Ask Fish & Game

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions.
  • Not all questions are answered.
  • Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.
  • Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Previously answered questions are posted here.

Displaying 1 - 100 of 3022 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: No. Once the season for which your elk tag is valid has opened, your tag can no longer be exchanged. But you are allowed to buy a left-over nonresident tag for a different zone.
10/2/11
A: Hunter orange is required only when hunting the nine Idaho Fish and Game wildlife management areas where pheasants are stocked. The areas are Fort Boise, C.J. Strike, Payette River, Montour, Sterling, Market Lake, Mud Lake, Cartier Slough and Niagara Springs. The minimum requirement is 36 square ...
10/6/11
A: Get as much information as possible, such as a description of the person or persons, a description and license number of any vehicles, and note the location. Then "Make the Call" to the Citizens Against Poaching hotline at 1-800-632-5999 - 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Or fill out a report on ...
10/16/11
A: Beginning last year, the use of handguns using straight-walled center-fire cartridges not originally developed for rifles was approved for use in big game short-range weapon hunts.
10/23/11
A: The bag limit is the total number you can take in one day. But the total may not include more than three scaup, two pintails, two redheads, two female mallards or one canvasback.
10/30/11
A: All offices are open Monday through Friday, except state holidays, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Offices in the Panhandle and Clearwater regions are in the Pacific Time zone; all others are in the Mountain Time zone. Contact us by phone, in person or mail us at a location listed here.  If you need a license or ...
1/23/12
A: No, you only need a hunting license if you are hunting.
2/7/12
A: Yes, you are required to have an Idaho hunting license to hunt coyotes. Nonresident licenses are listed here.
2/7/12
A: Idaho's first game laws were established by the Idaho Territorial Legislature in 1864.  These laws for closed seasons on big game animals from Februrary to July, but did not provide for enforcement. These laws predate both the State of Idaho (admitted to the Union in 1890) and the creation of the ...
2/8/12
A: The regulations for Spring Goose Hunts are available online.  The Spring Goose Hunts are primarily a private land hunting opportunity because geese are typically found feeding in agricultural fields. For more information please contact the Southeast Region at (208) 232-4703.
2/9/12
A: We cannot make predictions into the future, but we currently have a muzzleloader cow season in Unit 39, cow hunts that allow one to use any weapon, and 9 days of an any weapon bull season.  We use the late season archery to assist us in a depredation issue.  Our bull:cow ratio is adequate only ...
2/9/12
A: On the Fish and Game website you can find all the most current information about the summit at fishandgame.idaho.gov/summit.  You can register to receive e-mail updates on the Summit and soon you will be able to offer input on topics for discussion.
2/10/12
A: The Summit will likely include speakers, panel discussions and breakout sessions.The goal is to involve people at regional locations, and over the internet – making it possible for them to interact with those attending the event in Boise.Specific details will follow over the coming months.
2/10/12
A: You don’t have to come to Boise to participate.We’re going to use technology to “stream” the Summit live over the internet.We also plan to use technology and Fish and Game regional facilities across the state to provide opportunities for Idahoans to participate and interact in the Summit.
2/10/12
A: Much has changed since 1938 when Idaho citizens created the Idaho Fish and Game Commission through Idaho’s first citizens’ initiative. Our state’s population has tripled; two out of three Idahoans now live in cities; and wildlife management responsibilities are much broader than 75 years ago. For ...
2/10/12
A: Yes. Expandable broadheads are NOT legal for taking big game in Idaho. Wolves are classified as big game animals.
2/10/12
A: This conversation is intended to build enthusiasm for Idaho’s wildlife and develop a common understanding about conservation and wildlife management. Agency leaders also hope Summit participants will better understand what Idaho Fish and Game does and how the agency’s efforts benefit wildlife and ...
2/10/12
A: The Summit will be an opportunity to have a conversation with Idahoans who care about wildlife.   Hunters, trappers, anglers and other wildlife conservationists enjoy wildlife in many ways and they are deeply interested in how it is managed.  Early last year, Fish and Game Director Virgil Moore ...
2/10/12
A: You can tell the difference by the location of the mouth parts. Chiselmouth mouth parts will be farther back on the head. This picture is of a mountain whitefish.
2/10/12
A: Great to hear you’re wanting to give sturgeon fishing a try here in the Magic Valley Region.  Although your question was short – to answer it well in an email is difficult.  We would encourage you to stop into the Regional Office in Jerome or visit a local sporting goods shop and just chat with ...
2/10/12
A: Yes, the commission ruled to classify all salmon 24 inches and greater as adults; which is the reason for the rule. Fisheries data indicates that in over 7000 fish measured only 6 were 24 inches. The odds of catching a salmon exactly 24 inches long are very slim. Recommend measuring the salmon ...
2/10/12
A: It depends. In most of the state, there are no restrictions on the number of holes, but an angler can fish with up to five poles orlines at a time, and up to five hooks per line. A two-pole validation does not allow more than five lines while ice fishing. All lines must be attended by the angler. ...
2/10/12
A: Yes, but we stress to all individuals the need to obtain a receipt.  This receipt must contain the following information: Name and tribal identification number of Nez Perce tribal member selling the fish Name of the fish buyer Date of the sale Number of salmon sold Species of salmon and where it ...
2/10/12
A: Yes, IDAPA requires the presentation of antlers from antlered moose to be presented to a conservation officer or regional office so department personnel can collect biological data.  Since it is not required to present any parts of cow moose the information can simply be phoned in.
2/10/12
A: You don't need a license, and the only restrictions are on access and travel on the land. Antler hunters, like other outdoor recreationists, must secure permission to cross or look for antlers on private land, and they must abide by transportation restrictions on federal and state public lands. ...
2/10/12
A: The 2010 Idaho State Legislature amended Idaho Code 36-411 to allow IDFG to accept hunter and bowhunter education course certifications from foreign countries provided their course is equivalent to or exceeds our Idaho course.   A course certificate or card must be presented when purchasing a ...
2/10/12
A: Fish and Game conservation officers have discretion in matters such as this.  The officer investigating this case contacted the vendor store where the hunter purchased the tag.  The vendor told the officer a sales clerk was confused about when the wolf tags expired and had indeed told some some ...
2/11/12
A: A decision has not yet been made regarding the future of Priest Lake and the lake trout fishery.  IDFG is currently in the “scoping” phase of developing a new statewide fisheries management plan for 2013-2018.  The plan will set direction for Priest and Upper Priest lakes, as well as other ...
2/11/12
A: Rubber Boas are classified as Protect NonGame under IDAPA 13.  With a hunting license one can collect and possess up to four rubber boas but they may not be returned to the wild.  If you do not wish to purchase a hunting license you can apply for a collecting permit.
2/11/12
A: The Game Regulations are made available online shortly after they are approved by the Fish and Game Commission.  Big Game Seasons are set by the Commission every March (View the Commision Schedule).  For 2012, the meeting is scheduled for March 21-23rd. Printed Regulations will be available a ...
2/12/12
A: This is difficult to answer, as size is relative--huge to one person is typical to another.  That said, typical male wolves average around 100-110 pounds, whereas females average 80-90 pounds.  The truly exceptionally large male wolf can approach 120-130 (sometimes heavier, depending on how much ...
2/14/12
A: The only information we have is what was reported on the news; since that story aired several weeks ago no further reports have come in. Given the time of year with breeding and dispersal taking place anything is possible. The only known wolf activity even close to this area is a lone, black, ...
2/14/12
A: The minimum age is 10 years old.  It is best to take hunter education first, then take the archery class. 
2/14/12
A: Lighted knocks are not currently legal in Idaho.  There was a proposal made in 2011, but it was not approved by the Commission.  At this time there is no lighted knock proposal for consideration as a non-biological rule for 2012.
2/14/12
A: Both static PDF maps suitable for printing and interactive online maps of hunt area boundaries are available on the Hunt Area Map Index.  Sportsmen can also use the MapCenter to view Game Management Units, Elk Zones and current Controlled Hunts.  For offline viewing in Google Earth and GIS ...
2/15/12
A: Yes.
2/16/12
A: Generally the answer is no, however there are exceptions. These exceptions are explained in the 2011 Big Game Regulations: A person who has applied for a bighorn sheep, mountain goat or moose controlled hunt may not apply for any other controlled hunt in the same year, except unlimited controlled ...
2/16/12
A: To hunt with a crossbow during an archery-only season you must apply for the permit to do so.  The form is online at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/licenses/disArchery.pdf.  Your doctor has to sign it.  
2/16/12
A: The Furbearer harvest summaries are included in the annual Pittman Robertson (PR) Reports published on the Idaho Fish and Game website.  The most current document is for 2009-10 Furbearer PR Report. For 2011-10, the report will be delayed due to the late arrival of a significant number of harvest ...
2/16/12
A: Unfortunately, at this time we do not have discounted fishing licenses for nonresident veterans. However, you are able to purchase a daily or season fishing license online and have it mailed to you prior to your trip. Please allow 5-7 business days for mail delivery.  
2/17/12
A: It is legal to hunt in Idaho with a suppressor. Keep in mind that there is a federal permit required to possess a suppressor in Idaho and the weight of your weapon must stay under 16 lbs.
2/18/12
A: Lighted knocks are not currently legal in Idaho.  There was a proposal made in 2011, but it was not approved by the Commission.  At this time there is no lighted knock proposal for consideration as a non-biological rule for 2012.
2/18/12
A: It IS legal to use fish as cut bait with a few exceptions. You can use the head, tail, and entrails of any legal fish. You can use all parts of a non-game fish but NO fillets of game fish. You are ONLY permitted to use the head, tail, and entrails of game fish.
2/18/12
A: A resident of Idaho can purchase two wolf tags per calendar year. A resident cannot purchase non-resident wolf tags. A non-resident deer and/or elk tag that may be used for wolf, mountain lion, or bear so long as the season for both species is currently open in that area.
2/19/12
A: It is valid even if you move out of state.  Each year you will get your lifetime license at no charge but you must get tags, licenses and permits at nonresident prices. Thank you.
2/19/12
A: Currently, no.  Electronic calls can be used during the Conservation Order seasons in the mid-continent portion of North America.  The Conservation Order seasons were a result of extensive habitat damage caused by overabundant snow geese, and were only allowed through an act of Congress.   ...
2/20/12
A: Idaho is in its 2012 fishing season which means that anglers must have a 2012 Idaho license.  Steelhead and two-pole permits must also be dated 2012.  (All 2011 season licenses and permits have expired).    
2/20/12
A: Yes, there are pheasant hunting opportunities in Nez Perce County.  Pheasants occur in the agricultural portions of the county.  Please note that almost all of the pheasant habitat in the county occurs on private property and, therefore, requires landowner permission.  Additionally, there are some ...
2/21/12
A: Crayfish do not have a specific possession limit, however you can only have up to 5 traps at one time without obtaining a commercial fishing license and trap tags. This is from the 2012 fishing regulations: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish: Nongame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and ...
2/21/12
A: Idaho Fish and Game has a long history of working with Eagle Scout candidates and is happy to continue the tradition.  Here are a few bits of information that may help you find the right person to talk to: Idaho Fish and Game operates out of seven regions in the state.  Most regions have a ...
2/22/12
A: Check the Fish and Game website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/hed/public/default.aspx.  New classes are posted there whenever an instructor plans one.  
2/23/12
A: You can contact your nearest Fish and Game Region office.  They can look up your number and send you a new card. Thanks for the question
2/25/12
A: There is already a season on white-fronted geese or ‘specks’ in southwest Idaho.  White-fronted geese are dark geese and have the same season framework as Canada geese (another dark goose).  Pacific Flyway states like Idaho have a season framework that includes 107 days for dark goose hunting.  In ...
2/25/12
A: Nonresident hunting license and tags may be refunded less issuance fees and a $50 processing fee, in the event of: Illness or injury that disables a license holder for the entire applicable hunting season. Military deployment of license holder due to armed conflict. Death of the license holder or ...
2/26/12
A: In general it is NOT legal to use a crossbow during the archery only season, however it is legal to use one during the any weapon season..  An individual with a disabled archery permit is allowed to use  a crossbow during the archery only season. Here is the information from the Big Game ...
2/26/12
A:  Crayfish do not have a specific possession limit, however you can only have up to 5 traps at one time without obtaining a commercial fishing license and trap tags. This is from the 2012 fishing regulations: Trapping or Seining Minnows and Crayfish: Nongame fish (minnows), yellow perch, and ...
2/27/12
A: The pelts of those wolves that can be safely recovered are sold at Idaho Fish and Game's annual fur auction. This year's auction will be held on Saturday, March 31, at the Southwest Regional office, 3101 S. Powerline Road, Nampa. For more information contact the Southwest Regional office at 208- ...
2/27/12
A: Unfortunately, the Clearwater Region is not well known for its waterfowl hunting.  Access is limited due to private property but some field hunting and jump shooting of regional streams/ponds is available during migration with landowner permission.  Scouting is the key for success for both birds ...
2/27/12
A: There is no set distance you must be away from homes or roads to hunt.  You cannot shoot from or across the traveled portion, shoulder, or embankment of any maintained road (maintained by any government entity), or hunt on private property without permission from the landowner.
2/27/12
A: You can contact a region office.  Our biologists are based there.
2/27/12
A: This is a good idea, and one we have tossed around, but not explored yet.  We will take this into consideration.  It will take some time to establish a framework for something such as this, but this could prove very worthwhile.  Thank you for sharing your idea!
2/27/12
A: Sterling WMA is part of unit 68A so only short-ranged weapons are allowed for big game (archery and shotgun).  Trapping coyotes, however, is allowed (although I don't know of anyone that has done it).  We ask that you check in with our office in Pocatello if you choose to trap on Sterling.  FYI, ...
2/28/12
A: Yes; although the focus has been on land vehicles, the "hunt from motorized vehicles" statute (I.C. section 36-1101(b) (1)) and the definition of motorized vehicle (I.C. section 36-202(y)) are broad enough to include watercraft. The Commission rule (IDAPA 13.01.04.303) would also include boats. ...
2/28/12
A: A resident may purchase gift licenses for his/her spouse and his/her children under the age of eighteen (18) living in the household. The purchaser must provide the proper residency identification for obtaining a resident license.   Grandparents would not qualify. This privilege is only for ...
2/29/12
A: Yes; as long as you provide suitable documentation for proof of residency in Idaho for your spouse.   Significant others do not qualify. The appropriate proof of residency documents is either a copy of the spouse’s current driver’s license OR in the case of a non-driver, a copy of the spouse’s ...
2/29/12
A: Yes; there is no limit on the number of youths a licensed adult can mentor. The mentored youths must be within normal sight and hearing distance from the mentor.
2/29/12
A: No, they cannot harvest a bear, lion or wolf with a resident deer tag.  They must have the tag for the specific animal they want to harvest.  
2/29/12
A: Yes; as long as you provide other suitable documentation for proof of residency in Idaho.   You may live in Idaho and work for a trucking company in another state. Many states require their employees to have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) for the state in which the company is located. As long ...
2/29/12
A: Yes, if he purchases a two pole permit.   Legislation passed in 2009 allows resident youths to purchase a two pole permit without a fishing license.
2/29/12
A: NO: (see exception below); as long as the youth has a valid license and tag. Care must be taken by the adult not to enter into the act of “hunting.” They can even have a weapon in possession as the constitution allows. Once they begin pursuing, worrying, following after or on the trail of, ...
2/29/12
A: Nonresidents may draw up to no more than 10 percent of the tags in an individual hunt and no more than 10 percent of the tags for the species. This is not a guaranteed set number of tags to be given to nonresidents. The drawing is a random draw and the 10 percent number may not be met in all hunts ...
2/29/12
A: No, employees that help in your business to mount, preserve, or prepare any parts of wildlife do not need a license. Your taxidermy license and record keeping will cover their activities.   Each taxidermy business is required to obtain a license and keep records for that business location. ...
2/29/12
A: Successful applicants in the second controlled hunt drawing do not have a deadline to purchase their controlled hunt tags unless they have a general season tag.   Those with general season tags need to exchange the tag for the controlled hunt tag prior to the opener of the general season tag they ...
2/29/12
A: “Unprotected Wildlife” may be hunted with the non-game license.  Examples include; Jack Rabbits, Coyotes, and Marmots.   Unprotected Wildlife, Defined by Rule: Unprotected wildlife is defined as all animals OTHER than those classified by the Fish and Game Commission as big game animals, upland ...
2/29/12
A: Those who have drawn a January extra controlled hunt will not lose their hunt on August 1.   They cannot purchase the controlled hunt tag until December of the current year and must first purchase a hunting license for the year of the January hunt.    Once they have purchased their hunting license ...
2/29/12
A: Allocated outfitter controlled hunt tags do not go back to the general public.  Outfitter allocated controlled hunts do not have to be purchased by August 1. Outfitters have until August 20 to purchase the tags for their clients.  Any winning tags not purchased by August 20 deadline will be ...
2/29/12
A: The nonresident small game and nonresident three-day small game hunting licenses were established to offer nonresident sportsmen, who do not wish to hunt big game, an opportunity to come to Idaho and hunt small game only for a lower cost.   The lower cost could result in a large influx of ...
2/29/12
A: When safe and practical, carcasses are recovered and DNA and other biological samples are collected. Some carcasses are sent to the Idaho Fish & Game Wildlife Health Lab for necropsy and disease testing.
2/29/12
A: The jackrabbit is not a game animal and is unprotected. It is legal to hunt unprotected or predatory animals (coyote) on private land after obtaining written permission from the landowner and on public lands after obtaining a "Permit to Hunt with Artificial Light." This permit is available only at ...
2/29/12
A: There was an unexpected delay in getting the big game season proposals online. They may now be viewed at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=301
2/29/12
A: Hunting and fishing fees, otherwise known as license dollars, help fund Idaho Fish and Game. License dollars make up about 40 percent of the Fish and Game budget.  The rest comes primarily from federal grants. About 16 percent of the federal money is generated by excise taxes on hunting and ...
3/1/12
A: Expandable broadheads are not legal for taking big game animals in Idaho.  Elk are classified as big game animals.
3/2/12
A: None of the carcasses of 14 wolves killed in the aerial control operation in February were retrieved. All were killed in remote areas and were from the ground without great difficulty. In the past we have retrieved most carcasses of wolves killed on the highway or killed as part of control actions ...
3/2/12
A: Proposals for Fish & Game regulation changes can be submitted in a variety of ways.  Proposals are often submitted at public meetings and open houses hosted by Regional Offices and the Fish and Game Commission.  Additionally, letters, e-mails, and discussions with Department staff are also ...
3/2/12
A: The Big Game Season Proposals are available online at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=301 For specific details of your regional meeting beyond the scope of this document feel free to contact the Idaho Falls Office at (208) 525-7290.
3/2/12
A: He does not need a license to carry or for target practice, but he does need a license to hunt in Idaho.  Please find more information about hunting rules and hunter education in our Big Game Rules at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/docs/rules/bgInfo.pdf.  
3/2/12
A:  There is no limit to the number of non resident children under age 14 that can fish accompanied by  the holder of a valid fishing license.  All fish caught and reduced to posession shall be included in the license holders daily/possesion limits in order to fish without a license. Non resident ...
3/4/12
A: Volunteer opportunities are listed on the F & G website at https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/about/volunteer/.    
3/4/12
A: Lifetime license holders who move out of state continue to get their lifetime license each year at no charge.  They have to purchase nonresident tags and permits, however.  Usually nonresidents are only able to draw up to 10 percent of the permits in any controlled hunt; lifetime license holders ...
3/6/12
A: You can only hunt unprotected species with a blowgun. You must have a hunting license. Please double check with the city or county authorities in your area to see if they have any ordinances that prohibit the use of blowguns.      
3/7/12
A: Sorry for the delay in responding. No, there is no residency excemption for non-resident students in Idaho.  For more information on Idaho residency requirements, please review page 101 of the 2012 Big Game Seasons and Rules brochure, or contact your local fish and game office.  
3/7/12
A: Using a motor vehicle as a rest during hunting is considered hunting from a motor vehicle and unlawful, even if it is unoccupied.  This can be found in Idaho Code: 36-11-1(b)1.
3/7/12
A: Paiute ground squirrels are found in the area you describe.  Paiutes in the southwestern part of the state are legal to hunt.  As long as you stay south of the Payette River and north of the Snake River you will not run into any protected ground squirrels.
3/8/12
A: There are no weapon restrictions for coyotes because they are not classified as a big game animal in Idaho.  Coyotes are classified as predatory wildlife like a raccoon, skunk or jackrabbit.  Be aware that if you are contacted by an officer they may have questions about what game you are pursuing ...
3/9/12
A: It is legal to hunt big game in a ghillie suit in Idaho.  The person I checked with was concerned about the safety of doing so.   
3/14/12
A: We have not stocked bass into Milner Reservoir for quite some time.  We have sampled this fishery over the past few years and have not documented a decrease in fish numbers and fish sizes – but there is the public perception something has recently changed.   We are not discounting your ...
3/15/12
A: There is information on our website at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/?getPage=209 about one of the most common wolf diseases.    A wolf was recently found that died of parvovirus (similar to the parvo that effects domestic dogs).   If we suspect that a wolf's death is from disease a ...
3/15/12
A: Snag Fishing: Taking or attempting to take a fish by use of a hook or lure in any manner or method other than enticing or attracting a fish to strike with, and become hooked in, its mouth or jaw. Game fish which are hooked other than in the mouth or jaw must be released immediately. Snag fishing ...
3/15/12
A: You might begin by looking at "The Compass" Idaho Fish and Game's 15 year strategic plan, which is posted on the Idaho Fish and Game website under the "About Us" tab.  Developed and implemented in 2005, The Compass lays out four goals:  sustain Idaho's fish and wildlife and the habitats upon which ...
3/16/12
A: With predators, such as coyotes, the following administrative rule applies: 03. Unprotected and Predatory Wildlife. Those species of wildlife classified as Unprotected Wildlife and Predatory Wildlife may be taken in any amount, at any time, and in any manner not prohibited by state or federal law ...
3/16/12