Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 2301 - 2400 of 3039 questions
Question Asked
A: The simple answer is yes! The new salvage rule does not authorize anyone to dispatch or put down injured wildlife that have been involved in a vehicle collision. If you have been involved in a wildlife-vehicle collision and the animal is only injured, the responding law enforcement officer may ...
12/2/12
A: No.  I checked the bobcat hunting season in the Upland Game rules book (see pages 34-36); the bobcat season is December 14-February 16.
12/2/12
A: We estimated mountain whitefish abundance at a couple sites in Boise River during 2009 as part of long-term monitoring. All sites were upstream of Glenwood bridge.  We have no recent sampling data farther downstream, but whitefish inhabit the river at least as far downstream as Middleton. During ...
12/2/12
A: Short-Range Weapons   In big game seasons restricted to short-range weapons, it is unlawful for hunters to use any weapon other than a muzzleloader, archery equipment, crossbow, a shotgun using slugs or shot of size #00 buck or larger, or a pistol using straight-walled cartridges not originally ...
11/30/12
A: The tribes set their own rules and seasons for hunting on their land.  We recommend that you contact them directly for correct information.  The Coeur d'Alene tribes website is http://www.cdatribe.org/.  In your question, you mention that you have talked to them already so you should be good to go ...
11/30/12
A: I am not aware of any specific issues with the health of deer in the Orofino area.  We do get reports from folks within the city limits that the deer there do often look a bit scraggly in the spring, but this is not unusual for that time of year when the effects of winter are most evident and the ...
11/29/12
A: Each year we count spawnng kokanee around historical shoreline spawning areas.  It gives us a rough index of the adult kokanee population.  This year we saw close to 30,000 fish, which is about 10 times higher than the average of the past 15 years.  That's encouraging, but unfortunately, it doesn' ...
11/29/12
A: You can harvest one male and one female moose in Idaho under the current rules.
11/27/12
A: Yes, archery permits are still available.
11/27/12
A: You are referring to rules that require the use of non-lead shot for waterfowl hunting.  Lead shot was prohibited as per an agreement with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service who regulate the harvest of migratory birds throughout the U.S..  Studies showed that large amounts of lead shot were being ...
11/26/12
A: Everyone born January 1, 1975 or later must show proof that they have taken hunter education in Idaho or another state to hunt in Idaho. 
11/26/12
A: SUPER  TAG 13      A drawing will be made for 10 super hunt tags in January 2013. This is an incentive for hunters to promptly file their required Mandatory Hunter Report for deer, elk, and pronghorn purchased in 2012. These highly desirable tags can be used in any open hunt for that species ...
11/25/12
A: The salvage permits are free.  After picking up the animal, you have 24 hours to notify Fish and Game, and 72 hours to obtain a salvage permit. If contacting Fish and Game by phone outside normal business hours, it’s critical you leave your full name, phone number, address, and location of salvage ...
11/25/12
A: Yes.  Both white-tailed and black-tailed jackrabbits are found in Idaho.  I found the following information on the National Geographic website. White-tailed jackrabbits are another common species. They frequent North America's plains and farmlands, though they also inhabit wooded areas. They are ...
11/25/12
A: The IDFG property at Beaver Dick does not extend up to the Teton River.  Most of our property lies south of Highway 33, and there is a parcel of BLM that gets close to the Teton, but it doesn't actually touch the Teton.  You can use a boat to go upstream and reach the Teton if you choose.
11/24/12
A: We wanted to expand our original list of "Family Friendly" fishing waters around the state, but many of the ponds where we wanted to give the special designation are high angler use waters.  Biologically, we felt the bass populations in many urban ponds that we've added to the list, could not ...
11/23/12
A: There are a number of things you would want to consider before making a decision on the purchase of an elk tag. Elk tags are specific in the location where you can hunt but each tag has different criteria in regard to what weapon you can use and when you can use that weapon. Some tags will offer ...
11/22/12
A: Wolf tags are sold over the counter.  They are a general season tag, not a controlled hunt item.
11/22/12
A:  It is illegal to use any magnifying lens during an archery-only​ season for big game in Idaho.  However, it is legal to use a magnifying lens while archery hunting during an any-weapon season for big game in Idaho. 
11/22/12
A: Yes.
11/21/12
A: The rule does not specifically address field dressing the animal: the rule neither allows nor prohibits field dressing of road kill animals at the site. However, you should be aware of local rules and laws associated with traffic stopping on roadways for any other purpose other than emergencies. ...
11/21/12
A: Lifetime license holders are counted in the resident pool for controlled hunts, even if they have moved out of state.
11/21/12
A: If the license holder is a nonresident, you can go to any vendor to purchase their license. If the license holder is your spouse or your minor child, you can also go to any vendor to purchase their license. If the license holder is a resident who is not your spouse or your minor child, you cannot ...
11/11/12
A: Please contact the Southwest Region office at 465-8465 to ask about it.
11/10/12
A: No.  Hunter education certification from other states is accepted in Idaho
11/9/12
A: Yes; you can purchase a second deer tag but it can only come out of the nonresident pool of unsold deer tags.  The cost of the tag would be $301.75.  You can pick one up at any vendor.
11/9/12
A: If the area you are hunting is approaching the harvest limit, every day you should make every reasonable effort to check whether the harvest limit is reached. It is a hunters responsibility to know the harvest limit and if it has been reached.   It is possible that a hunter may be in on a hunting ...
11/9/12
A: The requirements for muzzleloader-only season weapons are: Muzzleloader Caliber Requirements In any hunt, including general any-weapon seasons and short-range hunts, it is unlawful to pursue or kill big game animals: • With any muzzleloading rifle or musket that is less than .45 caliber for deer, ...
11/8/12
A: Yes, but persons hunting any wildlife, even on their own property, must adhere to state fish and game laws. They must have a valid Idaho hunting license and tag for the species they want to hunt, and they must stay within the season parameters that Fish and Game has set up for the unit.
11/6/12
A: Whenever someone makes a statement that an animal thrives well anywhere it lives, it reminds me of when a Doctor once told me that every patient that walks out of his office is alive.  Pretty much a person has to be alive to walk out of the Doctors office, and pretty much lynx or any animal will ...
11/6/12
A: There are several different trespass laws and some different requirements for different situations. Posting is required for some situations, but is not required for cultivated land or fenced land. Posting is not required if the landowner or agent asks the person to leave (see Idaho Code Section 18 ...
11/3/12
A: A number of factors affect bullet performance, including weight, powder (amount and type), barrel twist, primer, barrel length, ballistic coefficient of the bullet, atmospheric conditions, etc.  While it is likely a lighter bullet will shoot higher than a heavier bullet, we recommend working with ...
11/3/12
A: An exchange student pays the resident fee for a fishing license.  For ages 14 through 17 the cost is  $13.75.
11/2/12
A: All of the elk hunts in unit 44 are "any weapon" hunts.  You can use archery equipment to hunt in an any weapon hunt.
11/2/12
A:   There are no limitations to the number of guns you can possess while waterfowl hunting, as long as the following rules are followed:  1) guns are not capable of holding more than 3 shells (including chamber and magazine), and 2) you are only in possession of nontoxic shot.  If one of the ...
11/1/12
A: Yes, but you can only use multiple, single-point hooks  (NO treble hooks) that are barbless (or barbs bent down).   
11/1/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have any proposed 2013 rule changes for the use of 209 primers in muzzleloader-only hunts.  Any hunting equipment rule changes effective in 2013 would have had to been adopted by the Idaho Fish and Game Commission during summer 2012; allowing for review and approval by ...
11/1/12
A: Under the current rules, you can catch and keep 20 hatchery-produced steelhead during the spring season and 20 hatchery-produced steelhead in the fall season for a grand total of 40 steelhead in a year.  See the steelhead section (page 36) of our current 2011 - 2012 Fishing Rules booklet or page ...
10/31/12
A: You must have a hunting license to hunt snowshoe hare in the Panhandle.  No other permit is required. The season is August 30-March 31, 2013 and the daily bag limit is 8 hares, possession limit is 24. This information is in the Upland Game Rules Book.
10/31/12
A: Idaho Dep't of Lands would be the agency that has jurisdiction and may have an issue with tree stands left on lands they manage. Idaho Fish and Game only regulates tree stands on property IDFG owns or manages (our Wildlife Management Areas). The Idaho Fish and Game Commission has a rule that ...
10/31/12
A: Q. “Have you been hunting in Idaho the past 2 years?”     Region Count Blank Yes No Not Sure Panhandle 34 2 21 10 1 Clearwater 20 --- 10 10 --- Boise 248 8 138 102 --- Magic Valley 74 1 57 16 --- Southeast 53 2 24 27 --- ...
10/31/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game does not have any rules prohibiting the transportation of firearms with ammunition in the magazine while traveling within the state.  Although we are not aware of any federal laws, other state agency laws, or municipal laws prohibiting transportation of weapons with ammunition ...
10/31/12
A:             Deer Seasons General Any Weapon Regular Tag 10/10/12-10/31/12 Antlered White-tailed Deer Any Weapon Unit 1 10/10/12-11/9/12 Antlerless White-tailed Deer Any Weapon Unit 4, Unit 7, Unit 9 10/10/12-11/9/12 Antlered Mule and White-tailed Deer Any Weapon Unit 2* (except Farragut SP), ...
10/30/12
A: If you are hunting migratory game birds (waterfowl, doves) you cannot hunt with a shotgun capable of holding more than 3 shells unless it it plugged with a one-piece filler which cannot be removed without disassembling the gun.  
10/30/12
A: The Boise Front Segment of the Boise River Wildlife Management Area (BRWMA), including Lucky Peak Mountain, can be accessed by using Highland Valley Road (off of SH-21). The following link provides a map of the WMA and the roads http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/wma/. The Boise Front ...
10/30/12
A: We had 120 applicants for the 2012 Nonresident Hound Hunter permits.
10/29/12
A: All birds are protected except for starlings, Eurasian-collared doves, English sparrows and feral pigeons.  The exceptions are certain species of waterfowl, doves and upland game birds, which can only be hunted during seasons that Idaho Fish and Game authorizes. All other birds are classified as ...
10/29/12
A: Trapping licenses can only be purchased at a Fish and Game office or by mail.  Contact your region office (Upper Snake, 208-525-7290) to obtain an application form.
10/29/12
A: If the land manager (such as the Forest Service, BLM) has designated a trail or area for foot or horse traffic only you cannot use an ATV/OHV there.
10/29/12
A: The vendor that you purchase your archery validation from will have an archery affidavit that you can fill out and sign indicating that you have experience hunting with archery equipment.
10/28/12
A: No, you can use the tag the day you purchase it as long as the season is open.    
10/28/12
A: Contact the region office for your area.  They will either have a scorer on staff or will have the contact information for one in your area.
10/28/12
A: Yes.  That will allow you to purchase an Idaho archery validation so you can hunt in an archery-only season.
10/26/12
A: It is not legal in Idaho to let your line sit overnight.  Fishing lines must be attended at all times by the person who is fishing.
10/26/12
A: Please check the idfg website for a news release on steelhead plants.  They start this week on Thursday (Nov. 1). We plan to stock the following week also. Anything after that has yet to be determined.  
10/26/12
A: This list includes fish species found to be present in this water during fish surveys. This may not be a complete list of species present in this water. Some species listed here may only be present in small quantities or seasonally. Black Crappie ,  Brown Bullhead ,  Brown Trout ,  Bull Trout ,  ...
10/26/12
A: The following list lays out the types of animals that cannot be hunted or kept: Protected Nongame Wildlife, Species of Special Concern, Threatened or Endangered Species, Protected Birds Special classifications for some animals extend extra protection to those species. These animals cannot be ...
10/25/12
A: It doesn't.  You will be able to apply for tags the following year as usual.
10/24/12
A: Yes.  Any hunter (resident or nonresident) can purchase a second deer or elk tag from the nonresident quota unless the quota is sold out.  Since these tags are from the nonresident quota they are sold at nonresident prices (deer tags are $301.75 and elk tags are $416.75).
10/23/12
A: Nonresident Disabled Veterans Nonresident disabled veterans participating in a hunt in association with a qualified organization may be eligible for reduced fees for licenses and tags. To qualify, nonresident disabled veterans must meet the definitions and provide the three documentation items ...
10/23/12
A:   No.  After picking up the animal, you have 24 hours to notify Fish and Game, and 72 hours to obtain a salvage permit. You may self-report online at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/roadkill or call IDFG to report. If contacting Fish and Game by phone outside normal business hours, it’s critical you ...
10/23/12
A: Since the seasons have been open for regular deer tag use, the tags can no longer be exchanged.
10/23/12
A: “How does one report a buck taken during an antlerless only season? I am asking this question because when I helped my daughter register her doe, I noticed it said “did you harvest a doe or buck?” The following day, my wife and I were out hunting and saw a very small buck. We were within 50 yards ...
10/22/12
A: You have to obtain an Idaho fishing license to fish in Idaho.  The 2 state's licenses are not interchangeable.
10/22/12
A: Muzzleloader rules are posted in the Big Game Rules Book on page 76 (along with weapon rules for any-weapon and archery rules). Seasons for deer and elk muzzleloader-only hunts are listed in the Big Game Rules Book also.
10/22/12
A: Possession and Sale of Wildlife Found Dead: Protected species of wildlife that have died of natural causes are generally considered property of the state and may not be possessed. But parts of big game species – hides, horns, bones, antlers, elk teeth, bear, lion and wolf parts – may be recovered ...
10/22/12
A: Yes, you can.  Shed elk antlers can be picked up and kept if the animal died of natural causes.
10/22/12
A: You can contact any of our Fish and Game offices or Fish and Game headquarters to obtain your hunter education number or a new card.  Contact information is printed in every rules book that we publish.  Due to privacy laws we can only give hunter education numbers to the hunter or a minor's ...
10/21/12
A: First the requirement: Hunters are required to remove and care for the edible meat of big game animals, except black bears, mountain lions and gray wolves. This includes the meat from hind quarters as far down as the hock, meat of the front quarters as far down as the knee and meat along the ...
10/20/12
A: It is not legal to possess an owl carcass that you have found in the wild: Protected Nongame Wildlife, Species of Special Concern, Threatened or Endangered Species, Protected Birds Special classifications for some animals extend extra protection to those species. These animals cannot be hunted, ...
10/20/12
A: Pikeminnow are a native, nongame fish.  There isn't a limit to the number you can catch or keep.  They are edible but I have never heard anything about how tasty they might be.
10/19/12
A: You can get a duplicate tag from one of our region offices or by mail.  Contact IDFG  Headquarters for more information (208-334-3700).
10/18/12
A: Please call the Salmon Region office for detailed information.  Their number is 208-756-2271.
10/18/12
A: If you are referencing the typical deer drive by posting a few hunters at one end of a draw or ridge and other hunters walk the draw or ridge and push the deer towards the posted hunters, then yes, this method is lawful. 
10/17/12
A:   Idaho Code Section 36-1601(b) says that: Navigable rivers, sloughs or streams within the meander lines or, when not meandered, between the flow lines of ordinary high water thereof, and all rivers, sloughs and streams flowing through any public lands of the state shall be open to public use as a ...
10/17/12
A: No.  According to IDAPA Rule 13.01.09.300.01.c:   300.UPLAND GAME BIRD METHODS OF TAKE.      01. Taking of Upland Game Birds. No person shall take upland game birds:           c. From any watercraft.
10/17/12
A: Please see the attached for plans to build a quail thicket.
10/16/12
A: Please contact the IDFG region office in your area.  Some offices will refer you to a foodbank and others will refer you to a conservation officer who handles that.
10/16/12
A: We don't require proof of muzzleloader education or previous use for a muzzleloader validation like we do for archery.  Go into your local vendor--they can issue the muzzleloader validation on the spot.  
10/15/12
A: Controlled hunt tags cannot be exchanged for a general season tag.
10/15/12
A: It depends on whether you have the Weiser River Zone A tag or B tag.  The elk seasons for those tags are listed below: Elk Seasons General A Tag Weiser River 8/1/12-11/30/12 Antlerless Elk Any Weapon Unit 32*²³ 8/15/12-9/30/12 Antlerless Elk Any Weapon Portion of Units 22 and 31²³ 8/30/12-9/30 ...
10/14/12
A: GPS is a tool, a powerful tool, that will assist you when hunting, but does not replace the reality of what is on the ground.  If a property is signed as No Trespassing or Private you must respect that until you learn more.  It is difficult and time-consuming to keep property information up-to- ...
10/14/12
A: It is not lawful to use a spear to hunt big game animals in Idaho.   This is an updated answer as of May 19, 2015.
10/14/12
A: Youth can hunt waterfowl beginning at 10 years old as long as they have taken hunter education.  IDFG hasn't set any rules about them hunting alone.
10/14/12
A: You only need the WMA pheasant to hunt pheasants.  Permits for waterfowl hunting statewide are a migratory bird validation and the federal duck stamp.    
10/14/12
A: You need to report the salvage this form https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ifwis/observations/salvage/report/ or call a Fish and Game office. This will generate a receipt to keep with the animal.
10/13/12
A: That information is not available online.  You can contact the region office in your area or IDFG headquarters for that information.
10/13/12
A: The best thing you can do is be a good witness.  Document the activity (date, time, and specific activities), descriptions of the hunters, descriptions and license plates of vehicles (pick-ups, ATV's, cars) and report it to Idaho Fish and Game or Citizen's Against Poaching.  You can remain ...
10/13/12
A: Check the Big Game Rules book pages 9 and 10 in the deer hunt season table.  If the unit lists antlerless hunting is only open for youth, only a youth hunter can shoot a doe in that unit.  They do have to abide by the antlered restrictions (such as 2-point only or no antlered deer harvest).
10/12/12
A: You can only hunt the type of deer that is allowed in the rules. 
10/12/12
A: The Idaho legal definition for "possession limit" is:  "Possession limit" means the maximum limit in number or amount of wildlife which may be lawfully in the possession of any person. "Possession limit" shall apply to wildlife being in possession while in the field or being transported to final ...
10/12/12
A: Yes.  There are many hunts that are both species or white-tailed deer available with a regular deer tag, however the White-tailed Deer Tag offers more opportunities for this species than the Regular Deer Tag.  For a complete list of hunts for each tag see pages 9-17 of the 2012 Big Game ...
10/12/12
A: Yes; since it is your kill, you must put your tag on it when you retrieve the animal.
10/12/12
A:   Many hunters work the shoreline and islands on the Snake and Payette Rivers, as well as the ponds on the WMAs and elsewhere.  Jump shooting can be had in various ditches, creeks, rivers, or ponds across the region.  Lake Lowell provides duck hunting opportunity as do farm fields around the ...
10/12/12
A: The first planting of steelhead is Nov. 1, 2012.  Fish will be planted from the Glenwood Bridge to Barber Park.  At this point, we don't know if we will plant steelhead a second time this year or not. Watch the news!
10/12/12
A: According to IDPA rules, “you can not use live bait” so, it would be illegal to use live mice as bait.  Dead “pinkies” would probably work just as well for bass.
10/11/12
A: An Idaho fishing license is valid by calendar year - January 1 through December 31.  
10/11/12
A: No.  In Idaho, it is not legal for private citizens to own, possess, buy, sell, trade or barter skunks. See Idaho code section - 25-236.
10/11/12
A: This is often an ethical dilemma faced by hunters. The rule states it is illegal to hunt big game with the use of bait (except for bear and wolf). Bait here is defined as something placed to attract wildlife. However, many ranchers use salt blocks to manage cattle movement within an allotment. If ...
10/10/12
A: There is a Disabled Combination license, which includes a hunting and fishing license, but not tags.  Anyone certified as eligible for federal supplemental income (SSI), social security disability income (SSDI), railroad retirement board disability, a nonservice-connect veteran's pension, or a ...
10/10/12