idfginfo@idfg.idaho.gov.  Your question can then be forwarded to the region offices for information.
3/9/13
A: Please contact the IDFG office in the area for information: Office / Region Locations Administratively, the Idaho Department of Fish and Game is divided into regions with offices in Coeur d'Alene, Lewiston, Nampa, Jerome, Pocatello, Idaho Falls and Salmon. In addition, a subregional office in ...
3/8/13
A: Idaho Residency Requirements Thursday, March 14, 2013 Proof of residency is required to buy any resident license. A resident is anyone who has been domiciled in this state with a bona fide intent to make this their place of permanent abode, for a period of not less than 6 months immediately ...
3/8/13