Idaho Fish and GameIDFG Logo
IDFG Regions
Region 1 - PanhandleRegion 2 - ClearwaterRegion 3 - SouthwestRegion 4 - Magic ValleyRegion 5 - SoutheastRegion 6 - Upper Snake Region 7 - SalmonView list of all Regions

Questions & Answers: tags

Displaying 1 - 25 of 40 questions
Question Askedsort descending
A: Winners of the first deer, elk, pronghorn, and fall bear drawing will be notified by July 10. Winners in the drawing will be mailed a postcard notification. It is, however, the responsibility of the hunter to find out if they were... Read more
6/28/09
A: Under legislation passed this year, Idaho Fish and Game no longer issues separate controlled hunt permits. All the permit information is included on the tags, which must be purchased by August 1.
7/5/09
A: Any local vendor or Fish and Game office can issue a duplicate license. But lost tags, including bear tags, can be replaced only at a Fish and Game office. Each duplicate item costs $7.25 for Idaho residents and $8.25 for nonresidents.
7/19/09
A: Applicants whose names were drawn had through August 1 to pick up their controlled hunt tags. If they didn't pick them up, their tags became available for the second drawing. The application period for the second drawing runs through... Read more
8/9/09
A: Idaho has two types of deer tags and both have nonresident purchase quotas. The nonresident quota for the general deer tag is 12,000. Nonresidents that choose a white-tailed deer tag are included in that quota. When the general nonresident... Read more
10/25/09
A: Nonresident tags may be sold only at the prices specified in Idaho Code section 36-416, which are set by legislation. The law doesn't make a provision for lowering the price when the tag is sold to a resident.
11/8/09
A: No. Fish and Game offers annual license and lifetime license certificates. These licenses are valid for the lifetime of the license holder and are available to all residents of Idaho. If a lifetime certificate holder moves out of Idaho,... Read more
11/30/09
A: The receipt for resident big game tags is offered as a convenience, so you only have to make one purchase. Resident general deer and elk tags usually go on sale around July 1, however, if you desire to purchase a capped elk zone tag you... Read more
12/7/09
A: The 2010 Big Game Seasons and Rules won't be available until after the Idaho Fish and Game Commission sets the big game seasons for 2010 at the commission meeting in late March. The books go to the printer shortly after that and will be... Read more
1/14/10
A: The application period for moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat controlled hunts begins April 1 and runs through April 30. The rule book is published every two years, so this year's book will be the same as last year's. The fees have... Read more
2/22/10
A: You can simply ignore purchasing your controlled hunt tag and pick up a general tag when they become available on August 2. Or you can fill out an affidavit at any Idaho Fish and Game office to cancel your controlled hunt now. The usual... Read more
7/11/10
A: Applicants whose names were drawn had through August 1 to pick up their controlled hunt tags. If they didn't pick them up, their tags became available for the second drawing. The application period for the second drawing for deer, elk and... Read more
8/12/10
A: It depends. Tags for controlled hunts can't be exchanged, nor can tags for general hunts that already are open. But tags for a general season that has not opened may be exchanged - for a fee of $3.75. Tags can be exchanged only at a Fish... Read more
9/2/10
A: Hunters are asked to file their harvest report, regardless of whether they actually hunted with their tags or whether they took an animal, within 10 days of the harvest or within 10 days of the end of their hunts. There is a hurry: it... Read more
11/21/10
A: A gift certificate to cover a new hunting/fishing license is one idea. Also, Fish and Game offers annual license and lifetime license certificates. These licenses are valid for the lifetime of the license holder and are available to all... Read more
11/28/10
A: It is simple and easy to make this kind of gift, and it works for lifetime licenses as well as annual licenses. Every Idaho Fish and Game office will sell you a gift certificate, which can be redeemed by the giftee at Fish and Game offices... Read more
12/12/10
A: This license allows 10- and 11-year-olds to hunt upland game birds, migratory waterfowl, cottontail rabbits, and unprotected and predatory birds and animals, as well as turkeys and sandhill cranes - with the appropriate tags. They must... Read more
12/19/10
A: Glad you asked. Here is a simplified version of how the controlled hunt drawing system works: The procedure has been computerized since 1973 and was certified random by Boise State University professors in 1977. Every applicant has the... Read more
2/13/11
A: The second controlled hunt application period for 12 leftover moose hunt permits runs from June 15 through June 25 - one bull in Hunt 3044, Unit 12-3; three bulls in Hunt 3053, Unit 16A; four bulls in Hunt 3054, Unit 17; and four bulls in... Read more
6/5/11
A: Hunters who drew deer, elk or pronghorn can pick up their tags through August 1. After that, Fish and Game can release a list of leftover controlled hunt tags. The application period for the second drawing is August 5 through 15.
6/30/11
A: Most resident general season deer and elk tags can be picked up after the controlled hunt drawings are over. Tags for elk zones subject to a quota went on sale Sunday, July 10. Resident quota elk tags available are:ELK ZONE--TAG TYPE--NO.... Read more
7/10/11
A: If you have drawn and purchased a deer controlled hunt tag that is not an extra hunt, the only type of deer hunt you can apply for in the second application period is an extra hunt.
8/7/11
A: Monday, August 15, was the deadline to apply. Winners will be notified by mail and results also will be posted on the Fish and Game website at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ after the drawing. There's no deadline to pick up tags from the... Read more
8/14/11
A: It is valid even if you move out of state.  Each year you will get your lifetime license at no charge but you must get tags, licenses and permits at nonresident prices. Thank you.
2/19/12
A: No, they cannot harvest a bear, lion or wolf with a resident deer tag.  They must have the tag for the specific animal they want to harvest.  
2/29/12

Pages