Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 2601 - 2700 of 3036 questions
Question Asked
A: There are risks and potential safety hazards when stopping on many roadways and highways.  Motorists choosing to stop and retrieve or move wildlife on any road assume all responsibility for their actions should an accident result due to them stopping to retrieve or move wildlife of any kind. ...
8/2/12
A: It's easier if I first list the game fish.  They are all the trout species, all the salmon species, grayling, whitefish, cisco, crappie, perch, bass, all catfish/bullheads, sunfish, sturgeon, northern pike, tiger muskie, walleye, sauger, burbot, bullfrogs, and crayfish.  That essentially leaves ...
8/2/12
A: Please contact the Regional Fisheries Manager at the Southwest Regional Office via phone 208-465-8465 ext. 301
8/2/12
A: The list is online at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/controlledHunts/?getPage=108.    
8/2/12
A: The cost of tags is tied to the specific type of license you have.  If you have a senior combination license or a Disabled Veteran's license you can get tags at a reduced rate.  Please contact the Idaho License Department at 208-334-3700 to see what you can do to straighten this out.    
8/2/12
A: You can contact any Fish and Game office.  They have access to hunter education records and can make a new card for you.  Offices are listed in all of our rules books.
7/31/12
A: Specific zone information, including total numbers of bulls, cows, and calves in each survey can be found in our annual surveys and inventory reports on elk. The 2010 report is available on our website: https://research.idfg.idaho.gov/wildlife/Wildlife%20Technical%20Reports/Elk%20Statewide%20PR10. ...
7/31/12
A: There is not a specific IDFG law stating when you can set up a tree stand. However, land managers/owners may have such restrictions. IDFG WMA rules do not allow permanent tree stands. Idaho Code states:  To construct blinds, pits, platforms, or tree stands where the soil is disturbed, trees are ...
7/31/12
A: A nonresident season fishing license costs $98.25.  It is valid from date of sale through December 31.  Nonresident juniors (17 or younger) can get a season fishing license for $21.75.
7/31/12
A: There is a extremely small probability, but it is highly, highly unlikely. Tiger musky have been stocked in Little Payette Lake and Lake Cascade. For a tiger musky to make it to Horseshoe Bend, it would have to pass through a dam and move downstream through several class IV-V rapids. Furthermore, ...
7/30/12
A: It depends on the region you are fishing in... In the Panhandle Region, Clearwater Region and Salmon regions, the limit on bass is 6 (smallmouth and largemouth) but there is no length limit specified. In The Southwest, Magic Valley, Upper Snake and Southeast regions, the limit is 6 bass ( ...
7/30/12
A: Lighted nocks are illegal because it is illegal to use a weapon with any electronic device attached to, or incorporated on, the firearm or scope; except scopes containing battery powered or tritium lighted reticles are allowed.   The commission has considered changing the rule in the past, but ...
7/30/12
A: Please contact the Tribal authorities; their website and contact information is http://www.nezperce.org/Main.html.
7/30/12
A: No, Chinook salmon that are stocked in the Boise River originate from returns to Hells Canyon Dam. Returns to Hells Canyon Dam during 2012 were insufficient to meet both hatchery broodstock needs and allow stocking in the Boise River. However, we still plan to tranfer approximately 1000 adult ...
7/29/12
A: Lighted arrow nocks are not legal for use in Idaho.
7/29/12
A: Rainbow trout and steelhead are the same genus and species.  Essentially, a steelhead is an ocean-going rainbow trout.  There will be a slight color variation - depending on the time of year, but the only sure-fire way tell a hatchery produced rainbow trout from a steelhead is to check the adipose ...
7/26/12
A: There is a saying that goes, “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.”  For example, you might find sucker undesirable because you can’t eat them, but they have a valuable place in the food chain--sucker help clean algae from the stream bottom or they feed fish-eating birds like osprey.  Carp ...
7/25/12
A: The Clearwater National Forest said the bridge has been condemned and is to not have any use at all, including foot traffic, because of the condition.  They are taking recommendations at this time.  If you want to comment, contact the front desk (208)476-4541 and give your comments to Leann.
7/25/12
A: Raccoons are classified as a predatory wildlife species and therefore the take season for them is year round. You may use dogs to hunt/pursue raccoons. The owner and/or handler and/or person taking raccoons must have a hound hunter permit.
7/25/12
A: The requirement in Idaho is that you have taken an archery-only education class or that you have hunted in an archery-only season somewhere.  If you haven't done these, you must take an Idaho bowhunter education course.     
7/23/12
A: No.  There is no stipulation that you salvage the entire carcass.  You can salvage any part that you choose and leave the rest.
7/23/12
A: Children can fish without a license until they are 14.  Nonresident children must fish with a license holder; their catch becomes part of the license holder's limit.  Resident children can keep their own limit of fish.
7/22/12
A: Please!  We collect observations of Idaho wildlife to establish distribution and abundance at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ifwis/observations You may also upload multiple photos and attach them to your observation. Thanks for sharing!
7/20/12
A: indeed there are! 
7/20/12
A: Raccoons are classified as a predatory wildlife species and therefore the take season for them is year round. You may use dogs to hunt/pursue raccoons. The owner and/or handler and/or person taking raccoons must have a hound hunter permit.
7/20/12
A: Every hunter (resident or nonresident) who hunts in an archery-only hunt is required to get an archery permit.  We accept archery education certifications from other states as well as proof that the hunter has participated in an archery-only hunt in another state.  If you don't have the proof ...
7/18/12
A: They will be available in late August or early September.
7/18/12
A: They all are. Each separate line refers to a different reach of the Boise River. We currently stock the Boise River from Barber Dam area to Star Rd. We are in the slow process of trying to fix this database glitch by adding a reach descriptor.  The only way you can tell the difference currently is ...
7/18/12
A: Unfortunately, it is not going to be stocked with Chinook salmon during 2012. Those Chinook stocked in the past few years have originated from hatchery returns to Hells Canyon Dam.  During 2012, returns were insufficient to meet broodstck needs and to provide fish for transferring. However, adult ...
7/18/12
A: It is illegal to pursue or kill big game animals with any compound bow set at more than 85 percent let-off.
7/17/12
A: Hulet-Sinker Creek Reservoir is entirely on private land.  Approximately 1.1 miles upstream of the dam, there is about a 0.8 mile section of BLM land.  There is about a 0.5-1 mile "buffer" of private land surrounding the reservoir. In order to navigate in this area, you need to print maps from the ...
7/17/12
A: No. There is no stipulation that you salvage the entire carcass. You can salvage any part that you choose and leave the rest.
7/17/12
A: Yes, you can purchase any general season big game tag after the seasons open.
7/16/12
A: We have topographic maps for sale at the headquarters office in Boise; they include big game unit boundaries.  These maps can also be ordered by mail.  Map ordering information can be found in the 2012 big game rules book, pages 98 and 99.
7/16/12
A: They will be available in late August or early September/
7/15/12
A: Yes, you can purchase your controlled hunt tag now and add the archery permit after you take the archery education class.
7/15/12
A: The health advisory is still in effect.  Here is what the Panhandle Health District said in their advisory regarding eating fish:   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE             July 11, 2012   Contact: For environmental/water quality questions:                  For human health questions: Kristin Keith ...
7/15/12
A: It is legal to view wildlife with a spotlight. However, be aware that shining a spotlight “upon any field, forest or other place by a person while having in his possession or under his control any uncased firearm or other contrivance capable of killing any animal or bird, shall be prima facie ...
7/14/12
A: Leg-hold Trap Education Partners with Rattlesnake Avoidance Training       Hunters and other dog enthusiasts now have another reason to attend an upcoming Rattlesnake Avoidance Training Day. Fish and Game officers will be holding a trap awareness seminar as part of the day’s events.       The ...
7/14/12
A: Starrflight FOBS, otherwise known as plastic discs used to replace standard fletching on arrows, are legal for use in Idaho archery seasons.    
7/13/12
A: The deadline to pick up big game controlled hunt tags is August 1.  We will have a list of leftovers available on August 2 or 3.  The application period for the second draw for deer, elk, pronghorn and fall bear controlled hunts is August 5-15
7/13/12
A: Lighted nocks are not legal in Idaho.
7/12/12
A: There isn't a "special license" required to fish on Redfish Lake.  Each person  14 and older who is fishing must have their own fishing license.  Children under 14 can fish without a license.  
7/12/12
A: Your general season tags must be exchanged for the controlled hunt tags.  This can only be done at a Fish and Game office or by mail. The mailing addresses is IDFG, License Department, P.O. Box 25, Boise ID, 83707.   Remember the August 1 deadline to get the tags to us for exchange.  
7/12/12
A: Update notice: Idaho statute changes effective July 1, 2015 changes the weapon definitions for some felons. Please review this updated answer for clarification on this change.The following answer remains intact for historical purposes. Consider consulting your lawyer for further clarification on ...
7/11/12
A: If the hunter was born January 1, 1975 or later they must take hunter education or show proof they have held a valid hunting license in another state.  Everyone  who wants to hunt in an archery-only season in Idaho must take an archery education class or provide proof that they have taken one in ...
7/11/12
A: It has been completed and should be available soon on the IDFG website.
7/11/12
A: There is not a specific IDFG law stating when you can set up a tree stand. However, land managers/owners may have such restrictions. IDFG WMA rules do not allow permanent tree stands. Idaho Code states:  To construct blinds, pits, platforms, or tree stands where the soil is disturbed, trees are ...
7/9/12
A: Final accounting of returns will not be completed until late August but preliminary estimates of the split of adult returns over Lower Granite suggest that the contribtions to an adult passasge of 80,000 fish might be distributed approximately as follows: Total Passage       80,000 Wild Natural ...
7/9/12
A: If you have lived in Idaho for at least 5 years, you can purchase your senior license on July 31.
7/8/12
A: If you place 5 or fewer traps, you do not need a special permit.  You are, however, required to have a fishing license.
7/7/12
A: The report of catching catfish in American Falls Reservoir is a little surprising.  We stock channel catfish in the McTucker ponds which flooded last spring and were directly connected to the reservoir.  I am sure some of the catfish moved into the reservoir then.  However, I do not have any ...
7/7/12
A: Throwing the dead carp back in the water could technically be constrewed as littering under Idaho statutes.  If you want to harvest carp and don't plan on eating them, we suggest you take them home and use them for fertizlier, find a local mink or hog farm that can utilize them for animal food, or ...
7/5/12
A: The rules state that it is legal to use a battery powered or tritium lighted reticle on your weapon.  See page 76 of the 2012 Big Game rules book:    It is unlawful to use any pursue big game animals with any electronic device attached to, or incorporated on, the firearm or scope; except scopes ...
7/5/12
A: Yes.  If you don't pick up the tag by August 1, it will go into the second drawing.  That means that beginning August 2 you can purchase a general season tag instead.  This also applies to elk and pronghorn hunts.
7/4/12
A: Yes.  A tag purchased in January 2012 is valid through the end of 2012; you can purchase a second tag at any time you want.
7/3/12
A: Every year we release over one million hatchery steelhead smolts into the South Fork Clearwater River (no hatchery rainbow trout catchables are released into this river).  Two years later, many of these steelhead smolts will return as 12-16 pound steelhead that attract anglers from all over the ...
7/3/12
A: No, you not required to report a mountain goat skull that you found while hiking.   For more information on the possession and sale of wildlife found dead, see page 75 of the 2012 Big Game Seasons and Rules booklet which states, “Parts of big game species – hides, horns, bones, antlers, elk teeth ...
7/2/12
A: Contact your local Fish and Game office for information about Eagle Scout Projects.  Office locations and contact numbers are listed on our website in the "About Us" section.
7/2/12
A:   The caliber requirements for muzzleloaders specified on p76 still apply to the short-range weapons seasons, but otherwise, muzzleloader use during the short-range weapons seasons is not limited to the same restrictions specified for the muzzleloader only seasons.    That is, you could legally ...
7/2/12
A: The Idaho Fish and Game Commission opened the Salmon River section from Ellis upstream to the East Fork Salmon River on July 3rd.
7/2/12
A: If they are alive - the answer is "no."  If they are taken from public waters in Idaho - the answer is "no."  If you have a commercial fish producers license from the Idaho State Dept. of Agriculture, then you can sell shiners as bait fish.
7/2/12
A: The best place to get information on a hunt is to contact the region office directly. The phone number of the region office for the Island Park area is 208-525-7290.
7/2/12
A: Natural mortality (excluding harvest) for salmon between Lower Granite Dam and hatchery facilites varies by facility and year but typically is not more than 5%. So if  there were no harvest in Idaho and 10,000 hatchery fish crossed Lower Granite Dam 9,500 or more would make it back to hatcheries. ...
7/2/12
A: All fisheries are managed so that fish that would return to hatcheries in excess of brood stock needs can be harvested. IDFG and Idaho's Indian tribes share the harvestable portion of the run 50:50. That is, sport fisheries are managed to harvest 50% of the fish in excess of brood stock needs.
7/2/12
A: Immobilizing drugs are sometimes used to capture and restrain a variety of wildlife for management, research, and public safety purposes in situations where other methods of capture are not practical.  The meat is deemed unfit for consupmption by humans or animals for a time period after the drug ...
7/2/12
A:   The caliber requirements for muzzleloaders specified on p76 still apply to the short-range weapons seasons, but otherwise, muzzleloader use during the short-range weapons seasons is not limited to the same restrictions specified for the muzzleloader only seasons.    That is, you could legally ...
7/1/12
A: Idaho residents receiving SSDI qualify for a reduced price hunting and fishing license.  The cost is $5.00.  Tags and permits are not reduced in price, however.  The “hunt from a vehicle” permit is not included in the disabled license; to get this separate permit you must get a doctor’s signature ...
7/1/12
A: Twelve (12) years of age. A person under twelve (12) must be accompanied by a licensed adult to possess a firearm in the field for hunting. Idaho Code Section 36-1508(b). 
7/1/12
A: Idaho Parks and Recreation sells them.  The link to their Website and more information is http://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/idahoinvasivespeciesfund.aspx.    
6/30/12
A:     Idaho National Laboratory (INL) Elk and Pronghorn Permit information:   A pass is required from the Idaho Fish and Game office, 4279 Commerce Circle, Idaho Falls, to hunt elk in the Lemhi, Beaverhead or Snake River Elk Zones or pronghorn in Units 51, 58, or 63 within one-half mile inside the ...
6/29/12
A: Hunters 65 or older, or possessing a disabled combination license may buy a leftover youth-only controlled hunt tag, first-come, first-served, beginning at 10 a.m. Mountain Time, August 25.  We will have a list of those hunts after the second drawing takes place (August 5-15, results out August 25 ...
6/29/12
A: The “hunt from a vehicle” permit is not included in the disabled license; to get this separate permit you must get a doctor’s signature on an a Fish and Game application form, which can be obtained at any Fish and Game office or by calling 208-334-3700 or online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ ...
6/29/12
A: Survival of elk calves depends on a number of factors, including disease, predators, nutrition, maternal care, weather, and accidents.  Generally, highest mortality in elk calves occurs during the first month of life, where predators can take a high percentage of calves.  During the mid-summer ...
6/29/12
A: Jack Chinook salmon are reproductively mature salmon that have spent one year in the ocean.  While fisheries managers typically refer to adult salmon as the fish larger than 24 inches in length that spend 2 or more years in the ocean, in reallity jacks are mature adults and are an important part ...
6/27/12
A: The harvest share estimates for the Upper Salmon are based on analysis of PIT tag detections and genetic samples from Lower granite Dam. The estimate and improves as our knowledge of the total return size improves through the run. Right now our harvest sharet estimate is in the range  from 1,200 ...
6/27/12
A: Thank you for your question regarding rehabilitation of wildlife taken from the wild.  You are correct, it generally isn't in the best interest of wildlife to remove them from wild.  Many wildlife species, including deer, will spend considerable time away from their young.  This is in part to ...
6/27/12
A: The super hunt tags and super hunt combo tags are issued at no charge to the hunters who are drawn for them.  Those drawn do have to purchase an Idaho hunting license if they don't already have one.  A resident hunter would have to purchase a resident license; the nonresident would have to  ...
6/27/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game will get notices out to the applicants who are drawn for a controlled hunt by Joly 10.  All hunters will be able to check online to see if they have been drawn  by July 10, also.  
6/26/12
A: Well, To date the harvest is limited but so is the effort. A total of 18 adult Chinook Salmon have been caught and kept through Tuesday but only an average of 12 anglers fished daily and a total of 800 angler hours were fished (about 44 hours per fish kept). While that is not an imperssive harvest ...
6/26/12
A: The Aquatic Invasive Species sticker program is managed cooperatively by Idaho State Department of Agriculture and Idaho State Parks and Recreation.  You can purchase the Invasive Species sticker at most State Parks, local sporting goods vendors, and from the Idaho Department of Parks and ...
6/26/12
A: Please contact the Fish and Game Region office in your area for help. Panhandle Region (Coeur d'Alene) 208-769-1414 Clearwater Region (Lewiston) 208-799-5010 Southwest Region (Nampa) 208-465-8465                                (McCall) 208-634-8137 Magic Valley Region (Jerome) 208-324-4359 ...
6/26/12
A: Two years ago, fewer salmon smolts were released from Pahsimeroi due to enviromental issues at the hatchery.  PIT tags, which are tags that can be detected a various dams as the smolts migrate downstream and the adults return upstream, indicate the number of adult salmon returning to Pahsimeroi ...
6/25/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have a specific definition of a compound bow.  However, on page 76 of the Idaho Big Game Seasons & Rules brochure for 2012 explains what archery equipment would be unlawful to pursue or kill big game with.  I have copied and pasted this section below.   Archery ...
6/25/12
A: The closest place to Pocatello is Rose ponds near Blackfoot.  
6/25/12
A: IDFG does in fact have a stocking program in Dierkes Lake.  Rainbow trout between 8-10 inches are stocked primarily in the spring when water temperatures are cool enough to provide suitable stocking conditions.  Additionally, the Departement has intermittently stocked channel catfish.  The ...
6/25/12
A: Jack Chinook salmon are reproductively mature salmon that have spent one year in the ocean. While fisheries managers typically refer to adult salmon as the fish larger than 24 inches in length that spend 2 or more years in the ocean, in reallity jacks are mature adults and are an important part of ...
6/25/12
A: A treble hook is considered one hook, even though there are 3 points on it.  Be sure that any barbs are bent down to the shank to meet the barbless requirement.
6/23/12
A: While feeding raccoons is discouraged, there are no laws to prevent it – so it is legal.  However, some communities have “wildlife feeding” ordinances that prohibits feeding wildlife, except for birds.   Feeding wildlife may seem helpful to some, but it usually leads to unexpected problems.    For ...
6/23/12
A: There are many variables that influence time of the run return.  Flow, temperatures, and sediment loading are just three of the factors.  We know concentrations of predator (seals and sea lions) also have some influence on return timing but were not sure how much they delay movement between the ...
6/21/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game doesn't provide search and rescue insurance as part of hunting and fishing licenses.
6/21/12
A: Panhandle Zone Elk Seasons (2012) A Tags: Archery Only--Antlered only--Sept. 6-30 Any Weapon--Antlered only--Oct. 25-29 Muzzleloader Only--Antlered only--Nov. 20-Dec. 1 (open in unit 4 only) Archery only--Antlered only--Dec. 10-16 B Tags: Archery Only--Antlered only--Sept 6-12 Any Weapon--Antlered ...
6/20/12
A: The combination lifetime license cost for a 40-year-old is $1,113.00.  Please read the information below for more details.   Resident Lifetime License Certificates   Regardless of your age, purchase of a lifetime license could be the best investment you ever make. Lifetime combination, hunting and ...
6/20/12
A: The Chinook salmon sport fishery harvest quota for the South Fork Salmon River is updated weekly as the run comes in. The harvest quota On July 5 is 1,500 fish. Current harvest quotas are posted on the IDFG web site.
6/20/12
A: Yes, they can.  If they are under 14 they don't need a fishing license but they must fish with someone who does have a fishing license (resident or nonresident).  If they want to keep their catch, it becomes part of the licensed fisherman's limit.
6/20/12
A: Yes. They are treated like any other knife, but, depending on where you are (in town) it might be considered a concealed weapon…please check with your local authorities on this point.
6/19/12
A: Yes, there are fish in Long Tom and Mountain Home reservoirs.  Mountain Home Reservoir is typically stocked with rainbow trout in the early spring.  Fish will survive all year if adiquate water remains in the reservoir over the winter.  If conditions are right, this can be a very nice ice fishery ...
6/19/12
A: Simply take your number to a vendor; they can enter it into the database.  If you took hunter education in Idaho and no longer have your number, call 1-208-334-3700 (Fish and Game Headquarters).  They can look it up for you and send a new card to you.
6/19/12
A: You can use a jug or plastic water bottle as a bobber provided it's attached to a tended line.  Each line can have 5 hooks and you can attach as many bobbers/bottles per line as you would like.
6/18/12
A: Sorry, this access is controlled by the State Park, call for information at 382-6544.    
6/18/12