Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Displaying 1101 - 1150 of 2726 questions
Question Askedsort ascending
A: In Idaho, you can use 5 hooks per line (see page 51 in the 2013 - 2015 Fishing Rule booklet - middle of left hand column) unless noted otherwise in the exceptions.    F08
1/6/14
A: The migratory bird permit must be added to the Sportsman's Package.
1/6/14
A: Fish that have been harvested in Oregon can be transported to Idaho.  If stopped by a law enforcement officer, you need to possess a valid Oregon fishing license or a proxy statement from the individual harvesting the fish allowing you to possess the fish.   No transport of live fish can occur ...
1/6/14
A: Yes, you can hunt coyotes and upland birds on the Boise River WMA.  The sign you referred to is outdated and will be taken down.
1/5/14
A: Sorry for the delay in responding.  The rule is specific to Idaho Fish and Game lands only.  There is no such rule for other public or private lands.
1/5/14
A: You can hunt coyotes on the Boise River WMA.  Restrictions apply to big game hunts. There is a motor vehicle closure in effect from November 16th through April 30th and we also remind hunters to be mindful of the primary purpose of the WMA is to minimize disturbance to wintering wildlife. 
1/5/14
A: There are several wildlife species to hunt at Sterling WMA depending on the time of year and weather conditions.  Give the Southeast Regional Office a call at 232-4703 and ask to talk to Dean Rose, the WMA manager.  He can give you more specific information to help you out.
1/4/14
A: There are waterfowl hunting opportunities on the Sterling Wildlife Management Area (WMA), at the American Falls Reservoir, McTucker Ponds area, as well as the Portneuf River near Pocatello.  Be aware that the Fort Hall Indian Reservation land is close by and that it cannot be hunted without a ...
1/4/14
A: The Big Game Season and Rules brochure will be delivered from the printer mid-April.  It will be posted on our website by early April.  Look for it at all license vendors and IDFG regional offices by late April.     
1/4/14
A: There are several ponds on Sterling WMA that provide good duck hunting.  However many of them freeze up pretty early most years.  Call the Southeast Regional office (232-4703) and ask for Dean Rose, the WMA manager.  He can give you up-to-date information on the conditions and give you advice on ...
1/4/14
A:   No, we don't offer a 3-year Sportsman's package.  The new 3-year licenses are only available as a hunting, fishing, or combination license.
1/4/14
A: Are you referring to the Super Hunt and Super Hunt Combo?  If so, both are available for Idaho residents and nonresidents, and hunters may enter both drawings as many times as they like.  Tickets are available from Fish and Game offices, license vendors and over the phone at 1-800-554-8685 or at ...
1/4/14
A: Breeding box turtles in Idaho would not require much in the way of permits.  Idaho Department of Fish and Game would require a commercial wildlife permit to sell the animals, and the US Dept of Agriculture would require a permit if your sales were large.  Both the Idaho Dept of Fish and Game and ...
1/3/14
A: Why Manage Wildlife in Wilderness By Virgil Moore, Director, Idaho Fish and Game Recent media coverage about Idaho Fish and Game sending an employee to try to remove two of the wolf packs in the Frank Church-River of No Return Wilderness has raised questions and concerns.  Many Idahoans have ...
1/3/14
A: Idaho Code 36-202(t) explicitly defines a senior resident an any person over 65 years of age who has lived in the state for 5 years so if your 65th birthday is not until February, you cannot purchase a Sr. license at age 64 and 11 months in January.  However, one option is to purchase your adult ...
1/3/14
A: Yes!  All hunters must have an Idaho hunting license to hunt in Idaho.  If you are only interested in coyotes and jackrabbits, you can purchase a nongame license for $35.50.  If you are interested in hunting any game animals, the license you purchase to hunt them will also allow you to hunt ...
1/2/14
A: Nonresidents who own a lifetime hunting or combination certificate (license) are eligible to purchase nonresident hound hunter permits at the nonresident price. Lifetime hunting or combination license holders are exempt from the nonresident quota and can purchase the nonresident hound hunter ...
1/2/14
A: You can now look up your Idaho Hunter Education (or Bowhunter Education number) and print out the information from our Website at: https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/duplicateprintcards.aspx.   Idaho residents--if you need the information for a concealed weapon permit, some Idaho counties ...
1/2/14
A: First, we just launched a new version of our Fishing Planner that allows you to search by distance from your location for any species of fish found in Idaho.  Go to fishandgame.idaho.gov and try it out.  You can find it on the bottom of our webpage and the Fishing Planner is "mobile friendly."   ...
1/1/14
A:
1/1/14
A: Federal duck stamps are valid July 1 of one year through June 30 of the next.  You can carry it with you during the spring/winter waterfowl seasons.  The stamp isn't associated with a particular license number, but with the hunter who has signed it.  You can carry it with you for the time it is ...
1/1/14
A: Yes. You will be issued an elk receipt that can be redeemed for a tag at a later time in the year. If you apply for an elk controlled hunt in the first drawing period, you must redeem the receipt for the controlled hunt tag by August 1. If you are going to hunt in a general season elk zone with a  ...
12/31/13
A: The spring 2014 steelhead limit on the North Fork Clearwater will remain the same as it was in the fall of 2013.  Hopefully, this will allow us to collect enough brood stock to replunish our hatchery program.   F08
12/31/13
A: In Daniels Reservoir, you can have up to 5 hooks per line.  So, if you are fishing with one line, you can have up to 5 jigs attached.  All must be barbless and you can still only keep 2 trout over 20".   F08
12/31/13
A: Yes with some restrictions. If you purchase a hunting license with validations and no tags or permits that are required to be notched, validated or attached to a harvested animal, we will allow you to upgrade to a sportsman's package license at a later date in the year. For example, if a person ...
12/31/13
A: All deer, elk and pronghorn hunters must complete and submit an online hunter report, for each tag issued, within 10 days of harvest or within 10 days of the close of the season for which their tag was valid. Use your hunting license number OR tag number and your complete last name as it appears ...
12/31/13
A: Tentatively, a "take me fishing" event is planned for Hauser Lake on January 25th.  However, it will be weather dependent.  As i write this, the forecast is calling for temperatures in the high 40's tommorrow, so stay tuned!  We'll do a press release as the time approaches if the event is going to ...
12/31/13
A: The Federal Duck stamp is required for hunters 16 and older.  You must have one now that you are 16 if you want to hunt this winter.
12/30/13
A: Yes though several have some special rules that apply.  Contact your local regional IDFG office for more information.
12/30/13
A: Please continue to review page 88 of the 2013 Big Game Seasons and Rules book for lists of weapon restrictions, including restrictions for  rifle and shotgun; short range weapons; muzzleloader caliber requirements, muzzleloader only seasons and archery only seasons. For example, for rifle and ...
12/30/13
A: Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game is only involved in garden ponds if the homeowner wants to stock them with game or native fish species.  You aren't precluded from keeping legally obtained game/native fish in your pond.  You just need to get a Private Fish Pond Permit from our agency.  They are free ...
12/30/13
A: Idaho offers lots of duck hunting opportunity throughout our state.  Fish and Game's Wildlife Management Areas are good place to start.  There are 32 WMA's throughout our state.  You can learn more about the one closest to you by clicking on the following link: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/ ...
12/29/13
A: Sorry.  By law, Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game can only provide the anglers name - Ed Kalinowski.  We cannot provide you with his address, phone or email information.  We’ve also heard about the video, but we've never seen it.
12/28/13
A: There is a very slim chance a kokanee could have flushed out of the Boise or Payette River system and was caught in Brownlee - but it's highly unlikely.  What you are probably seeing are silvery-looking rainbow trout.  Brownlee is a very productive system for rainbow trout in the fall and they put ...
12/28/13
A: If you are only trapping, you only need a trapping license.  If you are only hunting, you only need a hunting license.  To do both, you need both.
12/27/13
A: Idaho Fish and Game has not been asked and will not provide any financial support or logistical support for this event. 13 years ago, the Idaho Fish and Game Commission adopted a Predator Management Policy that states “Fish and Game will not support any contests or similar activities involving the ...
12/27/13
A: Yes - as long as you're properly licensed and possess a valid tag, you can hunt with your bow in an any-weapon hunt. 
12/26/13
A: Yes, you can hunt with any weapon in an any weapon hunt.
12/26/13
A: If you are looking for general seasons tags, the answer is yes.
12/26/13
A: Anyone participating in a hunting or fishing event in Idaho must comply with Idaho fishing and hunting licensing requirements.  All event participants must have proper licenses, tags and permits for the activity.  All participants must also comply with seasons, harvest limits, and other rules ...
12/26/13
A: Like a Big Buck contest, there is no requirement in the law for Fish and Game to issue a permit for this kind of activity. All participants are still required to obey the rules and current season frameworks such as season, method of take, licensing and reporting just like participants in a big ...
12/26/13
A: Pronghorn are quite a unique species.  They grow horns that shed annually unlike other species that grow horns that get larger each year like bighorn sheep and mt. goats.  Horns are different than antlers.  Horns are made from a keratinous sheath that grows from a core of live bone tissue.  In ...
12/26/13
A: The answer is "NO" you may not. You must have a 2014 mt. lion tag to hunt them in 2014.  The 2014 tag is valid from January 1, 2014 through the date of harvest or December 31, 2014 whichever comes first.
12/26/13
A: No, we don't offer a 3-year Sportsman's package.  The new 3-year license is only available as a hunting, fishing, or combination license.   F08 
12/26/13
A: Legacy Springs in Bingham County near Springfield  land is owned by the Bonneville Power Administration (BPA) and they have turned management responsibilities over to the Shoshone-Bannock Tribal Fish and Game department.  I would suggest you contact the Shoshone-Bannock Tribal management staff ...
12/25/13
A: There is only a $1.75 vendor fee.  The permit can be used on private property with the permission of the landowner.
12/23/13
A: No spot light permit is required for hunting raccoons when they follow the established IDFG Commission rules: 13.01.16 - The Trapping of Predatory and Unprotected Wildlife and the Taking of Furbearing Animals 400.2.d.Persons may hunt raccoon with the aid of an artificial light without a permit ...
12/23/13
A: No. Youth hunts are based on the hunters age and not the license or tag type they possess. According to Department rules, "Youth hunt only: Some deer hunts are for youth only. Only hunters 12-17 years of age with a valid license and tag may hunt antlerless deer in these units". Those units are ...
12/23/13
A: There is not enough information provided to give a definitive answer whether all the elements of the crime of interferring with lawful hunting exist. If you have more specific information as to when and where this occured and a desription of the persons and/or vehicles involved, please report them ...
12/22/13
A: Without knowing what species you are asking about, the answer here will be specific to elk only. If you purchase an OTC elk tag for the Middle Fork Zone, which includes unit 27, you may hunt any unit in that zone (20A, 26 or 27). Those are the only units that you may hunt with a Middle Fork Zone ...
12/21/13