Questions & Answers: fishing equipment

Ask Fish and Game is for general questions. Not all questions are answered. Urgent questions should be directed to your nearest office.

Some answers change over time; please take note of the "answered-on" date.

Displaying 1 - 6 of 6 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: A treble hook is considered one hook, even though there are 3 points on it.  Be sure that any barbs are bent down to the shank to meet the barbless requirement.
6/23/12
A: Please check with the Fish and Game office in McCall (634-8137) and the Southwest Region office in Nampa (465-8465).
9/12/12
A: This is such a broad topic that it is hard to answer here.  It was suggested to me that you should go to a local sporting goods store and talk with them about what works well in your area.
10/1/12
A: We have a two-pole permit that allows you to use two poles or rods at the same time on waters and during seasons specified by Commission Rule.  This permit is valid for all open water and for salmon and steelhead fishing. NOTE:  The two-pole permit is not valid for use while ice fishing and does ...
1/30/13
A: You can use a seine or throw-net to harvest nongame fish and yellow perch.  The net can be no more than 10' in length or width and must have 3/8" or smaller mesh.  The seine or net cannot be left unattended.  See page 51 of the 2013 - 2015 Fishing Rule booklet.    
4/16/13
A: Idaho Code Section  36-1201(c) requires a person to have the proper required license on his person at all times while hunting, fishing, or trapping, and to produce the original license for inspection upon request of a person authorized to enforce fish and game laws. This legal requirement places ...
5/7/14