Printer Friendly Page Email Page
 Search     
Idaho Fish & Game
Explore our Regions
IDFG

NEWS RELEASE

Thursday, October 23, 2014 

Back to News Release List

IDAHO FISH AND GAME
Headquarters NEWS RELEASE

Boise, ID
Date:
May 6, 2013

Contact:
steve liebenthal
steve.liebenthal@idfg.idaho.gov
(208) 334-3746

now's the time for a hunter education class


Now is the time to register and complete a Hunter Education class. Registration is easy and convenient, and this time of year, there are a number of classes to choose from.

"We have several options available for both hunter education and bowhunter education," Fish and Game wildlife educator Don Sturtevant said. "These include tradition classroom courses, home study and on-line course options."

For those interested in a hunter or bowhunter education class, the place to go is the Fish and Game website at http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=30.

"You'll find all the available traditional courses listed there and can pick one to fit your schedule," Sturtevant said. The cost is $8.

A number of upcoming classes have empty seats, and Sturtevant advises folks not to procrastinate.

"Waiting to take a class until later this summer or early fall is a bad strategy," he said. "Class demand will be high at that time and you might not find a seat available."

Instead, Sturtevant recommends students register and take a class now while a number of classes are available.

"There's a class for even the busiest schedule," Sturtevant said. "Take a look on our website and find the one that's best for you."

In the unlikely event that a class isn't available, check back regularly. New courses are added frequently.

Anyone who simply can't make a traditional course fit a schedule or want the convenience of completing a course at home, Fish and Game has two other options available. The hunter education home study option allows students to work from home at their own pace.

"Students have 30 days from the day they register for home study to complete their workbook and return it to one of our offices," Sturtevant said. "They can then register for a field day to complete the course."

The cost for this course is $8.

An online version is available for the hunter education and bowhunter education courses.

"This option allows persons with Internet access to complete the course at their own pace," Sturtevant said.

Students must successfully complete an online examination at the end of the course, print out their completion certificate and then register for a field day to complete the course. The online portion of this course costs about $25, with another $8 to complete the field day.

By state law, persons born after January 1, 1975, must attend and successfully complete a hunter education course before buying an Idaho hunting license.

Participants must be at least nine years old to attend. Though not required, parents are encouraged to attend classes with their children and participate in the entire program.

Idaho Idaho at 150