
 

IDFG adheres to all applicable state and federal laws and regulations related to 

discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, gender, or handicap. If you 

feel you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility of IDFG, or if 

you desire further information, please write to: Idaho Department of Fish and Game, P.O. 

Box 25, Boise, ID 83707; or The Office of Human Resources, U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240. 

 
Costs associated with this publication are available from IDFG 

in accordance with section 60-202, Idaho Code. 4-09/30,000/31801 
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Other Relevant Statutes & Rules 

The following acts are unlawful by statute or commission rule. 

Consult Title 36, Idaho Code, or the 2016-2018 Idaho Fishing 
Seasons and Rules for exact wording and complete listing. 

 

It Is Unlawful: 

• To fish within the posted upstream or downstream boundary of 

any fish weir or trap. 

• To refuse to produce license or fish for inspection upon request by 
a conservation officer. 

•  To fail to stop and report at check stations established to inspect 

licenses and fish and game. 

•   To possess, transport or use as bait any live fish, leeches, frogs, 

salamanders, waterdogs, or shrimp, except that live crayfish may 

be used if caught on the body of water being fished. 

•  To catch any part of another person’s bag limit, EXCEPT in the 

case of license-exempt persons fishing for salmon. 

•  To transport for another or accept as a gift any game fish, unless a 
statement signed by the taker accompanies the fish, showing the 

number and kinds, the date taken, the taker’s name, address and 

fishing license number. 

•  To claim ownership to more wild game or fish taken within the 

state of Idaho than allowed by established possession limits. 

•  To ship any fish by commercial carrier unless the outside of the 
package is marked as to the number and kinds of fish and the 

package contains a written statement showing the taker’s name, 

address and fishing license number. 

•  To use seines, dip nets, spears, snag hooks, or any other 

contrivance in taking fish from the waters of the state EXCEPT as 

allowed by Commission regulation. (Note: Tribal fisheries may 
use gear types other than those allowed in sport fisheries) 

• To waste game fish. 

• To sell fish without a permit. 
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Licenses, Permits and Requirements 

Resident Fishing License ...................................  $25.75 

Resident Junior (14-17) Fishing License ............  $13.75 

Resident Salmon Permit (License Required) .....  $12.75 

Resident Two-Pole Permit .................................  $13.75 

Nonresident Season Fishing License.................  $98.25 

Nonresident Daily Fishing License .....................  $12.75 

     (Each Consecutive day at initial purchase) ...  $6.00 

Nonresident Junior (under 18) Fishing License ..  $21.75 

Nonresident Salmon Permit (License Required)  $25.75 

3-Day Salmon/Steelhead Permit (includes a 3-Day 
General Fishing License)  ..................................  $37.50 

Nonresident Two-Pole Permit ............................  $15.50 
 
 Any person, age 14 and older, must have a valid Fishing License 

and Salmon Permit in possession to fish for salmon, except Free 
Fishing Day, June 11, 2016. 

 Any person, age 14 and older, who does not qualify as a resident 
must purchase a Nonresident Season Fishing License and 

Salmon Permit, a Nonresident Junior Fishing License and 

Salmon Permit, or a 3-Day Salmon\Steelhead License to fish for 
salmon. 

 To qualify for resident status, a person must be domiciled in the 

state for at least six months. 

 Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 may fish 

without a license and salmon permit provided they are 
accompanied by the holder of a valid permit and that any salmon 

24 inches or more in length kept must be recorded on the permit 

holder’s card and all salmon kept must be counted in the permit 
holder’s legal bag, possession, and season limit.  

 Resident children under the age of 14 may purchase their own 
salmon permit so that they may catch their own limit of salmon.  

 Nonresident children under the age of 14 may purchase a 

Nonresident Junior Fishing License and a salmon permit so that 
they may catch their own limit of salmon.  

 Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 may 
purchase a two pole permit.  

 The holder of a valid Idaho Fishing License and Salmon Permit 

may fish for salmon in the Snake River where it forms the 
boundary between the states of Idaho and Oregon, subject to the 

fish and game laws of Idaho, but may not fish from the 

shoreline, including wading, and may not fish in sloughs or 
tributaries on the Oregon side.  An Oregon license holder has the 

same rights and restrictions with reference to the Idaho side.  

Any angler who fishes on the Snake River is entitled to have in 
possession only the limit allowed by one license regardless of 

the number of licenses in possession. 

 Consult the 2016-2018 Fishing Seasons and Rules brochure for 
other regulations relating to fishing, license costs and other 

Department information.                                                 
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IDAHO 2016 
Spring Chinook 

Salmon 
Seasons & Rules 

Snake River 
Clearwater River 

North Fork Clearwater River 
Middle Fork Clearwater 

South Fork Clearwater River 
Lochsa River  

Lower Salmon River 
Little Salmon River 

 

 

 
Salmon in this brochure refer to anadromous (ocean 

run) Chinook Salmon of the species Oncorhynchus 

tshawytscha. 

 

Idaho Department of Fish and Game 
Virgil Moore, Director 

P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707 
Phone: (208) 334-3700 

http://fishandgame.idaho.gov 

Citizens Against Poaching 

1-800-632-5999 

Special Restrictions 

Lower Salmon and Little Salmon rivers:   Fishing from any 
watercraft is prohibited within 30 yards of the west shoreline 

of the Salmon River from the Riggins City Park boat ramp 

upstream to a posted boundary approximately 50 yards 
upstream of the mouth of the Little Salmon River. Fishing 

from any watercraft is also prohibited in the Little Salmon 

River from the mouth upstream approximately 200 yards to a 
posted boundary. 

Mainstem Clearwater River: In the Big Eddy near Lenore 

Rest Area at milepost 28 on US Highway 12, fishing from any 
watercraft is prohibited from a posted boundary downstream 

of river mile 27.6 extending to the posted upstream boundary 

at river mile 28.0.  
  

Fishing from the shoreline or wading along the perimeter of 

Dworshak National Fish Hatchery is prohibited.  Fishing is 
also prohibited in the area of the ladder to the Nez Perce Tribal 

Hatchery (approximately 1 mile upstream of the Cherry Lane 

Bridge) as delineated by posted boundaries approximately 100 
yards upstream and downstream from the ladder, and 

extending into the river channel approximately 50 yards.  

 

North Fork Clearwater River:  The mouth of the North Fork 

Clearwater River is defined as a straight line between the 

posted signs located at the Clearwater Hatchery outlet culvert 
on the west side and at the tip of land below the Dworshak 

Hatchery on the east side. Fishing from the shoreline or 
wading along the perimeter of Dworshak National Fish 

Hatchery is prohibited.  Fishing from any watercraft or wading 

is prohibited between the posted line approximately 150 yards 
upstream from the mouth of the North Fork Clearwater River 

to the Ahsahka Highway 7 Bridge.  When fishing from the 

Ahsahka Highway 7 Bridge, it is unlawful to take or attempt to 
take any fish downstream of the railroad bridge.  Fishing from 

the railroad bridge is prohibited. 

Illustration by  

Tribal fisheries also occur in Idaho. They are 

governed by the Tribes and have different rules 

than Idaho sport fisheries. Please be respectful 

of these different fishing traditions.  

Snagging 
It is unlawful to take or attempt to take salmon by 

snagging. Snagging shall mean the taking or 

attempting to take a fish by use of a hook or lure in 

any manner or method other than enticing or 

attracting a fish to strike with, and become hooked in 

its mouth.  A salmon that has been hooked anywhere 

other than its mouth or jaw must be released. 

http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/


Seasons 

The following waters are open to fishing for Chinook Salmon 

during the periods listed. Waters not specifically designated below 
shall remain CLOSED to fishing for Chinook Salmon unless opened 

by Commission action. In all waters open to Chinook Salmon 

fishing, the season shall be 7 days a week until further notice. 

Open April 23 until further notice: 

Snake River (Hells Canyon):  From the Dug Bar boat ramp 

upstream to Hells Canyon Dam. 

Mainstem Clearwater River:  From the Camas Prairie Railroad 
Bridge at Lewiston upstream to the South Fork Clearwater 

River.(see Mainstem Clearwater River special restrictions, page 6). 

North Fork Clearwater River:  From its mouth upstream to 
Dworshak Dam (see North Fork Clearwater River Special 

Restrictions, page 6). 

South Fork Clearwater River:  From its mouth upstream to the 
confluence of American and Red rivers. 

Middle Fork Clearwater River:  From its confluence with the 

South Fork Clearwater River upstream to the confluence of the 
Lochsa and Selway rivers. 

Lochsa River:  From its mouth upstream to the Twin Bridges 
immediately upstream from the confluence of Crooked Fork and 

Colt Killed creeks. 

Lower Salmon River:  From the Rice Creek Bridge upstream to the 
uppermost boat ramp at Vinegar Creek. (see Lower Salmon River 

Special Restrictions, page 6). 

Little Salmon River:  From the mouth upstream to the US Highway 
95 Bridge near Smokey Boulder Road. (see Little Salmon River 

Special Restrictions, page 6). 

Fishing Hours 

Clearwater River Drainage, Snake, Lower Salmon and Little 

Salmon Rivers: Fishing for Chinook Salmon is permitted only 
during the hours shown in the table below. 
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Daily, Possession, & Season Limits 

NOTE: Idaho Department of Fish and Game (IDFG) may 

implement in-season changes to seasons or limits.  For updated 

seasons and limits information consult a license vendor, an 

IDFG office, the IDFG salmon fishing hotline (855-287-2702) 

or the IDFG website: 

(http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110 ) 

Adult Chinook Salmon is 24 inches or more in length. 

Jack Chinook Salmon is less than 24 inches in length. 

 

Mainstem Clearwater, North Fork Clearwater, Middle 

Fork Clearwater and Lochsa rivers: 

 Daily Bag Limit: four (4) salmon  per day, only one (1) may be 
an adult. 

 Possession Limit:  12 salmon of which no more than three (3) 

may be adults . 

South Fork Clearwater, Snake, Lower Salmon and Little 

Salmon rivers: 

 Daily Bag Limit: four (4) salmon  per day, only two (2) may be 

an adult. 

 Possession Limit:  12 salmon of which no more than six (6) 

may be adults. 

Season Limit (all waters):  No person may take more than 
twenty (20) adult Chinook Salmon statewide during 2016 salmon 

seasons occurring prior to September 1, 2016.  

“Possession limit” shall apply to salmon while in the field or being 

transported to the final place of consumption or storage. 

Anglers may not fish for Chinook Salmon in any river section while 
in possession of Chinook Salmon that match or exceed the Chinook 

Salmon limits for that section. (For example, an angler may not fish 

in the Mainstem Clearwater, North Fork Clearwater, Middle Fork 
Clearwater or Lochsa rivers if they have harvested one or more adult 

salmon in another river section that day.) Anglers must cease fishing 

for Chinook Salmon once they have retained their daily, possession 
or season limit of adult Chinook Salmon or their overall daily, 

possession or season limit of fish of any size, whichever comes first. 
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Methods of Take 

 

 
 

A. It is unlawful to use any hook larger than 5/8 inch measured from 

the point of the hook to the shank. 

B. Only barbless hooks may be used when fishing for salmon. 
Bending the barb(s) down to the shank of a single, double, or 

treble hook will meet this requirement. 

C. Only single point barbless hooks are allowed while fishing for 
salmon in the South Fork Clearwater River. 

Harvest Rules 

 

 
 

C. No person shall have in the field or in transit a hatchery-produced 
adult anadromous salmon that has been processed by removing the 

head and tail unless the following conditions are met: 1) the fish 

has been recorded on the taker’s salmon permit; 2) the fish is 
processed and packaged with the skin naturally attached to the 

flesh including a portion with a healed, clipped, adipose fin scar 

and 3) it must be packaged in a manner that the number of fish 
harvested can readily be determined. No person shall process 

salmon until they are ashore and done fishing for the day. No 

person shall transport processed salmon via boat. Jack salmon may 
not be processed while in the field or in transit. Any processed 

salmon count towards an angler’s possession limit while in the 

field or in transit. 

D. All salmon that are hooked, landed and reduced to possession 

must be killed immediately after landing and shall be counted in 

the limits of the person hooking the fish. 
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Permit Validation 

When an adult Chinook Salmon has been hooked, landed and 

reduced to possession, the angler hooking the fish must immediately: 

A. Cut out and completely remove one numbered notch from the 

permit; and 

B. Look up the location code number from the list below and write it 
in the space provided; and 

C. Enter in space provided, the month and day fish was caught. 

Note: 

 When a salmon is released unharmed, as in catch-and-release 

fishing, the angler is not required to make an entry on the 
permit. 

 Anglers may retain salmon less than 24 inches in length as part 

of their bag and possession limit but they are not required to 
record them on their permit. 

For example, a salmon greater or equal to 24 inches length kept 

from the South Fork Clearwater River on June 1 would be entered 

as: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

REMOVE NOTCH COMPLETELY! 
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April 23 - May 15 5:00 8:30 6:00 9:30

May 16 - June 12 4:30 9:00 5:30 10:00

June 13 - July 17 4:30 9:15 5:30 10:15

July 18 - August 14 5:00 9:00 6:00 10:00

Dates:

Pacific Daylight Time Mountain Daylight Time

AM           

Begin 

PM               

End Time

AM           

Begin Time

PM               

End Time

Length – tip of snout to tip of tail

RIVER LOCATION CODES 
See Seasons section for full description 

of fishing boundaries. All of a river section 
may not be open for salmon fishing. 

 
Snake River 

Dug Bar boat ramp to Hells Canyon Dam  ............ 02 

 
Clearwater River 

Clearwater River, below the Orofino Bridge ......... 03 

Clearwater River, above the Orofino Bridge ......... 04 
North Fork Clearwater River ................................. 05 

Middle Fork Clearwater River ............................... 06 

South Fork Clearwater River ................................. 07 
Lochsa River ......................................................... 08 

 
Lower Salmon River 

Rice Creek Bridge to Whitebird Creek .................. 10 

Whitebird Creek to Little Salmon River ................ 11 

Little Salmon River to Vinegar Creek ................... 12 
 

Little Salmon River 

Little Salmon River ............................................... 20 

A. Hatchery Chinook Salmon 

may be kept if the adipose 

fin has been clipped as 

evidenced by a  healed scar 
 

 

 
B. Chinook Salmon with an 

unclipped adipose fin 

MUST be released 
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Releasing Fish 

Any salmon with an intact adipose fin that is landed 

or any salmon that is landed but not reduced to 

possession must be released. Anglers should strive to 

minimize handling and stress on each fish caught and 

released to maximize their chance to survive. 

Not greater than 5/8 Inch 

Only barbless hooks may be used 

Hook - Up to 3   

points on one shank 
Single point hook - One 

point on one shank 
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http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110

