I recently purchased out so state tags for turkey and elk in the state of Idaho. Unfortunately, I just found out I need to have surgery and I will not be able to hunt this year in Idaho or any other state. I am wondering if there is any way to return my tags and license for a refund even if there is a paperwork fee that would be fine.
Nonresident hunting license and tags may be refunded less issuance fees and a $50 processing fee, in the event of:
- Illness or injury that disables a license holder for the entire applicable hunting season.
- Military deployment of license holder due to armed conflict.
- Death of the license holder or his or her parent, spouse or child.
Tags and license must be returned with proof (death certificate, obituary, written justification by a licensed medical doctor, or copy of military orders). Hunting license fees will not be refunded after the license is used to apply for a controlled hunt or to buy a turkey, mountain lion or bear tag. The request must be postmarked by December 31 of the year in which the license was valid, except for “event of death” refund, which must be submitted within 1 year of the death.
Mail the license, tag and written justification to:
IDFG,Attention License Department, P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707
Thank you for your question.